FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Need help rooting coolpad legacy 3705A. Can't find any info anywhere.

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By djdruin, Junior Member on 29th July 2019, 02:15 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
It is a fairly new device so I haven't seen anything on it but I'm hoping someone could point my in the right direction. Any info would be helpful. Thanks! ✌️
16th August 2019, 04:35 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same here, looking for root!
22nd August 2019, 09:15 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Coolpad root
Good luck on this to you I am working as well and will post what I find
23rd August 2019, 09:11 PM |#4  
Sapphiress's Avatar
Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 49
 
Donate to Me
More
Picked up one of these today, we just started working on it a few minutes ago, I'll post the method once done. This could be hours, days, months, who knows, We do have fastboot and the Coolpad Kit from elsewhere on the forums so it shouldn't be hard. But we are working on it.
24th August 2019, 03:10 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same here I really want root, oddly for fastboot oem unlock it doesn't unlock , I have oem unlock enabled in developer options but when I run the command fastboot flashing unlock or fastboot oem unlock or pretty much any command besides fastboot getvar all it comes back with something like FAILED remote unknown command and I have no idea why I have the cool pad legacy/lithium cp3705a if anyone can lend me some knowledge on why the fastboot commands don't work that would be nice I was going to flash a gsi and try to patch a stock boot image via magisk but I can do anything without unlocking the bootloader first, I'm hoping it's not a kernel related issue
24th August 2019, 03:44 AM |#6  
Sapphiress's Avatar
Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 49
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawclan22

Same here I really want root, oddly for fastboot oem unlock it doesn't unlock , I have oem unlock enabled in developer options but when I run the command fastboot flashing unlock or fastboot oem unlock or pretty much any command besides fastboot getvar all it comes back with something like FAILED remote unknown command and I have no idea why I have the cool pad legacy/lithium cp3705a if anyone can lend me some knowledge on why the fastboot commands don't work that would be nice I was going to flash a gsi and try to patch a stock boot image via magisk but I can do anything without unlocking the bootloader first, I'm hoping it's not a kernel related issue

Yeah still working on it, waiting for some pie PoCs to come out. But fastboot is borked. I've requested the source code from them we'll see how that goes, doubt it will go anywhere. Can't even find the proper drivers for it. MTKTool is outdated so it can't even get a read on the FS to make a scatter file. All one click apps I tried didn't work so I wouldn't recommend those. OneClickRoot said it could root it but I'm not about to pay them to find out.

I did find a binary(locksettings) in system that allows you to set and remove passwords via command line which seems a bit insecure, but possibly exploitable, and an empty "cdrom_install.iso" in /system/etc But It just says:
"This directory contains the raw data that OEMs want to expose
to end-users.

Due to the limitation of mass storage. The cdrom ISO file should
be larger than 600KBytes.
If you put less files into this directory. Then it will create
a dummy file to fill the gap."

With a nice 616KB pad file.

That's all I've been able to get so far.
24th August 2019, 03:51 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the update that sums up what I've got as well although i didn't see that system img

---------- Post added at 03:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:47 AM ----------

Oddly my device seems to be having some sort of bug. The touchscreen will just randomly lock up , I've reset the device , I realized it doesn't so it in safe mode , so I tried deleted apps from adb shell that did nothing , but since it works in safe mode and the device has project treble support I feel as though flashing a gsi would fix the problem , but I can't so that with a locked bootloader
24th August 2019, 04:18 AM |#8  
Sapphiress's Avatar
Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 49
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawclan22

Thanks for the update that sums up what I've got as well although i didn't see that system img

---------- Post added at 03:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:47 AM ----------

Oddly my device seems to be having some sort of bug. The touchscreen will just randomly lock up , I've reset the device , I realized it doesn't so it in safe mode , so I tried deleted apps from adb shell that did nothing , but since it works in safe mode and the device has project treble support I feel as though flashing a gsi would fix the problem , but I can't so that with a locked bootloader

You might want to go through your apps and disable a bunch of the bloat. They had like 3 facebook managers, installers and stuff in there. That could be doing it. I haven't had any such issues but i've only had the phone a few hours and have been in a shell exploring it most of that time.


Update: EDL Mode is accessible. We haven't been able to successfully do anything with it yet due to lack of a firehose, but 9008 mode does work with EDL Cable. If anyone has a SDM450 firehose around that would be ideal.
25th August 2019, 01:32 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I already noticed edl mode was there was planning on finding out what to do today , I have a firehouse for the board which is prog_emmc_firehose_8953_ddr.mbn , but I wasn't sure how that worked I'm not to familiar with edl mode or what it can do , also I'm not a dev just an experienced Android / Linux user

---------- Post added at 01:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:30 PM ----------

What would u even use to flash in edl mode? Say a gsi , because there's no stock firmware we can extract , but we can always get a rooted gsi if I'm not mistaken because the device does have project treble support
25th August 2019, 07:57 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapphiress

You might want to go through your apps and disable a bunch of the bloat. They had like 3 facebook managers, installers and stuff in there. That could be doing it. I haven't had any such issues but i've only had the phone a few hours and have been in a shell exploring it most of that time.


Update: EDL Mode is accessible. We haven't been able to successfully do anything with it yet due to lack of a firehose, but 9008 mode does work with EDL Cable. If anyone has a SDM450 firehose around that would be ideal.

The firehouse for the oppo a71 has same specs board RAM and soc would that work
25th August 2019, 08:14 PM |#11  
Sapphiress's Avatar
Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 49
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawclan22

The firehouse for the oppo a71 has same specs board RAM and soc would that work

I'll see if I can find one. They have the board incorrectly listed as both an MTK board and as an msm8953 even though from what I've been able to find msm8953 is strictly the snapdragon625. And Snapdragon 450 doesn't have an msm designation. This thing is a mess inside.

It's been awhile since I've done this mind you. Android has changed a bunch since the 2.X and 4.X days. I've been on a Nexus 6P for years which is open by default.

Wish it was as easy as installing gingerbreak and tapping root like the old days. Lol

---------- Post added at 03:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:03 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawclan22

What would u even use to flash in edl mode? Say a gsi , because there's no stock firmware we can extract , but we can always get a rooted gsi if I'm not mistaken because the device does have project treble support

I would get temp root via a RCE or EoP pull the boot image, modify it and flash it in EDL therefore enabling fastboot and making the phone ready for TWRP. After that it's just a matter of writing a program that does this for you and the phone would be ready for development.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes