FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor 7x
Win an Honor 7X!

[Announcement] MX Player officially gets AC-3 Audio Support

2,086 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,039
 
By Thirumalai.K, Recognized Contributor on 11th April 2017, 09:04 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
12th April 2017, 01:02 PM |#11  
MartinDimchev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
It would be nice to make a SALE for a day or to for the Pro version to celebrate the AC-3 thing )))
 
 
12th April 2017, 04:00 PM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks i just use MS player... Its one of the most usable software on android phone...I just go to purchase it.
12th April 2017, 06:22 PM |#13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Is the update released? I didnt get any update in play store
12th April 2017, 06:57 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumalai.K

MX Player team is very happy to announce that we are now adding “AC-3” audio support in our latest version of the app (i.e. MX Player v1.8.17 & MX Player Pro v1.8.16) in most of the regions.

If you have video files with “AC-3” audio, you can now play it without using any third-party / unofficial custom codecs…!

There are no extra efforts required on your end. Just relaunch the app again with working internet. Once, MX Player configuration is updated on your device, it will automatically start working again…!

I also like to know if this is the case for DTS, too. Or do we still need the custom codec?

(btw. I'm in team Chromecast as well.)
12th April 2017, 07:05 PM |#15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vankog

I also like to know if this is the case for DTS, too. Or do we still need the custom codec?

(btw. I'm in team Chromecast as well.)

For DTS, you still need a custom codec as it's copyrighted.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dewettie For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dewettie Ad-Free
12th April 2017, 07:06 PM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
Donate to Me
More
Good new. thank you.
12th April 2017, 11:08 PM |#17  
scandiun's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 914
 
More
Will it work with Dolby Digital Plus?
13th April 2017, 06:07 AM |#18  
InvalidDNA's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacharias.maladroit

you actually upgraded the app, or using the latest version right
rebooting the phone might help - or whatever the reason for not working is ...

CC: @Thirumalai.K
I'll take a look within the next days and see how it goes ...

He has mentioned in most of the regions, Not all regions. I suspect, They might have excluded some regions especially US.
13th April 2017, 07:34 AM |#19  
InvalidDNA's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandiun

Will it work with Dolby Digital Plus?

DOlby Digital Plus is E-AC-3 & it's still protected by patents.
13th April 2017, 07:42 AM |#20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
How to get the new mx player version?
13th April 2017, 09:18 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
does mlp audio codec is added by default
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ac-3, ac3, audio, codec, mx player, mxplayer

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes