FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[MODULE] CloudflareDNS4Magisk

2,259 posts
Thanks Meter: 823
 
By Rom, Senior Member on 2nd April 2018, 08:08 PM
Post Reply Email Thread



Hello,


As John Graham-Cumming announced, Cloudflare now offers its own DNS service.
And surprise of the Boss if we believe his words: your history of browsing isn't saved on their servers !


DNS ?? Gne ?? What's this ?

To make it short: a DNS server listen and give you the corresponding IP address of your website request, and its domain name (forum.xda-developers.com for example).

For the long version a little reading is necessary: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_Name_System

The purpose of this module?
Forward all mobile data via their servers.


Warning:

Please note that your web provider can purely block all requests if you use customs DNS servers address. I can't do anything for that.




Requirements:
  • An android device (something tells me if you're here it's because you have one..)
  • Magisk installed (v16 at least)
  • five minutes of your free-times (and a little piece of your brain (just in case))


If you trust them, so you can install the module properly, restart and enjoy!
The Following 139 Users Say Thank You to Rom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Rom Ad-Free
 
 
2nd April 2018, 08:09 PM |#2  
Rom's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lyon
Thanks Meter: 823
 
Donate to Me
More
# If the module won't work for you/bootloop(s)/flash issue(s)

=> Please send logfile(s) if you encured any issue(s).


# Changelog
v2.6 - IPv6 version added - available in Magisk Repo
v2.7 BETA 1 - Try to fix DNS issue when battery save mode is enabled
v2.6 - last BETA 4 merged to official channel - thanks for all your feedbacks - git updated
v2.6 BETA 4 - Fix props (thanks to @Didgeridoohan)
v2.6 BETA 3 - Move props to system.prop, move cmd for "resolv.conf" from post-fs-data to config.sh
v2.6 BETA1 - Attempt to fix the possible remaining mistakes
v2.5-fix - Fix stuff
v2.5 Basic - Basic version added for users who get issue(s) with the main version
v2.5 - Attempt to fix the preventing of Xposed Framework loading during bootstage
v2.4 - IPv6 support added, fix props, iptables commands and modification of the injection method of the configuration file (the file at each starts will be set only if the default file is present by default on the phone)
v2.3 - Fix compagny name on post, github, and in the module files (sorry..)
v2.2 - DNS settings for DHCP are now edited system-lessy!
v2 - Several prop and iptabled cmd added
v1 - Initial version



Thanks to @strongst, @abacate123, @Didgeridoohan, @Sam Nakamura, @shadowstep @smohanv and other users to participate in module support



#Screen of internet result speed






# Test check

Please note:
- props aren't edited on last versions (last stable and beta)
- about the first screenshoot that itsn't important to have exactly the same result as on the next first screenshoot because some android devices can recognize/works with less props.
- to get nslookup command works you must have Busybox installed on your phone, either through Play Store app or through Magisk module. The one from the Play Store and/or the one for Magisk will offer you the same results, it's just the installation method that's different.

DNSLeakTest added.





# Note (just if needed)

Module updated is on Magisk Repo (excluding BETA versions).
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to Rom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Rom Ad-Free
2nd April 2018, 11:05 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Will this module work on cellular networks or just wifi? Thanks.

Edit: The module works as intended. Thanks for sharing.
3rd April 2018, 03:42 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
The module is not changing DHCP obtained DNS servers. Running nslookup using terminal still using DHCP obtained servers.
4th April 2018, 01:47 PM |#5  
sielhadi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
thank you but how i can check it works
4th April 2018, 04:18 PM |#6  
Rom's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lyon
Thanks Meter: 823
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkornaks

The module is not changing DHCP obtained DNS servers. Running nslookup using terminal still using DHCP obtained servers.

Yeah, i am actually working on this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sielhadi

thank you but how i can check it works

For now, u can check the second section,
i am also looking to editing the DHCP DNS servers adress.

Actually all system properties have the CF DNS address set.




Information:


v2.2 come to update the DNS settings for DHCP services.
Changes has been commit to git, so when topjhonwu will be back to the next weekend the module will appear

Please be patient
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Rom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Rom Ad-Free
4th April 2018, 10:11 PM |#7  
abacate123's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,490
 
More
Wow, nice you've been promoted on the portal congrats.

ps: the name is cloudfLare, you missed the L xD
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to abacate123 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift abacate123 Ad-Free
4th April 2018, 10:13 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
Thanks
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ensboarder For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ensboarder Ad-Free
4th April 2018, 10:19 PM |#9  
Rom's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lyon
Thanks Meter: 823
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abacate123

Wow, nice you've been promoted on the portal congrats.

ps: the name is cloudfLare, you missed the L xD

Oh really ! I didn't even realize it, thank u very much!

And screw a BIG oops for the name i skinned, i corrected that at Github's level and the request for filing, the rest will follow




EDIT: If you have a version before the 2.3 one installed on your phone, thanks to delete the old one in your "Module" tab in your Magisk Manager app.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Rom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Rom Ad-Free
4th April 2018, 10:20 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
my pixel 2 went in bootloop. i needed to force reboot to make it boot. dns applied fine
4th April 2018, 10:20 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Punjab
Thanks Meter: 1,114
 
More
Hello,
Could you please suggest how to uninstall this module or revert back to old settings if this created any issues?
Edit: My apologies, i forgot its a simple untick to disable module in magisk.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to abhibnl For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift abhibnl Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cloudflare, dns changer, magisk, privacy

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes