FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: Do we need a 32bit version of FWUL?

it would be nice to have but I will not die if not
 
111 Vote(s)
47.23%
32bit? Is that something to eat?
 
41 Vote(s)
17.45%
Are you kidding? NO absolutely NOT!
 
56 Vote(s)
23.83%
Yes I need it so bad..
 
27 Vote(s)
11.49%

[LIVE-ISO][FWUL]adb/fastboot without any installation and driver issues [v3.1]

4,789 posts
Thanks Meter: 12,517
 
By steadfasterX, Recognized Developer on 27th December 2016, 10:47 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Announcement from steadfasterX: FWUL 3.1 has been released! Read the details in the Changelog post ! -->
11th August 2019, 08:42 AM |#961  
steadfasterX's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 12,517
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schloop

Whats the problem ? won't boot at all. i'll get past BIOS/everything to boot to the USB and i'm greeted with an error.

Share photos, screenshots of any error messages ... can't get past the IO-SMMU SR-IOV error at the start. will post pictures, once i figure out how to post.

Also tell the exact pc model you own and the exact graphic card if you know. EXACT MODEL: DELL 5575 AMD RYZEN 2500U GPU is VEGA 8.

Good . Photo of the full screen needed.

Also pls try FWUL 2.7 if it behaves different.


Sent from my OnePlus 6T using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to steadfasterX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
13th August 2019, 08:57 AM |#962  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
2.7 didn't work and i can't really send a picture since my phone is old as ****. the error i'm getting i'm going to type out verbatim.

[ 3.896899] AMD-Vi: Unable to write to IOMMU perf counter.
: : running early hook [udev]
starting version 239
: : running early hook [udev]
: : triggering events. . .
[ 5.714072] ushid 3-1:1.0 couldn't find an input interrupt endpoint
: : running early hook [archiso]
: : running early hook [archiso_loop_mnt]
: : Mounting '/dev/disk/by-label/FWUL' to '/run/archiso/bootmnt'
waiting 30 seconds for device /dev/disk/by-label/FWUL . . .
[ 17.071989] ubb 2-2: device not accepting address 2, error -62



__________________________________________________ ______-
that's all of it. my usb stick is on usb 3.0 my usb stick is usb 3.0, my phone is connected to the only usb 2.0 port cause i read it's best to be kept that way. i'm trying to root the LG v30 and this is one of the steps for a successful root. thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to schloop For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift schloop Ad-Free
13th August 2019, 09:21 AM |#963  
steadfasterX's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 12,517
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schloop

2.7 didn't work and i can't really send a picture since my phone is old as ****. the error i'm getting i'm going to type out verbatim.

[ 3.896899] AMD-Vi: Unable to write to IOMMU perf counter.
: : running early hook [udev]
starting version 239
: : running early hook [udev]
: : triggering events. . .
[ 5.714072] ushid 3-1:1.0 couldn't find an input interrupt endpoint
: : running early hook [archiso]
: : running early hook [archiso_loop_mnt]
: : Mounting '/dev/disk/by-label/FWUL' to '/run/archiso/bootmnt'
waiting 30 seconds for device /dev/disk/by-label/FWUL . . .
[ 17.071989] ubb 2-2: device not accepting address 2, error -62



__________________________________________________ ______-
that's all of it. my usb stick is on usb 3.0 my usb stick is usb 3.0, my phone is connected to the only usb 2.0 port cause i read it's best to be kept that way. i'm trying to root the LG v30 and this is one of the steps for a successful root. thanks.

ok so 2 things to try:
  • 1) enable IOMMU in your BIOS. Maybe that guide helps for yours: https://us.informatiweb.net/tutorial...html#amd-iommu
  • 2) if that alone does not allow to boot do these steps as well:
    boot
    when you see the FWUL boot menu press the TAB key on your keyboard which stops booting and allows to edit
    the cursor is already at the end so press the space bar once and type: "iommu=soft" without the quotes (english keyboard layout..)
    Then just press enter and see what happens

Click image for larger version

Name:	iommu.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	95.6 KB
ID:	4805416
The Following User Says Thank You to steadfasterX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2019, 06:00 AM |#964  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
no luck. i'm using BalenaEtcher should i use something else?
15th August 2019, 08:09 AM |#965  
steadfasterX's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 12,517
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schloop

no luck. i'm using BalenaEtcher should i use something else?

really hard to debug this without photos.. and details.. what have you done? both things? what changed? changed anything in the screen errors?

Other then that you could do the virtualbox way ofc.


.-
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to steadfasterX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2019, 08:12 AM |#966  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
can't do virtual. tried using the TAB thing. same exact error. i'm trying 3.1 now. tried 2.7 before.
15th August 2019, 08:13 AM |#967  
steadfasterX's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 12,517
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schloop

can't do virtual. tried using the TAB thing. same exact error. i'm trying 3.1 now. tried 2.7 before.

you can't ... because?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to steadfasterX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2019, 07:33 PM |#968  
ExquisiteArcaneAstralMystic's Avatar
Senior Member
Void, another dimention, parallel universe
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
/del
16th August 2019, 03:14 PM |#969  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazzacbr

Hi, late to the party here but want to try. I have a grub multi-boot usb with gparted, live Mint, Terabyte backup image maker, etc.
I dont pretend to understand everything about my boot usb but it works for me
Is it possible to add FWUL to this? FWUL is a .img not .iso. What do I need to do?
thanks

So I am just taking a look at FWUL, and like gazzacbr, I have a USB drive which, via GRUB2 and its loopback mechanism, I use to directly boot ISO images of various distros. I like it this way because it is completely modular--I do not have to extract the ISO image to a normal file system, or dedicate/flash a whole drive with Etcher/dd or similar. When a new release of whatever distro appears, I simply copy the whole intact ISO file over to the USB drive, dump the old release ISO, and then update my grub.cfg stanza to reflect the new ISO filename. I am more familiar with Debian-ish and Ubuntu derivatives, which usually use GRUB2 for booting, so working out grub.cfg stanzas for directly booting those ISOs is easy. But since FWUL is based on a Manjaro-->Arch lineage, which uses ISOLINUX, it took a bit of futzing for me to get a working GRUB2 stanza the FWUL ISO.

Note that by directly booting the ISO, you are effectively limited to using the forgetful version. For sure, persistence would be possible, too, but a lot more futzing would be needed...

Anyway, here is an example stanza that works for me, and hopefully, it might be of use to some of you:

Code:
menuentry "FWUL_v3.1_x86_64_forgetful (standard boot)" {
    set isofile="/boot/FWUL_v3.1_x86_64_forgetful.iso"
    search --no-floppy -f --set=root $isofile
    probe -u $root --set=abc
    set pqr="/dev/disk/by-uuid/$abc"
    loopback loop $isofile
    linux  (loop)/arch/boot/x86_64/vmlinuz img_dev=$pqr img_loop=$isofile
    initrd  (loop)/arch/boot/intel_ucode.img (loop)/arch/boot/x86_64/archiso.img
}
The Following User Says Thank You to verbage For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift verbage Ad-Free
16th August 2019, 10:29 PM |#970  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Pictures!
added some photos of the errors.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190812_194528.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	257.0 KB
ID:	4806849   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190812_194827.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	255.2 KB
ID:	4806850  
17th August 2019, 02:28 PM |#971  
steadfasterX's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 12,517
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schloop

added some photos of the errors.

Like I thought .. A photo is needed always.. So your issue is a complete different one.

Either your USB stick has issues or (more likely) the flashing went wrong . You flashed which persistent build? how big is your usb stick ?

Try one of the other methods like rufus or really simply use VirtualBox as I told you already . You said you can't but again without details why.

You should also try the forgetful ISO as well .

Sent from my OnePlus 6T using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to steadfasterX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adb, android, fastboot, iso, windows

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes