FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
H10 Turbo

[GUIDE] New Root Method for LG Devices

6,870 posts
Thanks Meter: 12,141
 
By Unjustified Dev, Recognized Developer on 9th March 2015, 03:57 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
9th March 2015, 05:46 AM |#11  
dabug123's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag brunswick
Thanks Meter: 6,267
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unjustified Dev

I guess I should warn people about that thanks.

Ya definitely ,I know better but guy above may have already gone down that road.Would be nice to replace it somehow..The users may not realize Verizon is the only g3 with no fastboot and removing laf can be very dangerous..
The Following User Says Thank You to dabug123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
9th March 2015, 05:47 AM |#12  
high247's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford
Thanks Meter: 140
 
Donate to Me
More
EDIT: Fixed problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fastbootprob.jpg
Views:	12064
Size:	149.2 KB
ID:	3201297  
9th March 2015, 05:51 AM |#13  
Unjustified Dev's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Memphis , TN
Thanks Meter: 12,141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by high247

I've re installed the LG Driver three times with no luck getting my phone to be recognized when I'm in fastboot mode.

I attached a picture showing with what is happening when in fastboot. I did try poniting to the LG Driver Folder, but it said it could not find anything. When I'm just in MTP or PTP Debug Mode the phone is recognized, so I'm confused.

It may be due to XP but could you try this guide here here
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Unjustified Dev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2015, 06:04 AM |#14  
high247's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford
Thanks Meter: 140
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unjustified Dev

It may be due to XP but could you try this guide here here

Hey I'm still on xp for a few more weeks till my new beast gets built.

Going to try that now. Thanks for helping!
9th March 2015, 06:38 AM |#15  
Unjustified Dev's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Memphis , TN
Thanks Meter: 12,141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabug123

Ya definitely ,I know better but guy above may have already gone down that road.Would be nice to replace it somehow..The users may not realize Verizon is the only g3 with no fastboot and removing laf can be very dangerous..

You can actually add it back manually just start a shell and reverse the command

dd if=/sdcard/laf.img of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/laf

added it to guide. Thanks again.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Unjustified Dev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2015, 07:15 AM |#16  
high247's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford
Thanks Meter: 140
 
Donate to Me
More
Got it my driver issue fixed with the help of this post http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=471 the driver in the file he attached is just what I needed to get it to work correctly.

It might also be very useful for anyone else who might run into the same problem I did. Cheers!

---------- Post added at 02:15 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:10 AM ----------

Rooted, Bootloader UNLOCKED, and installed AdFree.apk... Today was a good day!
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to high247 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift high247 Ad-Free
9th March 2015, 09:15 AM |#17  
dabug123's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag brunswick
Thanks Meter: 6,267
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unjustified Dev

You can actually add it back manually just start a shell and reverse the command

dd if=/sdcard/laf.img of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/laf

added it to guide. Thanks again.

No u misunderstood me again I mean I wish this was a way to put fastboot back.Good u added those instructions though for adding laf back,good to have posted.
9th March 2015, 09:54 AM |#18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Thank you so much Unjustified Dev! I was almost quite literally banging my head against a wall trying to figure this out. This guide was just I needed. My mistake was just opening the command prompt by itself instead of opening the command prompt in the folder itself. No I'm fully rooted. Thanks again!
The Following User Says Thank You to eakintunde For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift eakintunde Ad-Free
9th March 2015, 11:41 AM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Root method works for LG Volt LS740 - ZV4 and ZV5 firmware
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kwkbnk For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kwkbnk Ad-Free
9th March 2015, 11:57 AM |#20  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unjustified Dev

You can actually add it back manually just start a shell and reverse the command

dd if=/sdcard/laf.img of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/laf

added it to guide. Thanks again.

I can't do this because I'm on vzw, but I must be missing something.
Normally you would have to run a fastboot command similar to, fastboot oem unlock, but I don't see where you instructed to run any commands.
Maybe I overlooked it, went to bed at 12 and woke up for work at 4:30 lol
9th March 2015, 12:15 PM |#21  
Unjustified Dev's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Memphis , TN
Thanks Meter: 12,141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweN diorD

I can't do this because I'm on vzw, but I must be missing something.
Normally you would have to run a fastboot command similar to, fastboot oem unlock, but I don't see where you instructed to run any commands.
Maybe I overlooked it, went to bed at 12 and woke up for work at 4:30 lol

I change the post since fastboot oem unlock had no affect on my device it was already unlocked and many are still on kk so bump works for those devices. The post now details unlocking fastboot which many LG users already know about .
The Following User Says Thank You to Unjustified Dev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes