FORUMS

How configure HDMI passthrough on MX Player 1.9.1

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By arindamchoudhury, Junior Member on 11th July 2017, 12:39 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

The release notes says that it Support HDMI passthrough of Audio HD codecs.

But I can not figure out how to configure it.

Thanks,
12th July 2017, 05:26 AM |#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,116
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arindamchoudhury

Hi,

The release notes says that it Support HDMI passthrough of Audio HD codecs.

But I can not figure out how to configure it.

Thanks,

HDMI pass through is automatically used when the connected device can decode Audio HD codecs like ac3, TrueHD, DTS, etc.
The Following User Says Thank You to Thirumalai.K For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Thirumalai.K Ad-Free
12th July 2017, 02:14 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumalai.K

HDMI pass through is automatically used when the connected device can decode Audio HD codecs like ac3, TrueHD, DTS, etc.

Thanks. Does it also work in HW+ mode?
13th July 2017, 10:41 AM |#4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,116
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arindamchoudhury

Thanks. Does it also work in HW+ mode?

Yes. HDMI Passthrough will be used when the codec is not supported by the MX Player & The same is supported by the device connected through HDMI.

We will improve it further in future to have more controls on the user side.
23rd October 2017, 01:15 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Mantua, Italy
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumalai.K

Yes. HDMI Passthrough will be used when the codec is not supported by the MX Player & The same is supported by the device connected through HDMI.

We will improve it further in future to have more controls on the user side.

Hi dev. I tried with many 4k with AC3 or DTS streaming.. but i can't get audio work..
I use MX player 1.9.8 pro on my sony 9005 android tv, connected to the ampli by HDMI/ARC cable.

In codec menu, i check any kind of hardware supported codec.. and deselect SW render (only HW+ for video/audio).. but can't hear anything from my speaker..

With other app (for local file streamiing), amplifier automatically detect the audio format and give me on it display the correct format (DTS or DD).
With MX player pro and local/iptv streaming, i can't get it work.

Any idea?

Thank'you!!!
25th October 2017, 01:34 PM |#6  
lukcinek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumalai.K

Yes. HDMI Passthrough will be used when the codec is not supported by the MX Player & The same is supported by the device connected through HDMI.

We will improve it further in future to have more controls on the user side.

Hi
I must say that in 1.9.8 with HW+ there is no 5.1 sound passthrough to my Apmplituner No DD and no DTS.
In HW there is 5.1 passthrough to my Ampli but only DTS 5.1. Amplituner sees Dolby Digital but plays only in 2.0 - I don't know why but there is a problem with DD.
Best regards
I'm using android TV on Philips POS 9002
11th October 2018, 08:13 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukcinek

Hi
I must say that in 1.9.8 with HW+ there is no 5.1 sound passthrough to my Apmplituner No DD and no DTS.
In HW there is 5.1 passthrough to my Ampli but only DTS 5.1. Amplituner sees Dolby Digital but plays only in 2.0 - I don't know why but there is a problem with DD.
Best regards
I'm using android TV on Philips POS 9002

I'm having the same problem. Has anyone found a solution?
11th October 2018, 08:54 AM |#8  
MXPlayer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kludi9999

I'm having the same problem. Has anyone found a solution?

Unfortunately, no. The only way is attempting to force pass through even if the hardware doesn't report the decoding capability. We will highlight this with our development and will get it prioritized for you.
12th October 2018, 06:15 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MXPlayer

Unfortunately, no. The only way is attempting to force pass through even if the hardware doesn't report the decoding capability. We will highlight this with our development and will get it prioritized for you.

Oh wow, thanks for response! I really appriciate for "prioritizing" this! I looking forward for update then .
14th November 2018, 10:47 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi
How the work is going? When should except Update with Passthrough on MX Player?
29th June 2020, 06:45 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hdmi passthrough
Hi everybody,

I tried to play movies using default video player of the Android tv and it supports 5.1 Dolby digital passthrough via HDMI ARC. But passthrough using 3rd party video players like MX player, Kodi doesnt seems to decode the 5.1 audio where as PCM works just fine.

My TV: TCL 55 P8
AUDIO System: SONY HT IV300
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes