FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Blu Vivo 8 = Gionee A1?

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By jmurph22, Junior Member on 15th November 2017, 05:07 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi, I just got my Blu Vivo 8 yesterday and I noticed that it had "com.gionee.filemanager" as the default system installed file manager. After a bit of web searching I noticed that Gionee was actually a phone company and one of its models looks exactly like the Blu Vivo 8, namely the A1, and has all the same specs with the exception of the cellular bands.

I'm fairly certain this is the same phone, with minor hardware changes for bands. Does this mean that things such as rooting for the Gionee A1 will work on the Blu Vivo 8?

Also it doesn't seem like there's a subforum for the Blu Vivo 8 while there is one for the Blu Vivo 8L.
The Following User Says Thank You to jmurph22 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jmurph22 Ad-Free
 
 
20th December 2017, 08:09 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmurph22

Hi, I just got my Blu Vivo 8 yesterday and I noticed that it had "com.gionee.filemanager" as the default system installed file manager. After a bit of web searching I noticed that Gionee was actually a phone company and one of its models looks exactly like the Blu Vivo 8, namely the A1, and has all the same specs with the exception of the cellular bands.

I'm fairly certain this is the same phone, with minor hardware changes for bands. Does this mean that things such as rooting for the Gionee A1 will work on the Blu Vivo 8?

Also it doesn't seem like there's a subforum for the Blu Vivo 8 while there is one for the Blu Vivo 8L.

Yes, things such as rooting and even Gionee A1 stock firmware will work for Blu Vivo 8
The Following User Says Thank You to olayinkajnr For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift olayinkajnr Ad-Free
28th December 2017, 08:43 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by olayinkajnr

Yes, things such as rooting and even Gionee A1 stock firmware will work for Blu Vivo 8

Well that's great to hear. Unfortunately I sent my Blu Vivo 8 back as it was defective, and therefore cannot test this, but I'm sure someone will find this information useful.
25th January 2018, 02:35 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Directly flash Blu Vivo 8 firmware to Gionee A1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by olayinkajnr

Yes, things such as rooting and even Gionee A1 stock firmware will work for Blu Vivo 8

Directly flash Blu vivo 8 firmware to Gionee A1 work perfectly.
The Following User Says Thank You to PrasannaKakad For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PrasannaKakad Ad-Free
25th January 2018, 03:11 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrasannaKakad

Directly flash Blu vivo 8 firmware to Gionee A1 work perfectly.


I know.
14th March 2018, 07:04 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Blu Vivo 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by olayinkajnr

I know.

Officially no schedule /plan to upgrade Gionee A1.
Blu Vivo 8 android oreo under development. If Blu Vivo get Android Oreo update then Gionee A1 also get Android Oreo update?
22nd June 2018, 03:57 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrasannaKakad

Directly flash Blu vivo 8 firmware to Gionee A1 work perfectly.

I have not been able to install the stockrom of the gionee a1 in the blu vivo 8, it asks for auth file.
as I do?
22nd June 2018, 04:18 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Gionee A1 = Blu Vivo 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by superhiper

I have not been able to install the stockrom of the gionee a1 in the blu vivo 8, it asks for auth file.
as I do?

Follow Step
Unmark - preloader
first flash - userdata, system, boot, logo flash complete then
Second flash - recovery, md (all file), ik (all file)
then Start device.
1st February 2019, 12:01 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Are you positive that gionee a1 stock will flash on vivo 8 ? Because i tried flashing it too many times 😂 . Im guessing bootloader cant be unlocked with fastboot commands . Seems to be locked down to me. I even tried using magisk patched boot from my stock and kept getting error status insufferable buffer from sp flash tool. And yes i have all kinds of versions of this tool. Basicaly got the tool flashing stock rom by theses steps below. "once drivers and stuff like that installed correctly"
*There should be only 2 drivers that will show back up after you connect the device, the preloader vcom which is first connection available without holding any buttons, and then Mediatek USB Port which is first connection available when holding the volume key(s), the USB mediatek port one is the connection needed to actually flash or read the entire rom, the preloader connection will only read/write in the preloader area and a small bit after before giving a BROM error.*
Commented by "+Steve Baughcum"
By Blu development team google +
If it wasn't for him i wouldn't know what i would of done lol i couldnt ever get the device to pass 100%DA red bar..
So basicaly i can flash stock rom of vivo 8 and get a read back thru tool. But cant flash patched boot " magisk" or gionee rom without it sayin error insufficient buffer
20th February 2019, 10:24 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by olayinkajnr

Yes, things such as rooting and even Gionee A1 stock firmware will work for Blu Vivo 8

What of custom ROMs for Blue vivo? Will they work on Gionee A1? My device is currently unstable, frequently restarting and therefore unusable. Can I use the custom rom of Blue vivo for my Gionee A1?
22nd February 2019, 05:13 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawhiz

What of custom ROMs for Blue vivo? Will they work on Gionee A1? My device is currently unstable, frequently restarting and therefore unusable. Can I use the custom rom of Blue vivo for my Gionee A1?

Yeah, Blue Vivo 8 custom ROMs will work for Gionee A1
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gionee-a1

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes