FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
H10 Turbo

[Announcement] MX Player officially gets AC-3 Audio Support

2,250 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,104
 
By Thirumalai.K, Recognized Contributor on 11th April 2017, 08:04 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
5th April 2018, 03:57 AM |#91  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumalai.K

It's enabled in most of the countries. But, It's still unsupported in some regions to avoid patent issues.

Is the US one of those countries? I haven't ever had AC3 work on any version of MX Player without using a custom codec. Having to track down and install a new custom codec each time MX Player updates is pretty annoying.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sqarborough For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Sqarborough Ad-Free
 
 
11th April 2018, 03:14 AM |#92  
Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sqarborough

Is the US one of those countries? I haven't ever had AC3 work on any version of MX Player without using a custom codec. Having to track down and install a new custom codec each time MX Player updates is pretty annoying.

Yeah, me too. Getting definite answers about this and the passthrough problems has been extremely frustrating.

It would be different if I at least knew which regions weren't allowed access to AC-3 support/etc. but I don't even know that.
12th April 2018, 07:50 PM |#93  
SyXbiT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I'm in the U.S. And I've not been able to get this working.
I reset the app, and it worked. When I went back and configured MX Player the way I like it, it stopped working. I don't have time to figure out which setting broke, so I just added the codec back.
12th April 2018, 08:15 PM |#94  
Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SyXbiT

I'm in the U.S. And I've not been able to get this working.
I reset the app, and it worked. When I went back and configured MX Player the way I like it, it stopped working. I don't have time to figure out which setting broke, so I just added the codec back.

Good timing - I did update the custom codec I'm using (1.9.8.zip) and I can now pass-through STEREO AC3 & DTS audio tracks.

However I cannot passthrough the 5.1 audio. I've been reading and reading and it appears MX Player in unique in that it doesn't force output. It attempts to detect supporting hardware, as the developer says.

I did end up with a version of Kodi Krypton (17) that still can support pass-through forced and it works. I would still prefer MX Player however.

This seems to be a common problem for Android media players. Even VLC for Android supposedly supports passthrough but it downmixes to stereo also.
16th April 2018, 02:15 PM |#95  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,104
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartyM76

Good timing - I did update the custom codec I'm using (1.9.8.zip) and I can now pass-through STEREO AC3 & DTS audio tracks.

However I cannot passthrough the 5.1 audio. I've been reading and reading and it appears MX Player in unique in that it doesn't force output. It attempts to detect supporting hardware, as the developer says.

I did end up with a version of Kodi Krypton (17) that still can support pass-through forced and it works. I would still prefer MX Player however.

This seems to be a common problem for Android media players. Even VLC for Android supposedly supports passthrough but it downmixes to stereo also.

Hi,
As you rightly said, MX Player is currently checking for the capabilities & uses the pass-through accordingly. But, it seems that the receiver's capability is not detected. Just open the MXPlayer. Then remove & insert the HDMI. Then immediately collect a bug report and share here. We will check it out.

We are planning to improve the audio pass-through feature in future to support the force trying of the specific codecs.
19th April 2018, 02:34 PM |#96  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumalai.K

Hi,
As you rightly said, MX Player is currently checking for the capabilities & uses the pass-through accordingly. But, it seems that the receiver's capability is not detected. Just open the MXPlayer. Then remove & insert the HDMI. Then immediately collect a bug report and share here. We will check it out.

We are planning to improve the audio pass-through feature in future to support the force trying of the specific codecs.

I dont know why are you cherry picking the questions and answer it while ignoring all other questions.

there is a ton of questions here related to the AC-3 enabled countries you choose to ignore , is it hard to answer this simple question ? or there is something else prevents you from answering it ?

Could you tell us please ?
22nd April 2018, 03:19 AM |#97  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
1.9 17
I downloaded version 1.9.17 of mx player just now. Still ac3 is not supported
27th April 2018, 10:25 AM |#98  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am going to check it, Thanks for the info
I am going to check it anyway thanks for the info. keep updated


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumalai.K

MX Player team is very happy to announce that we are now adding “AC-3” audio support in our latest version of the app (i.e. MX Player v1.8.17 & MX Player Pro v1.8.16) in most of the regions.

If you have video files with “AC-3” audio, you can now play it without using any third-party / unofficial custom codecs…!

There are no extra efforts required on your end. Just relaunch the app again with working internet. Once, MX Player configuration is updated on your device, it will automatically start working again…!

27th April 2018, 02:36 PM |#99  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Does this mean we don't need the extra Codec pack? (aio, etc?
29th April 2018, 03:01 AM |#100  
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
ac3 no longer works on the newest update.... why ?
1st May 2018, 04:25 AM |#101  
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Ever since the last update ac3 has been broken i was too lazy to find a new codec and instead downloaded and started using this video player has a lot more features https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...er.videoplayer
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ac-3, ac3, audio, codec, mx player, mxplayer

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes