FORUMS

[MOD] Increase Frames Per Second 5/14/15

842 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,019
 
By razz1, Senior Member on 14th May 2015, 09:14 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
REQUIREMENTS.
MUST BE ROOTED WITH RECOVERY.
HAVE INIT.D SUPPORT for method 1.
HAVE TERMINAL EMULATOR for method 2.

NOTE: This may work for all android devices but is only tested on a LG G3 D851. If it works for you let us know.
So far others have used it on Sony and Samsung devices with great results.

ORIGINAL THREAD HERE
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show... fps 5/12/2015



GENERAL DISCLAIMER.
XDA and I are NOT responsible if anything wrong happens to your device by using this mod. Always make sure you have a backup ready if needed.




ABOUT THIS MOD.
Here is a very simple mod that I wanted to share. This is what has been labeled in the past as the build property to remove a FPS cap on all android devices. This doesn't actually do that but you will see an increase in frames per second by adjusting the EGL swap interval. Unfortunately, this property has always had big issues with visual artifacts that made it useless to use.
I found it frustrating that we could obtain such a high FPS but plagued with issues. So I spent some time and found a new value. One that could actually work on all android devices. Instead of 1 for stock or 0 for modified. Here is the new value...

debug.egl.swapinterval=-60

A general description...
https://www.khronos.org/registry/egl...Interval.xhtml

While other negative values may work, -60 brought the most bang for the buck when it came to benchmarks. I am truly excited about finding a way to make it work and although it's just a new value, I would appreciate if you could give me credit if using this property as it is the first time it will actually work the way we want it. This value didn't just fall from the sky. Certainly no need to ask for any permissions.



WAYS TO USE THIS MOD.
I figured many people would at least like to try this out so I made it as easy as possible for newer and more advanced users. The mod is actually really easy to apply. Simply add the property to your build.prop file and reboot or use one of methods below.

METHOD 1.
Use the proper flashable zip to install into init.d so the mod is ready directly after a reboot.

METHOD 2. (recommended)
Use the proper flashable zip to install into /system/xbin and call upon it when needed and disable it when not needed.




INSTALLATION.
Method 1
1. Download https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23991606952603390
2. Flash in recovery.
3. Reboot.

METHOD 2.(recommended)
1. Downloadhttps://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23991606952602432
2. Flash in recovery.
3. After you reboot open Terminal Emulator and type the following without the quotes.
4. Type "su" and press the enter key.
5. Type "unlockfps" and press enter. This will activate the property for higher fps.
To deactivate type "lockfps"

NOTE: You may need to toggle your screen off/on to fully activate the mod using method 2.
You will also need to activate the mod again after a reboot. The setting won't survive a reboot with method 2.




UNINSTALL
METHOD 1.
Version 1.1
https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23991606952603391



METHOD 2.
https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23991606952602429


CHANGELOG
Method 1 version 1.1- Fixed permissions.





I have had people tell me battery life is better and some say it's worse. You be the judge and let us know.


Happy Flashing!
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to razz1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift razz1 Ad-Free
14th May 2015, 09:18 PM |#2  
razz1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,019
 
More
Mine
The Following User Says Thank You to razz1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift razz1 Ad-Free
14th May 2015, 09:18 PM |#3  
razz1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,019
 
More
Mine too
The Following User Says Thank You to razz1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift razz1 Ad-Free
14th May 2015, 09:41 PM |#4  
smeejaytee's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag kent
Thanks Meter: 4,132
 
More
Looks interesting I'm gonna try it on m8 thanks for this.

---------- Post added at 08:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:33 PM ----------

How does it affect benchmarks
The Following User Says Thank You to smeejaytee For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift smeejaytee Ad-Free
14th May 2015, 09:45 PM |#5  
razz1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,019
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeejaytee

Looks interesting I'm gonna try it on m8 thanks for this.

---------- Post added at 08:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:33 PM ----------

How does it affect benchmarks

People have noticed an increase in most graphic benchmarking. If you run Quadrant you will see it clear as day.
The Following User Says Thank You to razz1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift razz1 Ad-Free
14th May 2015, 10:25 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 750
 
More
Don't trust benchmarks because they are variable (they will never show the same result with two simultaneous tests), the most important part is the feeling and the changes you can see.

I had some problems with my status bar which suffered of some slowdowns. After the installation of your mod, they disappeared on my Galaxy Young ! Thanks a lot.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BlackGunZ For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift BlackGunZ Ad-Free
14th May 2015, 10:42 PM |#7  
razz1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,019
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackGunZ

Don't trust benchmarks because they are variable (they will never show the same result with two simultaneous tests), the most important part is the feeling and the changes you can see.

I had some problems with my status bar which suffered of some slowdowns. After the installation of your mod, they disappeared on my Galaxy Young ! Thanks a lot.

Very true. You will feel the difference in transitions and overall fluidity.
The Following User Says Thank You to razz1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift razz1 Ad-Free
15th May 2015, 08:51 AM |#8  
Jazznax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
faster, but destroys gameplay by making them go into a time warp thing
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jazznax For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jazznax Ad-Free
15th May 2015, 03:09 PM |#9  
psycho4us4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Yorba Linda, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,016
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazznax

faster, but destroys gameplay by making them go into a time warp thing

I agree.
I am using galaxy note 4, dynamic Kat custom rom, and ael custom kernel straight out of the box.
I have been running this same exact setup for over a month straight now.
I play MC4 (modern combat 4) religiously, i probably put in about 3-4 hours a day m-f.
I play with a ps3 controller using the six axis controller app on play store.
I installed this thinking this would make gameplay better, I installed using all 3 methods and get the same results with gameplay.
It seems to make any game sort of stutter I guess you would call it.
Benchmarks, system, and everything else seems to work excellent though.
So pretty much everything except gameplay works great, so overall great mod, but is there any other inputs beside -60 that might benefit gameplay more @razz1?
If so, I'd be happy to test it out.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to psycho4us4 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift psycho4us4 Ad-Free
16th May 2015, 12:09 AM |#10  
razz1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,019
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho4us4

I agree.
I am using galaxy note 4, dynamic Kat custom rom, and ael custom kernel straight out of the box.
I have been running this same exact setup for over a month straight now.
I play MC4 (modern combat 4) religiously, i probably put in about 3-4 hours a day m-f.
I play with a ps3 controller using the six axis controller app on play store.
I installed this thinking this would make gameplay better, I installed using all 3 methods and get the same results with gameplay.
It seems to make any game sort of stutter I guess you would call it.
Benchmarks, system, and everything else seems to work excellent though.
So pretty much everything except gameplay works great, so overall great mod, but is there any other inputs beside -60 that might benefit gameplay more @razz1?
If so, I'd be happy to test it out.

Looks like it's going to work a little different on some phones. Unfortunately so far I haven't seen that issue on my G3. I would imagine we could adjust it somewhere else in the negative range to fix games on some devices. If you want to test things out, the best way would be for you to play with different negative numbers. Maybe -60 isn't the perfect value for a Note 4, but close.
If anybody needs to tweak it they can use Terminal Emulator and play with some values.

1. Open terminal.
2. Type "su"
3. Press enter/return key
3. Type
"setprop debug.egl.swapinterval"
4. Press Space bar to enter a space.
5. "Your new value"
6. Press enter/return key.
7. Test your game.

Try different values till the issue goes away.
Stock value is 1.
Don't bother with 0.

That's about all I can do to help those that have issues in games as I don't have every device. New values would just be a shot in the dark for me. I personally think it's a property that's worth the time to get right on your phone. People in the LG G3 forum have no issues and are very happy with it. It makes a considerable overall difference.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to razz1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift razz1 Ad-Free
16th May 2015, 12:14 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Metlika
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeejaytee

Looks interesting I'm gonna try it on m8 thanks for this.

---------- Post added at 08:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:33 PM ----------

How does it affect benchmarks

so do you see any difference? our M8 its already fast so l dont think we will see any difference at all xD
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes