FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: How do you use Toggle Network Type 5.0? (Multiple answers possible)

Widget
 
203 Vote(s)
48.10%
Shortcut
 
65 Vote(s)
15.40%
Locale/Tasker plugin
 
220 Vote(s)
52.13%

[APP][5.0+][ROOT] Toggle Network Type 5.0 (2G, 3G, LTE) (xda-exclusive free version)

1,247 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,368
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

I've developed a widget to toggle (preferred) network types, e.g., 2G, 3G, 2G/3G, LTE, on Android 5.0/5.1 (Lollipop), Android 6.0 (Marshmallow), and Android 7.0/7.1 (Nougat). It requires root.
This is an xda-exclusive free version! If you want to support me, please consider getting the paid version on Google Play or check out my other apps.
Please note: Redistribution of this app is not allowed!

New: Support for dual SIM/multi SIM devices on Android 6.0 and later.

Paid version on Google Play (same functionality): https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...glenetworktype

Device compatibility: second post

Features:
  • Widget (cycle through configurable list of network types)
  • Locale/Tasker plugin (set specific network type or toggle to next)
  • Shortcut (set specific network type or toggle to next)
  • Custom names for network types (text shown on the widget)
  • Custom background image or color
  • Configure text size and color
  • Dual SIM/multi SIM support on Android 6.0 and later

Device Support
Device support depends on a variety of factors, including your specific device model, Android version, installed (custom) ROM, used root provider (su binary), and SELinux configuration. This app includes options to deal with different configurations of some of those factors. Please let me know if this app does not work on your device.

Notes
The widget is passive. Thus, it has to request root every time it is refreshed. Although the battery impact is negligible, this usually results in frequent (Toast) messages indicating that the app was granted root rights. Please refer to your superuser management app if you'd like to disable those messages specifically for this app.
This app includes a (static) shortcut and a (dynamic) widget. Usually, both shortcut and widget are shown in the same list which is used to add them to your homescreen although this list is commonly just labeled "Widgets". For reference, the screenshots in this post show the widget. The shortcut looks like the app icon and has rounded corners. Please note: sometimes the widget is not shown immediately after installing this app. This is likely a bug in the launcher/homescreen app. Please reboot your device in that case.

Known issues:
Android 6/7: When the network type is changed via this app and then the cell radio system settings are opened, the network type is reset to the one set there. Similarly, the previous issue might happen after a reboot or when airplane mode is toggled on and off.
Android 6/7: Some devices/(beta) ROMs don't work with this app (currently). Please search the thread for more details/user reports.
Network type specific: Depending on your device and carrier when using certain modes, e.g., LTE only, you might be unable to send or receive calls, SMS, etc. This is a technical limitation and has nothing to do with this app. Please keep this limitation in mind in case you are not sure whether you are affected by it or not.
Network type specific: Depending on your device/Android version/(custom) ROM/etc. some network types might be unavailable, don't work, or, when trying to select them, result in a different one being activated instead. Please search the thread for more details/user reports. This is outside of this app's control.
Custom ROMs: On some custom ROMs, the default toggle mechanism does not work. There exists a "custom ROM mode" which uses a different method that works on (most) CyanogenMod ROMs and other custom ROMs based on it. However, some network types are not supported by the custom ROM mode. When trying to set them, e.g., the app freezes. Please disable any such unsupported types via the app settings. Additionally, depending on the device/ROM, setting the preferred network type might work, e.g., via the Locale/Tasker plugin or shortcut, but this app might be unable to retrieve the currently set preferred network type. In such cases, toggling to the "next" preferred network type doesn't work since this app doesn't know the current preferred network type.

Other issues: When reporting any issues please include the following info in your post: Device, ROM and ROM version, exact version number of this app you use (don't just write "latest"), superuser management app (e.g., SuperSU) and version, content of any shown error messages. Describe in detail what you tried to do, what you expected to happen, and what happened instead. Include screenshots/screencasts where possible and useful to show the issue.

Cheers,

cygery

Screenshots:



Quote:

Changelog


v1.2.3.0:
small fixes

v1.2.2.0:
attempt to fix reading of current preferred network type when using custom ROM Mode

v1.2.1.0:
added multi SIM support when using custom ROM mode
fixed toggle state updates when using custom ROM mode

v1.2.0.0:
added multi-SIM support with customizable label in widget
added option to use default SELinux context (makes app compatible with more root providers)
removed support for automatic refreshing on connectivity changes
small fixes and improvements

v1.1.6.0:
added support for Android 6.0
added option to control automatic refresh of toggle state
small fixes and improvements

v1.1.5.1:
fixed: custom ROM mode (network type issue)
improved: custom ROM mode (widget update after toggle)

v1.1.5.0:
added: option for custom ROMs to use different toggle method
small fixes and improvements

v1.1.4.0:
bug fixes
small improvements

v1.1.3.0:
small improvements

v1.1.2.0:
show message if network type switching wasn't successful

v1.1.1.0:
added option to show all network types

v1.1.0.0:
NEW: Material-like design
NEW: customizable text color and size
NEW: custom background
small fixes and improvements

v1.0.4.0:
small fixes

v1.0.3.0:
removed phone hardware requirement

v1.0.2.0:
initial release

The Following 292 Users Say Thank You to cygery For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
19th November 2014, 02:20 AM |#2  
cygery's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,368
 
Donate to Me
More
Device compatibility:

Please note: This is not an exhaustive list and only mirrors my current state of knowledge. If your device is neither listed in the "compatible" or "incompatible" list its compatibility isn't known yet. If you test it please report and I'll update the lists.

Compatible:
  • Nexus 5
  • Nexus 6
  • Nexus 6P
  • Nexus 4
  • Samsung Galaxy S2
  • Samsung Galaxy S3
  • Samsung Galaxy S4
  • Samsung Galaxy S4 LTE GT-I9505
  • Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini
  • Samsung Galaxy S5 900F
  • Samsung Galaxy S6
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 3 N900
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 3 N9005
  • SM-N9008V (Resurrection Remix 5.6.0)
  • HTC M8 GPE
  • HTC One S
  • LG G2 D802
  • LG G3 F400
  • LG G4
  • LG Leon H340n / MS345
  • LG Optimus 4X HD (p880)
  • Motorola Moto X 2014 (XT1097)
  • Motorola Moto X 2014 Pure Edition (XT1095)
  • OnePlus One (Bacon)
  • Oneplus X (Oxygen OS 2.13-X)
  • OnePlus 3 (7.0 Oxygen OS)
  • Shield LTE
  • Sony Xperia L
  • Sony Xperia S
  • Sony Xperia Z1
  • Xiaomi Mi2
Incompatible:
  • HTC One (different models affected, reason unknown, might be ROM-related)
  • Moto X X1092 (with Android 6.0)
  • 2015 Moto X Pure Edition [XT1575] (with Android 6.0)
  • Oxygen OS (some devices/versions affected)
  • old/unfinished CM12.1-based ROMs show a "-3" error when trying to toggle (this is a bug in the ROM which in some cases is fixed in more recent releases) workaround added in version 1.1.5.1 ( "custom ROM mode" )
The Following 46 Users Say Thank You to cygery For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th November 2014, 02:21 AM |#3  
cygery's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,368
 
Donate to Me
More
(reserved2)
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to cygery For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th November 2014, 05:22 AM |#4  
kenkiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 546
 
More
Wonderful. Initial testing seems to work, the network mode in settings change when pressed.

Will this go into the Play Store? Would love to support your effort.

---------- Post added at 12:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:50 AM ----------

Oh yes...this only works on Lollipop? Does it work on Kitkat as well?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kenkiller For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kenkiller Ad-Free
19th November 2014, 06:03 AM |#5  
modyt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 180
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cygery

Hi,

I've developed a widget to toggle (preferred) network types, e.g., 2G, 3G, 2G/3G, LTE, on Android 5.0 (Lollipop). It requires root.
[SPOILER]
This is an xda-exclusive free version! If you want to support me, please consider getting the paid version on Google Play or check out my other apps.
Please note: Redistribution of this app is not allowed!

Device compatibility: second post

Features:

  • Widget (cycle through configurable list of network types)
  • Locale/Tasker plugin (set specific network type or toggle to next)
  • Shortcut (set specific network type or toggle to next)
[/SPOILER]
Cheers,

cygery

PS: As far as I know, this is the only app/widget allowing you to toggle preferred network types on Android 5.0. Please correct me if this is wrong.

Perfect. Thanks man.

Sent from my Nexus 5

---------- Post added at 10:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkiller

Wonderful. Initial testing seems to work, the network mode in settings change when pressed.

Will this go into the Play Store? Would love to support your effort.

+1. Would love to support as well.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to modyt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift modyt Ad-Free
19th November 2014, 06:13 AM |#6  
jacknicholson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 442
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkiller

Will this go into the Play Store? Would love to support your effort.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...glenetworktype

@cygery I recall seeing some hesitation to post Play Store links in one of your other threads. I'm pretty certain that you'd be fine to do so, as long as a free version is included as well (see: BetterBatteryStats).

That said, y'all should definitely pick this one up. On sale as we speak!
The Following User Says Thank You to jacknicholson For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jacknicholson Ad-Free
19th November 2014, 06:31 AM |#7  
kenkiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 546
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacknicholson

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...glenetworktype

@cygery I recall seeing some hesitation to post Play Store links in one of your other threads. I'm pretty certain that you'd be fine to do so, as long as a free version is included as well (see: BetterBatteryStats).

That said, y'all should definitely pick this one up. On sale as we speak!

Strange.....was looking/refreshing dev's list of apps and this never appeared.

Bought!
The Following User Says Thank You to kenkiller For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kenkiller Ad-Free
19th November 2014, 06:47 AM |#8  
matthian's Avatar
Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thanks a lot, works fantastic.

If I want to use that with other apps than Locale or Tasker (in my case Lama), what is the Intend I need to use to set the network mode? What is the syntax?

Great job.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
19th November 2014, 07:25 AM |#9  
numa001's Avatar
Member
Flag Reims
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Tested on my Nexus 4 :
19th November 2014, 08:46 AM |#10  
dh3lix's Avatar
Member
Flag Ruhrp0tt
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by cygery

Hi,
Cheers,
cygery

Well done - Works like charm - Tasker intergration like a champ ^^ Chipped in by getting it from the playstore. Keep it up ! Cheerz!
The Following User Says Thank You to dh3lix For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dh3lix Ad-Free
19th November 2014, 12:08 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
PowerToggles
Works great as a PowerToggles custom toggle. I only wish its icon would update to show you what mode it's in right now.

Right now I have to also have the built-in "Data Network Toggle" added, which tells you what mode it's in after you click on it.
The Following User Says Thank You to nexxer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift nexxer Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes