FORUMS

[TWRP] Unofficial custom recovery for MT6580-based clones.

879 posts
Thanks Meter: 128

By blakegriplingph, Senior Member on 23rd November 2016, 01:21 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
DISCLAIMER: I am not responsible if your device gets messed up royally, explodes or causes you to go nuts because you couldn't get this thing to work. I'm no expert coder either, but I am willing to fix things as much as I can.

I actually did this as there's practically no support whatsoever for that counterfeit phone of mine (yeah I know, you get what you pay for, but I bought this Galaxy S7 clone mostly for science). None of the existing porting tools work for the MT6580, and while manually porting an existing TWRP image to my phone works, it simply isn't cutting it as most of these recoveries are designed for a conventional framebuffer setup, not on devices with flipped LCDs. Fortunately there's this source tree for the Infinix Hot 2 TWRP port, and as the partition setup seems to be largely the same apart from differing capacities and the aforementioned LCD issue, this had to be done.

This should theoretically work on HDC S7 clones and a few others albeit with a few modifications, though I ported this from source with the Z6U030/GXQ6580 in mind. I know the latter isn't as widely known as the HDC model, let alone the original, but oh well...

SCREENSHOTS:

DOWNLOADS:
You may download the initial recovery release here: https://github.com/huckleberrypie/an..._twrp/releases

The recovery should work best on this ROM, but may also work on other devices provided you replaced the kernel with the one that came with your device:
http://www.4shared.com/rar/6mMhYIk5c...30HA_V105.html

And as for the sources, you can download the device tree here: https://github.com/huckleberrypie/an...ps_z6u030_twrp

Credits