FORUMS

Sideload apps on Jio Giga fiber Set top box

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By [email protected], Junior Member on 23rd February 2020, 06:43 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Jio is providing android 9 set top box. But app installer has been removed after 1st feb update. Please suggest how to sideload apps like thop tv on this jio set top box.
26th February 2020, 03:13 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

Jio is providing android 9 set top box. But app installer has been removed after 1st feb update. Please suggest how to sideload apps like thop tv on this jio set top box.

even i'm searching for the same, it seems like they have restricted various android functionalities. Also settop box doesn't have any reset button, so we can't boot it into recovery mode as well. I tried different things to install app, wasn't successful. Right now i'm trying to root this box so that we can use this set top box with any network other than jio and we can install any apps of our choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to sreparthiban For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sreparthiban Ad-Free
4th March 2020, 06:21 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Jio set top box
Any idea how to deal with this.......? No app installer
4th March 2020, 09:39 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
No solution yet on the internet. Please help xda members.
6th March 2020, 04:07 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I think usb a to usb a cable would worth a try and then pushing/installing apks from side load

---------- Post added at 05:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:54 PM ----------

I mean adb shell thingy witha a male usb a to male usb a and working around it I am pretty sure that I will get it running uptill 30th April or before and many more things for u guys

Mean while if anyone have money to try :
Search usb a to usb a on Amazon and try once
10th March 2020, 04:24 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Please share..if found any sol..
17th March 2020, 01:16 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Cmonnn how come there's no solution yet?? Someone please figure it out. Thanks in advance
18th March 2020, 02:53 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hey guys, please help!
Same concern, please act fast

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:45 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sreparthiban

even i'm searching for the same, it seems like they have restricted various android functionalities. Also settop box doesn't have any reset button, so we can't boot it into recovery mode as well. I tried different things to install app, wasn't successful. Right now i'm trying to root this box so that we can use this set top box with any network other than jio and we can install any apps of our choice.

I am using my Jio set top box on ACT network, without doing anything, and still I can access JioTV , YOUTUBE,run non-HD channels on Hotstar, and everything that is free, except I cannot open Jio Store, Jio Call.
Initially, I made a request to terminate my connection and take back their items and give me security deposit, but no one came, then I tried and it worked on Act network, So I think this set top box is a good deal for 1500 (I have a 55" 8 year old, non-Smart Plasma TV).
Now I want to sideload it with oreo TV, but they have removed app installer!

Please ,if there is any way, let me know.
26th March 2020, 04:45 AM |#9  
android sgy's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Anyone got success over adb?
Reset button available after opening up screw of Jio setup box?
26th March 2020, 01:45 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
There seems to be an arrow on the top left of bottom side. Just near the screw.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes