FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE]Cross Compiling C/C++ for ARM on Linux

186 posts
Thanks Meter: 95

By bynarie, Senior Member on 11th January 2015, 05:07 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I wrote this guide to make it easy for everyone to be able to cross compile c/c++ for android, the easy way that I know. I admit, I am a total n00b to c/c++. I started learning to cross compile when I got my new nexus 9 for christmas. I, for some reason, couldnt get busybox installed on it. So, I had to manually compile and load it on there. After reading a hundred tutorials and none of them working, I got frustrated. Finally, I compiled a working version. And it was SO EASY. Anyway, Im specifically giving instructions for Ubuntu 14.04/14.10. First thing you need to do is download a package called binutils-arm-linux-gnueabi.

- sudo apt-get install binutils-arm-linux-gnueabi
- sudo apt-get install binutils-aarch64-linux-gnu (for aarch64, or arm 64bit, or armv8)
- sudo apt-get install binutils-arm-linux-gnueabihf (for armhf)

To compile busybox for your platform, you must download the source package you want to compile from http://busybox.net/downloads/. Then extract it

- tar xvf busybox.tar.gz

Then, cd into your root busybox folder.

- export ARCH=arm
- export CROSS_COMPILE=arm-linux-gnueabi- (dont forget the trailing dash(-))

This will setup your variables for compilation. Then

- make menuconfig (if you dont get a config menu, you need to "sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev")