FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Need root for Acer Liquid Z630

23 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By Woland_, Junior Member on 9th November 2015, 04:46 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
24th December 2015, 01:51 AM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lebaneseboy

will we still be able to receive ota updates from acer after rooting? some manufacurs like samsung block ota for rooted phones. greets(maybe you can try, i received an update today)

No you won't.
If you want to be able to update your firmware after rooting, you need to backup your stock recovery before rooting your phone.

And I would be very interested if you could share this stock recovery image with me... as I did not know it before rooting my phone
Now, I'm stucked with the current version of my phone's firmware
 
 
24th December 2015, 02:53 AM |#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by got_

No you won't.
If you want to be able to update your firmware after rooting, you need to backup your stock recovery before rooting your phone.

And I would be very interested if you could share this stock recovery image with me... as I did not know it before rooting my phone
Now, I'm stucked with the current version of my phone's firmware

luckily theres someone already shared it
so we have to flash back to stock everytime an update is released?

heres the link, yw

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...37&postcount=4
24th December 2015, 07:28 AM |#33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lebaneseboy

luckily theres someone already shared it
so we have to flash back to stock everytime an update is released?

heres the link, yw

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...37&postcount=4

Hello

Thanks for the link !

I'm not an expert, so maybe isn't it the only solution to get the OTA updates... but what I can tell you for sure is that OTA updates are blocked on my rooted Z630.

I read some threads and found that it should be due to the fact that the stock recovery is missing.

Another question is : are you obliged to flash the whole stock firmware to get the OTA updates or does it work if you flash the recovery only ?!
I know that it is possible to flash the recovery only (http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iFlxuoxGUp4) but I don't know if it will allow you to get the OTA.

See you
24th December 2015, 09:20 AM |#34  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 618
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by got_

Hello

Thanks for the link !

I'm not an expert, so maybe isn't it the only solution to get the OTA updates... but what I can tell you for sure is that OTA updates are blocked on my rooted Z630.

I read some threads and found that it should be due to the fact that the stock recovery is missing.

Another question is : are you obliged to flash the whole stock firmware to get the OTA updates or does it work if you flash the recovery only ?!
I know that it is possible to flash the recovery only (http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iFlxuoxGUp4) but I don't know if it will allow you to get the OTA.

See you

For OTA, try it and you know it. I am quite confident that you will still receive the OTA, but depending on the OTA-zip that is executed in the Recovery, it will block install because it sees certain differences with the /system ROM. These all depend on the recovery script that is executed when running the OTA-zip... so... share the error, and we can:
1. Figure out what is blocking the install
2. Possibly modify the OTA file so it can be installed from custom recovery

Regards,

Nika.
24th December 2015, 12:54 PM |#35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl

For OTA, try it and you know it. I am quite confident that you will still receive the OTA, but depending on the OTA-zip that is executed in the Recovery, it will block install because it sees certain differences with the /system ROM. These all depend on the recovery script that is executed when running the OTA-zip... so... share the error, and we can:
1. Figure out what is blocking the install
2. Possibly modify the OTA file so it can be installed from custom recovery

Regards,

Nika.


Hello Nika,

I tried to update my z630 with the last OTA update offered by Acer and I got an error :
Trying to find zip 'CACHE:alu/update.zip' on '/data/media'...
I:Looking for zip at '/update.zip'
I:Looking for zip at '/data/media/update.zip'
Unable to locate zip file 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'.
Installing 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'...
Checking for MD5 file...
Skipping MD5 check: no MD5 file found
sysutil: Unable to open 'CACHE:alu/update.zip': No such file or directory
E:Failed to sysMapFile 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'
E:Error installing zip file 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'
Done processing script file
Iperation_end - status=1


You will find the complete log file here.

Thanks again for your help,

Got
24th December 2015, 01:13 PM |#36  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 618
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by got_

Hello Nika,

I tried to update my z630 with the last OTA update offered by Acer and I got an error :
Trying to find zip 'CACHE:alu/update.zip' on '/data/media'...
I:Looking for zip at '/update.zip'
I:Looking for zip at '/data/media/update.zip'
Unable to locate zip file 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'.
Installing 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'...
Checking for MD5 file...
Skipping MD5 check: no MD5 file found
sysutil: Unable to open 'CACHE:alu/update.zip': No such file or directory
E:Failed to sysMapFile 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'
E:Error installing zip file 'CACHE:alu/update.zip'
Done processing script file
Iperation_end - status=1


You will find the complete log file here.

Thanks again for your help,

Got

What Image / Build version are you on (see Settings -- About)?
24th December 2015, 01:52 PM |#37  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl

What Image / Build version are you on (see Settings -- About)?

Hello,

Image : Acer_AV0L0_T03_RV01RC20_EMEA_GEN1
Build : Acer_AV0L0_T03_1.020.00_EMEA_GEN1

Thanks !
24th December 2015, 07:01 PM |#38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello,

I have a rooted Z630, and i too cannot install the OTA update that came recently, as the phone boots into TRWP.


I used the app OTA Verifier to evaluate the updater-script of the update, here's what i got as results :
Code:
--------------------------------------------
Failed expression at line #155:

apply_patch_check("/system/bin/install-recovery.sh", "b36e45a6375875b1d05a1d5f0d89523943f83670", "31a9187f04e80256346215fe7238ef241792d6ec") || abort("/system/bin/install-recovery.sh has unexpected contents.");

   [actual SHA1 of target file: 450279172fd95598b3df9c3c83661f7e9420e323]

--------------------------------------------
Failed expression at line #421:

apply_patch_check("EMMC:boot:6926336:13958a31c296b00cc25098d8440a92cdc614b1d9:6930432:432a954e4eea3ae7e4ef4b9364a8eed77cd074fb") || abort("EMMC:boot:6926336:13958a31c296b00cc25098d8440a92cdc614b1d9:6930432:432a954e4eea3ae7e4ef4b9364a8eed77cd074fb has unexpected contents.");

   [actual SHA1 of target file (for 6926336bytes):actual SHA1 of target file (for 6930432bytes):]

Selected file to process:

  /cache/alu/update.zip

======================
OTA Verifier v2.7 Analysis
======================

statements read:                   1418
expressions processed:       422
true statements:                    420
false statements:                   2
inaccessible files:                  0
inaccessible allowed:            0
sha1 mismatches allowed: 0

- there were (2) failed expressions encountered (see details above)

Device information:

  Device:          acer_t03
  Rooted:         true
  Maker:           Acer
  Model:           T03
  Carrier:          Bouygues Telecom
  Board:            MT6735
  Name:            T03_emea_gen1
  Bootloader:   unknown
  Android OS:   5.1

(the above text has been copied to the clipboard)
Hope this helps...
25th December 2015, 10:11 AM |#39  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 618
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasnorsk

Hello,

I have a rooted Z630, and i too cannot install the OTA update that came recently, as the phone boots into TRWP.


I used the app OTA Verifier to evaluate the updater-script of the update, here's what i got as results :

Code:
--------------------------------------------
Failed expression at line #155:

apply_patch_check("/system/bin/install-recovery.sh", "b36e45a6375875b1d05a1d5f0d89523943f83670", "31a9187f04e80256346215fe7238ef241792d6ec") || abort("/system/bin/install-recovery.sh has unexpected contents.");

   [actual SHA1 of target file: 450279172fd95598b3df9c3c83661f7e9420e323]

--------------------------------------------
Failed expression at line #421:

apply_patch_check("EMMC:boot:6926336:13958a31c296b00cc25098d8440a92cdc614b1d9:6930432:432a954e4eea3ae7e4ef4b9364a8eed77cd074fb") || abort("EMMC:boot:6926336:13958a31c296b00cc25098d8440a92cdc614b1d9:6930432:432a954e4eea3ae7e4ef4b9364a8eed77cd074fb has unexpected contents.");

   [actual SHA1 of target file (for 6926336bytes):actual SHA1 of target file (for 6930432bytes):]

Selected file to process:

  /cache/alu/update.zip

======================
OTA Verifier v2.7 Analysis
======================

statements read:                   1418
expressions processed:       422
true statements:                    420
false statements:                   2
inaccessible files:                  0
inaccessible allowed:            0
sha1 mismatches allowed: 0

- there were (2) failed expressions encountered (see details above)

Device information:

  Device:          acer_t03
  Rooted:         true
  Maker:           Acer
  Model:           T03
  Carrier:          Bouygues Telecom
  Board:            MT6735
  Name:            T03_emea_gen1
  Bootloader:   unknown
  Android OS:   5.1

(the above text has been copied to the clipboard)
Hope this helps...

It does, except, as I don't have the device, I don't have the OTA file. First file it mentions is the recovery file which overwrites the custom recovery if it exists (that file is removed by SuperSU and other recovery installers, hence checksum fails), the second is a modified boot sector it sees and therefore doesn't want to continue. If you have the zip's you can remove those checks from the updater-script to see whether it installs....

Installing the stock recovery won't work either (above checks would still fail). Replacing custom boot sector, and removing root sometimes works if you really know what you're doing (process is quite difficult)...

Easiest option: restore stock ROM, upgrade and root again... (and restore settings off course)
The Following User Says Thank You to nikagl For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift nikagl Ad-Free
25th December 2015, 10:18 AM |#40  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl

It does, except, as I don't have the device, I don't have the OTA file. First file it mentions is the recovery file which overwrites the custom recovery if it exists (that file is removed by SuperSU and other recovery installers, hence checksum fails), the second is a modified boot sector it sees and therefore doesn't want to continue. If you have the zip's you can remove those checks from the updater-script to see whether it installs....

Installing the stock recovery won't work either (above checks would still fail). Replacing custom boot sector, and removing root sometimes works if you really know what you're doing (process is quite difficult)...

Easiest option: restore stock ROM, upgrade and root again... (and restore settings off course)

Well, i do have the update.zip, but i cannot post external links yet on xda. I don't know how to modify the updater-script, i'm most effective at breaking my devices in fact.

Would it work if i send you the file link by PM?
25th December 2015, 11:46 AM |#41  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 618
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasnorsk

Well, i do have the update.zip, but i cannot post external links yet on xda. I don't know how to modify the updater-script, i'm most effective at breaking my devices in fact.

Would it work if i send you the file link by PM?

Pm is ok, or post with some spaces

Verstuurd vanaf mijn S56 met Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes