XenoAmp² - A clean looking audio player that has it all!

Search This thread

ssuukk

Blade Runner Diaries OR The (less exciting) Story of XenoAmp 2

WARSAW,
FEBRUARY 2019​

So - I was surprised that some of the guys who commented my initial post about XenoAmp on XDA back in 2012 still lurk here (thanks cauch_y, Freak07, 39FarmallM)

When I wrote that post I had zero knowledge of Android coding and just very faint memories of Java (although back in 1995 when it was released I started learning it straight away). So really I had neither Java nor Android skills back then... What I did have was a vision of UI that I wanted to implement, and since XenoAmp is in Play for some years now, you may wonder how close the final effect was to that vision. The answer is: HARDLY AT ALL.

You see - I quickly learned (the hard way) that coding on Android isn't CODING WHAT YOU WANT, but rather HOW ANDROID ALLOWS YOU TO. But still I tried and I don't even remember how many times I fought Android and Android won, before I finally gave up trying to do things my way. But if it was the only Android annoyance I'd be a happy coder anyway, believe me. Unfortunately there are worse showstoppers: some of the things that you can find in Android documentation work only THEORETICALLY. Yes, guys! BUGS! Lots of them and surprisingly Google rarely cares about fixing them, probably being too occupied with releasing groundbreaking new features (sarcasm) and adding 1 to Android version every month. So imagine your app behaves badly and, after hours of scratching your head and thinking why your code doesn't work, you stumble across Android bug report filed in 2010 with countless comments like this:

Hey guys! Will it be fixed in 2011?

I wonder the same thing...

Hello, the bug still exists in Android n in 2012!

Me too!!!

Me too!!!

Me too!!!

Who's first in 2013?

It's 2014 and it is still not fixed?!

Shame on you Google in 2015!

Shame!

Shame!

C'mon it's 2016, why does this bug exist?