FORUMS

Tecknight's Aristo 2 Tutorials

900 posts
Thanks Meter: 789
 
By tecknight, Recognized Contributor on 17th June 2018, 04:35 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
18th June 2018, 04:55 PM |#11  
Member
Flag columbus
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
done now what battery pull or factory data reset(aka boot to twrp?)
Quote:

Click image for larger version

Name:	okrootbootattained.jpg
Views:	3220
Size:	122.9 KB
ID:	4529809

Quote:
Originally Posted by tecknight

Root your LG Aristo 2 from stock, remove forced encryption, and install TWRP and Magisk
1. Go to Settings->General->About Phone->Software Info. Click on Build Number 7 times. You have now enabled Developer Options
2. Go to Settings->Developer Options and Turn ON both OEM Unlock and USB debugging
3. Shut down your phone.
4. Plug one end of a USB cable into your PC, but do not plug the other end into your phone yet.
5. Press and hold Vol - on the phone.
6. Connect the unconnected end of the USB cable to your phone while still holding Vol -.
7. Once you see some text in very small letters on your phone, release Vol -. You are now in fastboot mode.
8. On your PC, download the following files:
root_boot.img --> https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=673956719939818308
newtwrp.img --> https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Gz5...w?usp=drivesdk

9. Place both files into the folder where your adb and fastboot executables reside. Make sure they are named exactly as listed above.
10. Open a command prompt or power shell in the same folder we just placed the image files into.
Type the following in the command prompt or power shell session:
fastboot devices
You should see:
<SerialNumofPhone> fastboot
11. Type this:
fastboot flashing unlock
fastboot will say this will wipe your data. Tell it to continue.
12. Now that you are unlocked, flash the rooted boot image:
fastboot flash boot root_boot.img
13. Now flash TWRP:
fastboot flash recovery newtwrp.img
14. Now reboot back to Android:
fastboot reboot
15. Once Android boots up, go to the command prompt or power shell session on your PC and type:
adb devices
You should see:
List of devices attached
<SerialNumofPhone> device
16. Before booting into TWRP, make sure to download these two files and copy them to your phone's Download folder:
Magisk-v16.0.zip --> https://github.com/topjohnwu/Magisk/...gisk-v16.0.zip
no-verity-opt-encrypt-6.0.zip --> https://build.nethunter.com/android-...ncrypt-6.0.zip

17. Once those files are in place, go to your command prompt or power shell and type:
adb reboot recovery
Your phone will now boot into TWRP for the first time.
18. Swipe to allow modifications.
19. If TWRP asks for a password, press the back key to get to the main TWRP screen.
20. Select WIPE then Format Data. Swipe to confirm.
21. Go back to main TWRP screen and select Reboot then Recovery
This should force an unencrypted data partition. TWRP will boot back up again.
22. Now select INSTALL, then browse into the Download folder and select the
no-verity-opt-encrypt-6.0.zip, then select Add more zips and select the Magisk-v16.0.zip.
23. Swipe to confirm flash. TWRP will change the boot image to allow data to be unencrypted and also will install Magisk on your system.
24. From the main TWRP screen, select Reboot then System.
Your phone will boot back into Android. Your phone is now rooted and has TWRP and Magisk installed.

i had them in right place forgot they had number in () after it i changed it im good now what pull battery or hard reset
18th June 2018, 05:30 PM |#12  
Member
Flag columbus
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
nevermind i figured it out all thanks bro
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

i had them in right place forgot they had number in () after it i changed it im good now what pull battery or hard reset

nevermind i figured it out your a life savr yo

---------- Post added at 05:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

i had them in right place forgot they had number in () after it i changed it im good now what pull battery or hard reset

nevermind i figured it out your a life savr yo ill send screenshts when i finally get ungitty i bbeen workin on this for awhile

many many thanks to you @tecknight's
18th June 2018, 09:17 PM |#13  
tecknight's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 789
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

nevermind i figured it out your a life savr yo

---------- Post added at 05:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------


nevermind i figured it out your a life savr yo ill send screenshts when i finally get ungitty i bbeen workin on this for awhile

many many thanks to you @tecknight's

Glad it finally worked out. I was wondering there for a second
19th June 2018, 04:03 AM |#14  
Member
Flag columbus
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tecknight

Glad it finally worked out. I was wondering there for a second

Now if I can just figure out why root only works for certain apps like I downloaded a reboot to recovery app and it says I need and then some Root Checker App Store saying I haven't I don't is that have to do with the DM Verity option cuz I would rather be able to have Superuser throughout I don't really care about the whole verity thing

---------- Post added at 04:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:46 AM ----------

Hey man I just want to thank you again for taking the time to help a greenhorn like me I was also wondering why root only works for certain apps is that because of the DM Verity option and if it is you know how I can just have root throughout I don't really care about getting the over-the-air updates and what not I just want awesome root access throughout and if you know anywhere where a greenhorn like me could start and you know in the learning process that would be awesome and I appreciate everything I probably should have stuck with coding in high school I probably be a whiz by now
20th June 2018, 04:03 AM |#15  
tecknight's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 789
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

Now if I can just figure out why root only works for certain apps like I downloaded a reboot to recovery app and it says I need and then some Root Checker App Store saying I haven't I don't is that have to do with the DM Verity option cuz I would rather be able to have Superuser throughout I don't really care about the whole verity thing

---------- Post added at 04:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:46 AM ----------

Hey man I just want to thank you again for taking the time to help a greenhorn like me I was also wondering why root only works for certain apps is that because of the DM Verity option and if it is you know how I can just have root throughout I don't really care about getting the over-the-air updates and what not I just want awesome root access throughout and if you know anywhere where a greenhorn like me could start and you know in the learning process that would be awesome and I appreciate everything I probably should have stuck with coding in high school I probably be a whiz by now

You need to run Magisk Manager. The icon should be on your Android desktop. Once you run it, Magisk should secure root. After that when an application requests root, Magisk will pop up asking if you want to grant root access to the app. icon looks like this:
Magisk Mgr icon
If you can't find the icon, download and install the app from here:
https://github.com/topjohnwu/MagiskM...ger-v5.7.0.apk
The Following User Says Thank You to tecknight For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tecknight Ad-Free
22nd June 2018, 01:54 PM |#16  
Member
Flag columbus
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tecknight

You need to run Magisk Manager. The icon should be on your Android desktop. Once you run it, Magisk should secure root. After that when an application requests root, Magisk will pop up asking if you want to grant root access to the app. icon looks like this:

If you can't find the icon, download and install the app from here:
https://github.com/topjohnwu/MagiskM...ger-v5.7.0.apk

Downloadzip patch boot image or direct download
23rd June 2018, 06:18 AM |#17  
tecknight's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 789
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

Downloadzip patch boot image or direct download

When you launch Magisk Manager, you should see a dialog like this:


If you followed the Root your Aristo 2 from stock instructions correctly, you will have green check boxes at the top, Magisk is already installed.
If you don't have the green check marks, click install, then install again, then Direct Install (Recommended). Once the install is complete, any apps you have that request root access, will cause this dialog to pop up:



When it pops up, select GRANT, and your app will have root access.

If you already had the green check marks and did not have to install Magisk directly, touch the 3 horizontal lines in the upper left corner. You will see this:



Now select Superuser. You will see something like this:


Any apps that have requested root access should be listed. You can turn on root access for any of these apps by dragging the switch to the right
The Following User Says Thank You to tecknight For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tecknight Ad-Free
29th June 2018, 06:24 AM |#18  
TheDerekHarper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tecknight

TAT TecKnight's Aristo 2 Tutorials series
Restore your Aristo 2 to the latest factory firmware using LG Bridge

Thanks for the tutorial, honestly it did allow me to reinstall the same update/software on the phone successfully. Unfortunately my issue appears to be phone specific (even after a successful reset and attempting again it simply won't accept the connection to the tmobile network after an unlock was made) and there appears to be nothing else I can do. I've exhausted all resources.
29th June 2018, 06:55 AM |#19  
tecknight's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 789
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDerekHarper

Thanks for the tutorial, honestly it did allow me to reinstall the same update/software on the phone successfully. Unfortunately my issue appears to be phone specific (even after a successful reset and attempting again it simply won't accept the connection to the tmobile network after an unlock was made) and there appears to be nothing else I can do. I've exhausted all resources.

There is a T-Mobile specific Aristo 2 that just got released.
I think T-Mobile is calling it the Aristo 2 Plus, but the hardware is identical.
Model number is X212TAL
You might try flashing that image to your phone
The Following User Says Thank You to tecknight For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tecknight Ad-Free
30th June 2018, 05:40 AM |#20  
tecknight's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 789
 
More
Install a specific .KDZ image to your LG phone using LGUP
TAT TecKnight's Aristo 2 Tutorials series
Install a specific .KDZ image to your LG phone using LGUP
Requirements:
  • An LG phone
  • A PC running Windows with an internet connection
  • A USB cable.
Note: This procedure will restore all of your partitions to stock for the firmware image you select. This means you will lose your rooted boot image (and root), TWRP and Magisk. This procedure will even work when your phone is not able to boot properly. As long as the bootloader is loading (ie: something is displaying on the screen when you power it up), LGUP should be able to image your phone. However, LGUP does not restore the flashing or oem lock state. If your phone was unlocked, it will stay that way.

1. If you don't already have LGUP installed on your PC, complete this procedure:
Install LGUP Dual Mode(Dev/User) on your Windows PC
2. If you don't already have a .KDZ file that you want to image your phone with, go here:
https://lg-firmwares.com/lg-lmx210ma...res/firmwares/
and download one.

3. Power OFF your Phone.

4. Connect one end of the USB cable to your PC.

5. Press and hold Volume + on the phone. Connect the other end of USB cable to your phone while still pressing Volume +.

6. Download Mode should appear on the phone, and then change to Firmware Update.

7. Launch LGUP. It should detect your phone. You should see a screen resembling this:


8. In the lower section, to the right of File Path, click on the ..., then browse to and select your .kdz file. Your screen should now resemble this:


9. Make sure REFURBISH is selected, then click Start to flash your phone.


Please hit the Thanks button at the bottom of this post if you appreciate my work.

_________
Change Log:
7/5/2018 Moved actual LGUP installation to a separate tutorial. This tutorial now refers to that tutorial if LGUP is not already installed on PC.
6/30/2018 Created initial procedure.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to tecknight For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tecknight Ad-Free
3rd July 2018, 05:07 AM |#21  
Abskurity's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dirty Waters,CT
Thanks Meter: 86
 
Donate to Me
More
Hey @tecknight, thank you so much for all your effort on this. I saw your post about the forced encryption, so i disabled those & RCT in the 10i boot image through editing the ramdisk. Also, i don't know if anyone here plays games that detect root such as PoGo etc. But the latest magisk beta (16.4) has fixed those issues. Also, technight, what are you using for your status bar icons etc?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
lg-aristo-2, lg-k8-plus, lg-k9, lg-phoenix-4, lg-x2

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes