FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Magisk General Support / Discussion

1,838 posts
Thanks Meter: 56,969
 
By topjohnwu, Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor on 4th August 2016, 02:20 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Announcement from topjohnwu: Info regarding the next release
29th December 2017, 12:52 AM |#21621  
Senior Member
Flag Reggio Calabria
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Exclamation Magisk v15.1 has damaged dm-verity
Just tonight I've upgraded to Magisk v15.1.
Premise: I own a Oneplus 3 with OxygenOS OB28.

The SafetyNet check failed, so I tried to both reinstall OxygenOS OB28 with Magisk itself.
The result for a long while was an unbootable device with the dm-verity warning at every boot (even in recovery mode).

Until I decided, as partial workaround, to reinstall Magisk v15.0 and v15.1 in that order, then wipe cache and reboot.
The dm-verity screen is still shown, but device now boot properly.
@topjohnwu please note that, according to recovery output, only Magisk v15.0 recognizes properly dm-verity and try to patch fstab.

Probably (I've no free time to try), by reinstalling only Magisk v15.0, the dm-verity screen might disappear.
The dm-verity error persists even by reinstalling firmware, even by installing Magisk v15.0, even by upgrading to Magisk v15.2.
It means I've to lock and unlock bootloader, to fix them... but I prefer to think there's an easier solution.
The Following User Says Thank You to Simone98RC For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Simone98RC Ad-Free
 
 
29th December 2017, 01:46 AM |#21622  
jhill110's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santa Barbara
Thanks Meter: 1,235
 
More
Ok! Update to 15.1 from 14.0 worked!
Updated through MM 5.5.2 and my Galaxy Tab s2 stock rooted Nougat is working as it should now.
I spent a lot of time trying to get 15.0 going with no luck so this is great!

Thanks @topjohnwu for the work you and your testers have done.
29th December 2017, 02:57 AM |#21623  
Vinnom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Campinas
Thanks Meter: 1,043
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macmoc16

when I flasho magisk 15.1, on my oneplus one with linage 15.1 it goes into bootloop. During the installation it seems to be all right, a part of this:
! Installed root system detected, mount rw

Despite having worked a wipe system and checking with root checker, and it fails. I do not know what to do, I do not understand what is the error even trying a flash unistall magisk, the device does not share the same saying that magisk is not installed. Sorry if I was wrong but I did not know where to write it and I did not find anything about it. Thanks in advance to those who friend me

Google for osmose unSu. Flash it before flashing magisk.

This probably occur because you didn't clear LOS built-in su.

HUAWEI NOVA user since 12/2016 =)
---Current ROM: AospExtended
---Kernel:stock
MOTO X user since 03/2015 =)
---Current ROM: Tesla N
---Kernel: Tesla N stock
NEXUS 4 user 2013-2015 =/

Kernel Adiutor Interactive profile: INTERACTIVE
Kernel Adiutor Intelliactive profile: INTELLIACTIVE
Kernel Adiutor Intellimm profile: INTELLIMM
Kernel Adiutor Smartmax profile: SMARTMAX
29th December 2017, 02:58 AM |#21624  
Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
v15.1: magiskinit: Segmentation fault
I noticed that sepolicy injection tool was moved from magisk to magiskinit after updated from v14 to v15.1.
However, when I attempt to execute magiskinit command in a root shell it always crashes immediately, with any arguments that I think it should accept.

I tried,
Code:
# /data/magisk/magiskinit
# /data/magisk/magiskinit --help
# /data/magisk/magiskinit magiskpolicy --live 'allow kernel system_block_device blk_file read'
# /data/magisk/magiskinit supolicy --live 'allow kernel system_block_device blk_file read'
This is the log of the crash:
Code:
--------- beginning of kernel
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 I magiskinit[5874]: unhandled level 2 translation fault (11) at 0x00000018, esr 0x92000006
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 F         : pgd = ffffffc01dc7b000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 F         : [00000018] *pgd=00000000b127c003, *pmd=0000000000000000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : CPU: 1 PID: 5874 Comm: magiskinit Tainted: G        W    3.10.103-g5e329b33dbe #1
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W task    : ffffffc02a2eeb80 ti: ffffffc028084000 task.ti: ffffffc028084000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : PC is at 0x455808
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : LR is at 0x45369c
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W pc      : [<0000000000455808>] lr : [<000000000045369c>] pstate: 60000000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W sp      : 0000007fca7426f0
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x29: 0000007fca7426f0 x28: 0000000000000004
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x27: 0000000000000003 x26: 00000000ffffffff
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x25: 0000007fca7427f8 x24: 00000000004cd000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x23: 000000000048e858 x22: 0000000000000000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x21: 00000000004934d8 x20: 0000000000000000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x19: 0000000000000018 x18: 00000000004f3e08
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x17: 0000000000000000 x16: 00000000004f3000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x15: ffffffffffffffff x14: 00000000004f3000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x13: ffffffffffffffff x12: 0000000000000023
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x11: 0000000000000003 x10: 0101010101010101
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x9 : 7f7f7f7f7f7f7f7f x8 : 0000000000000050
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x7 : 6163686e71636d60 x6 : 12050d0230000a0b
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x5 : 0b0a0030020d0512 x4 : 0000000000000000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x3 : f35a6d9a85b1755d x2 : 0000000000000000
12-29 11:40:47.322     0     0 W         : x1 : 00000000004f0d60 x0 : 0000000000000018
This is a Nexus 9 LTE that is running RR nougat ROM.
I need to inject a policy to get swap on loopback device working, please help!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jackieku For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jackieku Ad-Free
29th December 2017, 03:00 AM |#21625  
Vinnom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Campinas
Thanks Meter: 1,043
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinnom

Magisk Manager Version: 5.5.1(82)
Magisk Version: 15.0
Device: Huawei Nova
Rom: LOS 14.1

Hi! When I try to install a module, I get the following:

Code:
- Copying zip to temp directory
- Installing Module(any module).zip
- Mounting /system, /vendor, /data, /cache
! Magisk is not activated!
Failed!
! Installation failed
The behaviour above can be verified in install_logs attached.
I installed Magisk through recovery, after using the addon to unsu LOS (which has its own su). The installation was pretty ok. I had just clear flashed the ROM.

I captured a logcat too, probably it will be needed.
Just as complementary information, this occured with magisk 14.0 too, as I also tried (I clea flashed ROM so I could have a clean environment to flash 15v).

PS: I split it the logcat in beginning_of_system, beginning of crash and logcat_magisk_module_install. Size reasons. I don't know if everything will be needed, but it better to send a full logcat.

EDIT:
I forgot to mention that flashing module through recovery gave me a similar output (something like that magisk is needed and not found)

After updating to:
Magisk Manager Version : 5.5.2
Magisk Version: 15.1

This still occurs

HUAWEI NOVA user since 12/2016 =)
---Current ROM: AospExtended
---Kernel:stock
MOTO X user since 03/2015 =)
---Current ROM: Tesla N
---Kernel: Tesla N stock
NEXUS 4 user 2013-2015 =/

Kernel Adiutor Interactive profile: INTERACTIVE
Kernel Adiutor Intelliactive profile: INTELLIACTIVE
Kernel Adiutor Intellimm profile: INTELLIMM
Kernel Adiutor Smartmax profile: SMARTMAX
29th December 2017, 03:43 AM |#21626  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
After updating to 15.1 my phone lost forced-encryption even though I had the box checked to keep it. Now my phone automatically decrypts on boot into recovery and brings me straight to the lock screen.
Device: OnePlus 3T (OOS 4.5.1)
29th December 2017, 03:45 AM |#21627  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Updated to Magisk Manager 5.5.2, tried to update from v14 to v15.1 through it shows success but after reboot still stays with v14. I tried:

Complete uninstall, run latest uninstaller through TWRP then restored stock boot.img. Reboot back to TWRP to patch v14 again, reboot to system and installed MM 5.5.2 directly. Check SafetyNet and all good. Update through MM to v15.1 is successful but after reboot still stays with v14. Flashed v15.1 in TWRP and no bootloop plus SafetyNet passes.
29th December 2017, 04:43 AM |#21628  
Sir Backe's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didgeridoohan

If by code you mean "Contract number", I can get to it just fine.

Magisk v15.0, Manager v5.5.1, the app added to the Hide list and the Manager hidden (there's an option for that in the Manager settings).

Hi Didgeridoohan,
Thanks really a lot for your efforts. Yes I meant contract code. I do not arrive there due to whatever reasons. The app recognizes root before. So at the moment I don't know what more I should ask. Since it works on your phone it must be a problem of mine. But where to search? What to do else? I don't know.
I also tried hiding the manager already before. It also didn't work.
Anyhow Tks really a lot, I appreciate your efforts. If you have any further idea what I could try, just let me know.
29th December 2017, 05:19 AM |#21629  
Junior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hello everyone. Until version 14, the app worked perfectly for me, with no problem whatsoever, but in version 15 the "hide" function stopped working, with applications detecting root normally. I went back to version 14 and it worked again. I have now updated to version 15.1 and the problem persists, the "hide" not working. Has anything changed in this sense? What do I need to do to fix this? Appreciate.
29th December 2017, 05:47 AM |#21630  
ahse0w's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Dipster

I just came here to report v15 causing screen crashes on my nexus 5x on latest 8.1 (it becomes total a graphical hangup), but this right here makes me think that f.lux and magisk might not be playing nice together anymore. I've moved back to v14 and that fixes the issue as well.

I am on the Nexus 6P. Trying out the Qualcomm option rather than the composite option for color filtering.
Seems like i am not the only one.
29th December 2017, 05:49 AM |#21631  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 187
 
More
During installation I see something like installation boot partition detected. Is that a big issue?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes