FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
H10 Turbo

[GUIDE] How to enter developer mode on 2017 Honda Civic (and now root & install apps)

171 posts
Thanks Meter: 140
 
By codeage, Senior Member on 14th June 2017, 08:27 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
======================

Updated 2018.07.18

Honda has changed the password to enter the developer mode in new vehicle models so the old method described in this thread may not work any longer. If you have difficulty entering the developer mode or do not have a laptop, you may consider trying the new web based installation (paid service). The new method supports almost all Honda vehicles including Civic, CR-V, Accord, Pilot, Ridgeline and Clarity. For more information please refer to: http://autohack.org.



======================
Updated 2017.06.26
Now we can root the head unit and install apps. Below are the detailed steps, please use at your own risk.



======================
Updated 2017.09.27
Finally I solved the auto reboot problem while remounting the system partition. Enjoy it!!!



======================
Updated 2018.01.14
A totally new One Click Root tool (Windows GUI version) and Honda Hack app were released. With the help of Honda Hack app, we can install apps without a laptop. What's more, we can enable the steering wheel audio controls, save offline maps and songs to the external USB drive now.


Detailed steps:
1. Enter developer mode and enable USB debugging.
  • Go to HOME > Settings > System > Detail information.
  • In the Android Settings window, click About.
  • Click the Build Number seven times exactly.
  • Now you will see the Please enter a passcord prompt.
  • Click the top 4 items in order 1, 4, 2, 3 and you should unlock the developer mode.
  • Go into Android Settings > Developer options and enable USB debugging.
Click image for larger version

Name:	civic-1.jpg
Views:	44556
Size:	92.2 KB
ID:	4181203 Click image for larger version

Name:	civic-2.jpg
Views:	42748
Size:	166.3 KB
ID:	4181204 Click image for larger version

Name:	civic-3.jpg
Views:	38140
Size:	164.3 KB
ID:	4181205 Click image for larger version

Name:	civic-4.jpg
Views:	49736
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	4181206
2. Change the USB role of the head unit from 'Host' to 'Device'.
  • Press the power, menu, and brightness button at once, and hold until you enter a new menu with two options.
  • Click the bottom option called Detail Information & Settings.
  • Now hold the MENU key to enter another menu.
  • Then Hold the HOME key to enter the last menu. You should first hear two consecutive beeps and then one final beep.
  • Lastly, change the role of USB Port from Host to Device.
  • Now connect your laptop to the front Android Auto/CarPlay Port using the USB A to A cable.

3. Run the One Click Root
  • Disable your anti-virus and/or anti-malware programs before continue.
  • Download the root tool: HondaHack.zip
  • Extract HondaHack.exe from the ZIP file.
  • Run HondaHack.exe and it should connect to the head unit automatically. Android ADB USB Driver should be installed automatically in the meanwhile.
  • Click the ROOT button and wait for the processing to complete.
  • After the head unit is rebooted, you should see Honda Installer in the app list. Honda Installer was installed as a system app so you will not lose it after a factory resetting.
  • Open Honda Hack and click Install an app to install apk files you saved in the internal sdcard or external USB drive.

4. You can also Install Honda Hack if you would like to have more powerful features including:
  • Install apps without a laptop.
  • Bypass parking brake.
  • Enable steering wheel controls for civic & accord.
  • Force landscape mode so apps such as Spotify will display properly.
  • Enable write access to the external USB storage (pro only).
  • Auto click the OK button at startup (pro only).
  • Auto run app at startup (pro only).
Click image for larger version

Name:	Honda Hack.jpg
Views:	21024
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	4388157Click image for larger version

Name:	Steering Wheel Controls.jpg
Views:	20002
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	4388158
Download Honda Hack: HondaHack.apk

If you do not like the GUI version, you can still download the original command-line version from GitHub: https://github.com/codeage/root-honda

Some files and scripts were obtained from this thread: https://forum.xda-developers.com/and...honda-t3487644 and all credit goes to @jersacct.
The Following 73 Users Say Thank You to codeage For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift codeage Ad-Free
 
 
14th June 2017, 02:33 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Great job, I'm going to try this on my Honda CRV 2017 later today to see if it works!
14th June 2017, 03:08 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I tried this this morning on my 2016 Civic and it works!

Port 5000 is open for adb on my Civic. Not sure if the port is different on a Pilot or not, but it's different than the standard adb port (5555). I found it by running an nmap scan of my headunit's IP.

Unfortunately even after I enabled Developer mode on my HU, my adb does the same thing it did before. That is, I can adb connect to port 5000 on my HU's IP, but when I do "adb devices", it shows the device there but "offline".

My expectation was that once Developer mode was enabled, connecting via adb would bring up a prompt on the HU asking if I wanted to authorize that remote device.

However, I was doing the adb connection from my PC inside my house, then running out to my garage to check the screen. So maybe I just didn't get there in time to see it. I'm going to try it again from my laptop sitting in my car tonight when I have more time to mess with it.
14th June 2017, 10:31 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Works on my 2017 cr-v! Has anyone had a chance to try usb debugging?
16th June 2017, 09:33 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by josby

I tried this this morning on my 2016 Civic and it works!

Port 5000 is open for adb on my Civic. Not sure if the port is different on a Pilot or not, but it's different than the standard adb port (5500). I found it by running an nmap scan of my headunit's IP.

Unfortunately even after I enabled Developer mode on my HU, my adb does the same thing it did before. That is, I can adb connect to port 5000 on my HU's IP, but when I do "adb devices", it shows the device there but "offline".

My expectation was that once Developer mode was enabled, connecting via adb would bring up a prompt on the HU asking if I wanted to authorize that remote device.

However, I was doing the adb connection from my PC inside my house, then running out to my garage to check the screen. So maybe I just didn't get there in time to see it. I'm going to try it again from my laptop sitting in my car tonight when I have more time to mess with it.

Yes, same problem here. I think port 5000 is not for adb but some other service from Honda.
16th June 2017, 02:09 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeage

Yes, same problem here. I think port 5000 is not for adb but some other service from Honda.

I hadn't considered that. You might be right. I tried connecting adb on my PC to another computer of mine on a port number that I know for sure isn't an adb listener, and it gives that same behavior of just showing that device is "offline".

But, everything I've read indicates you can't connect with adb over wifi until you first connect with USB and authorize the instance of adb on that computer to connect to the device. So I think that could also be the reason we can't get anywhere on port 5000.

I don't have a TypeA-to-TypeA USB cable to try connecting to the car's USB ports with though.
16th June 2017, 04:01 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
https://forum.xda-developers.com/and...1#post70868431

try adb with the usb port on device mode
17th June 2017, 02:06 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YurS0D1a0

https://forum.xda-developers.com/and...1#post70868431

try adb with the usb port on device mode

Already tried this but does not work.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7961.jpg
Views:	12362
Size:	256.0 KB
ID:	4184875
19th June 2017, 11:11 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeage

Already tried this but does not work.
Attachment 4184875

Hey just making sure before I end up trying the same thing. You tried connecting through the USB port right?

Edit: Turns out you can. I had a friend post about it since my account is new.
20th June 2017, 07:14 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldAmber

Hey just making sure before I end up trying the same thing. You tried connecting through the USB port right?

Yes, I tried connecting through the USB port.
The Following User Says Thank You to codeage For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift codeage Ad-Free
20th June 2017, 10:54 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks
nice information
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes