FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[SUPPORT] Update failures

11,216 posts
Thanks Meter: 85,976
 
By Chainfire, XDA Ad-Free Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt? on 16th October 2014, 10:36 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
23rd October 2014, 11:30 AM |#21  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 85,976
 
Donate to Me
More
Too many of you are reporting issues but not reporting the requested logs. I cannot help you without these. Help me help you. Don't expect me to be magically able to fix issues without the information I need.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
23rd October 2014, 11:41 AM |#22  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 85,976
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by p220fhf

I tried to reroot on my s4, but nothing changes, when updating the SU to 2.14.

So, I think, maybe, the main problem is SU 2.14 on 4.4.2 and 4.3.
My s4 was 4.3 rooted, before the SU update, everything was fine. But after updating, the SU app said I didn't root. Then I updated my FW to 4.4.2(I9505ZHUFNB3), and used CF-root to root. Still ok, but when the SU updated to 2.14, thing happened again. (Now my s4 is temp unroot for playing game , but can't root again as it says "You didn't root")

Flashed the exact same firmware as you have, rooted it in the same way, and update to 2.14 without issue. Cannot directly replicate this issue.

Please provide all the logs as requested in the first post of this thread.
23rd October 2014, 12:51 PM |#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

Note that if you let CWM "fix" root for you (sometimes you are asked this), you have broken root, and the only way to recover it is flashing the full ZIP through recovery.

CWM is asking for that. I have to answer Yes or No. So I should click No ?
23rd October 2014, 01:41 PM |#24  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 85,976
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirVss

Device I9505
Android Version: Stock 4.3 MKF
BusyBox v1.22.1
Wanam Xposed installed
Stock Recovery
Kingo Root
Google Play Update

Issue: After update from 2.13 to the latest 2.14 when supersu try to reinstall it stuck more than 5 minutes, I reboot my phone, reopen supersu but now in my "APPS" and "LOGS" I have some kind of neverending loop load, I can't manage to see my rooted apps there, and in my SETTINGS if I try to make some changes it stuck and need phone reboot, otherwise all my rooted apps work fine!

This one at least can be reproduced - great! Now to figure out what the issue is

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike69290

CWM is asking for that. I have to answer Yes or No. So I should click No ?

Click no!
The Following User Says Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd October 2014, 02:54 PM |#25  
Junior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

Flashed the exact same firmware as you have, rooted it in the same way, and update to 2.14 without issue. Cannot directly replicate this issue.

Please provide all the logs as requested in the first post of this thread.


Hope the logs can help you
I have moved the su app to /system, after reboot, it said i needed to root.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sulog_note2.txt - [Click for QR Code] (29.6 KB, 169 views)
File Type: txt sulog_s4_after_updating_bin.txt - [Click for QR Code] (36.6 KB, 158 views)
File Type: txt sulog_s4_before_updating_bin.txt - [Click for QR Code] (41.1 KB, 135 views)
23rd October 2014, 05:33 PM |#26  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 85,976
 
Donate to Me
More
Please see the v2.15 release here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=293
The Following User Says Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd October 2014, 05:36 PM |#27  
SirVss's Avatar
Member
Flag Arad
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

This one at least can be reproduced - great! Now to figure out what the issue is

Sorry but 2.15 beta no't work for me, same issue, when I go to my Phone Settings & Applications and uninstall all my supersu updates back to 1.86 version I have no loop load in APPS & LOGS, everything it's ok, after I update back to 2.14 and now to the new beta 2.15 thoes issues returns!
23rd October 2014, 05:53 PM |#28  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 85,976
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirVss

Sorry but 2.15 beta no't work for me, same issue, when I go to my Phone Settings & Applications and uninstall all my supersu updates back to 1.86 version I have no loop load in APPS & LOGS, everything it's ok, after I update back to 2.14 and now to the new beta 2.15 thoes issues returns!

You cannot fix this issue via APK via 2.14, because 2.14 breaks your root! Try updating directly from 1.86 to 2.15, or much better yet, flash 2.15 through recovery, and report back.
23rd October 2014, 06:26 PM |#29  
SirVss's Avatar
Member
Flag Arad
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

You cannot fix this issue via APK via 2.14, because 2.14 breaks your root! Try updating directly from 1.86 to 2.15, or much better yet, flash 2.15 through recovery, and report back.

Yes, I just did, I downgrade to 1.86 and from there I tried via apk update to 2.15 beta, no fix there so...I downgrade again to 1.86 and I tried to get back to my previos 2.13 which was good working deal for me bu still no fix.

I have stock recovery so I can't install from there...or I can ?!

Now I'm stuck on my default working 1.86 version
23rd October 2014, 06:34 PM |#30  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 85,976
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirVss

Yes, I just did, I downgrade to 1.86 and from there I tried via apk update to 2.15 beta, no fix there so...I downgrade again to 1.86 and I tried to get back to my previos 2.13 which was good working deal for me bu still no fix.

I have stock recovery so I can't install from there...or I can ?!

Now I'm stuck on my default working 1.86 version

If 1.86 still works for you, try doing the following from adb shell:

Code:
su
mount -o rw,remount /system /system
rm /system/xbin/sugote
rm /system/xbin/sugote-mksh
rm /system/xbin/supolicy
reboot
Then install 2.15 (not 2.14 !) via APK again. This time the install *might* work.
23rd October 2014, 06:51 PM |#31  
SirVss's Avatar
Member
Flag Arad
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

If 1.86 still works for you, try doing the following from adb shell:

Code:
su
mount -o rw,remount /system /system
rm /system/xbin/sugote
rm /system/xbin/sugote-mksh
rm /system/xbin/supolicy
reboot
Then install 2.15 (not 2.14 !) via APK again. This time the install *might* work.

Hell yeah, now everything seems to work fine! Thank you very much for your assistance!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes