FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: What's your OS

Windows
 
46 Vote(s)
79.31%
Mac OSX
 
6 Vote(s)
10.34%
Linux
 
6 Vote(s)
10.34%
ChromeOS
 
0 Vote(s)
0%

Handover - Seamlessly move tasks from phone to PC!

1,657 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,000
 
Post Reply Email Thread

Handover

YouTube demo : https://youtu.be/D2yYvg1UIx0

Handover lets you seamlessly move from your phone to your PC by letting you open whatever content is on your phone in one click
With the Chrome Extension, you can also move from PC back to your phone in one tap
In most apps, you can use the share menu and select "Handover"
Some apps will support Handover Tapless. These apps can push content without your interaction

Requirements
Windows PC or Mac with 10.9 or later and Android phone (experimental support for Linux)
Both in same LAN (network, can't work over internet (yet!))
Java 8 or later on PC

Tapless Supported Apps
https://handover.hamzahrmalik.com/#tapless
Please email developers and ask them to add support then this can take off
Note that rooted phones can use this mod to add support to Chrome, Youtube and any app with an embedded web view
Also note non-supported apps can still use Handover via the Share menu

Planned Features
OSX Support (only if I get enough people interested in it, leave a post if you are) this has been added!
Indicator on phone to show when connected
Let me know if you have any ideas

How to get Handover
You need to download the app to your phone from Play Store or APK
Then download the PC server from http://handover.hamzahrmalik.com
Windows: Run the installation on your PC and start the service
Mac: Open the downloaded .dmg file and drag the Handover folder into Applications. Then launch Handover Settings from Launchpad
Linux: Run the java file to start the server. To launch content from the phone, use the bash script

Changelog
Version 2.0 - 24/4/16
Initial Release
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to hamzahrmalik For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hamzahrmalik Ad-Free
 
 
24th April 2016, 09:30 PM |#2  
hamzahrmalik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,000
 
Donate to Me
More
Information for developers
If you want to integrate Handover with your app, here's how

What does integrating Handover Tapless do
Integrating allows users of your app to click a button on their PC which will launch whatever content is on your app. It works best with websites, eg if your app is a browser, a forum, or some web based content

How to do it
Simply send a broadcast of the URL for the content whenever the content changes like so:
Code:
 // Create Intent
Intent i = new Intent("com.hamzahrmalik.handover.android.SEND");
// Put the data in using the tag
i.putExtra("**URL**=", "http://example.com");
// Send broadcast
sendBroadcast(i);
Sample app
Here's a sample app on Github
Also see my commit for adding the feature to Lightning browser: https://github.com/hamzahrmalik/Ligh...dd3e711aca03c7
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hamzahrmalik For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hamzahrmalik Ad-Free
25th April 2016, 01:18 AM |#3  
Xkirnel99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag rabat
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
I will install the Xposed module, and thanks for that amazing app i was search for a long time ago

Sent from my GT-I8190 using Tapatalk
25th April 2016, 05:06 AM |#4  
FingerBlastJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
need help
doesnt work on my mac. i put in the correct ip address on the mac and clicked the handover icon of the app in the applications folder. i visited youtube on the mac while watching youtube on my android and no handover. here is a screenshot of my imac specs, maybe its the os im running.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 12.04.16 AM.png
Views:	240
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	3729716  
25th April 2016, 09:30 AM |#5  
hamzahrmalik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,000
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FingerBlastJ

doesnt work on my mac. i put in the correct ip address on the mac and clicked the handover icon of the app in the applications folder. i visited youtube on the mac while watching youtube on my android and no handover. here is a screenshot of my imac specs, maybe its the os im running.

I think you've misunderstood how the app works
You go on a video on tour Mac and then use the Share menu on you phone and select "Handover". The video will automatically then open on your Mac

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
25th April 2016, 09:36 PM |#6  
hamzahrmalik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,000
 
Donate to Me
More
FIrst app supporting Handover Tapless is my own browser, forked from Lightning. Information,download, source code here: https://handover.hamzahrmalik.com/#tapless
27th April 2016, 03:29 PM |#7  
Whitest's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Tried to use the debugger on Mac and Handover Settings App crashes sadly. Log:

Code:
Process:               Handover Settings [1330]
Path:                  /Applications/Handover/Handover Settings.app/Contents/MacOS/Handover Settings
Identifier:            com.hamzahrmalik.handover.settings
Version:               2.0 (1)
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           Handover Settings [1330]
User ID:               501

Date/Time:             2016-04-27 11:17:28.879 -0300
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.11.4 (15E65)
Report Version:        11
Anonymous UUID:        71C2DFEC-8632-7A2C-B7E1-DE1D757FE32A

Sleep/Wake UUID:       F55C77B5-05B9-4E76-B811-900C3C2C858B

Time Awake Since Boot: 9100 seconds
Time Since Wake:       4000 seconds

System Integrity Protection: disabled

Crashed Thread:        0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL)
Exception Codes:       0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000
Exception Note:        EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

Application Specific Information:
Performing @selector(enableDebug:) from sender NSMenuItem 0x7fb500c455d0
fatal error: 'try!' expression unexpectedly raised an error: Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=4 "“handover-debug.jar” couldn’t be removed." UserInfo={NSFilePath=/Users/Teutone/handover-debug.jar, NSUserStringVariant=(
    Remove
), NSUnderlyingError=0x7fb500df6170 {Error Domain=NSPOSIXErrorDomain Code=2 "No such file or directory"}}: file /Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/swiftlang/swiftlang-703.0.18.1/src/swift/stdlib/public/core/ErrorType.swift, line 54


Really love the App though - working flawlessly apart from that. Had to add the IP manually in the Android App
2nd May 2016, 02:03 PM |#8  
hamzahrmalik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,000
 
Donate to Me
More
Handover 3 is now out along with a chrome extension allowing you to Handover from PC to phone
Demo: https://youtu.be/lqo5G8ICZcw
The Following User Says Thank You to hamzahrmalik For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hamzahrmalik Ad-Free
26th May 2016, 05:16 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What router settings could cause Handover to not work?

EDIT: Nevermind. It worked after a minute. Still would be useful information.
30th May 2016, 09:49 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
More
Hello, I bought your app so I can send files, but how can I send .apk from my PC to my phone? I am using PRO version and chrome extension on PC is grayed out so I cannot click "options".
Please help, I only bought this so I can use to send files... Other things already work

Thank you for the answer, I appreciate it.
30th May 2016, 10:35 AM |#11  
hamzahrmalik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,000
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyCypher

Hello, I bought your app so I can send files, but how can I send .apk from my PC to my phone? I am using PRO version and chrome extension on PC is grayed out so I cannot click "options".
Please help, I only bought this so I can use to send files... Other things already work

Thank you for the answer, I appreciate it.

Use the "share" menu from your phone and then share to the "Handover" app
The file should open on your computer

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
handover, share

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes