FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOW TO] Fully Backup & Restore Android Device

556 posts
Thanks Meter: 219

By mirfatif, Senior Member on 6th May 2017, 07:32 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
NOTE:
I'm not a developer or something even near to that. I'm a newbie and will be, seems so. All information provided here is copied and compiled from different internet sources. This information is according to best of my knowledge and comprehension and is just for curious souls like me who want to understand things in quite simple words.
I have tested this on different devices. I'll not be responsible for any harm to you or your device. It works perfectly for me. You may try it on your own risk.
Encrypted memory may cause problem in backing up and restoring data. So better decrypt it before proceeding. Or the Recovery should support decryption of /data partition.

WHY YOU NEED TO BACKUP YOUR DATA
  • For security, in case if device is lost. Read here more about the risks.
  • If you are going to change your device.
  • If your device is running out of memory space.
  • If your device is slowing down or giving random errors and you want a clean start i.e. by factory data reset.
  • If you are upgrading your Factory Firmware or ROM (OS).
  • If you are a curious soul like me and interested in experimenting with device.

WHAT TO BACKUP
Backup is a broad term used in many contexts.

PERSONAL DATA
On an android device, backing up personal data like pictures, music, videos, documents, e-books etc. means backing up Internal Memory (/data/media/) and SD card (if you use one). If you have disabled internal memory (D.I.M), your SD Card would be working as Internal Memory.
Personal data might be created by apps (like Camera, Facebook, WhatsApp etc) or imported from internet or other devices by yourself.

APPS & APPS DATA