FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOW TO] Replace initial splash screen (logo) on Huawei P7

281 posts
Thanks Meter: 164
 
By Ziolek67, Senior Member on 12th December 2014, 02:43 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
If somebody want to replace provider/operator/or any other splash screen on Huawei device just do as follow:

Root required

First way:
  1. Install Adb and Fastboot
  2. Download this utility to ADB folder on PC
  3. By Windows CMD go to ADB folder and use this commands:
    (observe phone and make appropriate permissions if needed)
    • adb shell su -c "dd if=/dev/block/platform/hi_mci.0/by-name/oeminfo of=/sdcard/oeminfo"
    • adb pull /sdcard/oeminfo oeminfo
  4. Make copy original oeminfo file
  5. Download stock HW splash (logo) or make your own picture *.bmp. Bitmap resolution should match your device resolution (1080x1920 pixels). Put it to ADB folder.
  6. In ADB folder use commands:
    • oem_logo.exe oeminfo logo.bmp
    • adb push oeminfo /sdcard/oeminfo
    • adb shell su -c "dd if=/sdcard/oeminfo of=/dev/block/platform/hi_mci.0/by-name/oeminfo"
    • adb rm -f /sdcard/oeminfo
  7. Reboot
More options described here.

Second way:
  1. Download this (translated bye me) utility
  2. Unzip and use it

Additionally:
  • If you want to use Huawei stock splash screen you can install this file by custom recovery. It replace any splash screen you have installed by original HW.
  • Off course you can use this script to installing your own logo. Just replace file \dev\block\platform\hi_mci.0\by-name\oeminfo in downloaded zip by your own file created accordingly to above first method (by oem_logo.exe).


All credits to:
Kostyan_nsk
wistonbogarde
For my just click thanks

Notice !
Everything you are doing on your own RISK !
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Ziolek67 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ziolek67 Ad-Free
 
 
12th December 2014, 08:18 AM |#2  
Z!L0G80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CPU
Thanks Meter: 41
 
Donate to Me
More
nice ,but warning oeminfo contain such things as IMEI
13th December 2014, 05:22 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Ulan-Ude
Thanks Meter: 326
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z!L0G80

nice ,but warning oeminfo contain such things as IMEI

Are you sure? I'dont think so. At least, I was unable to find IMEI there. And it would be too easy to change IMEI if it could be in oeminfo partition...
13th December 2014, 11:52 AM |#4  
Z!L0G80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CPU
Thanks Meter: 41
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostyan_nsk

Are you sure? I'dont think so. At least, I was unable to find IMEI there. And it would be too easy to change IMEI if it could be in oeminfo partition...

imei is crypted by aes key, oeminfo probably contain some other phone related information I DONT RECOMENDED TO FLASH THIS < YOU CAN PROBABLY BRICK YOUR PHONE
13th December 2014, 12:27 PM |#5  
Member
San Sebastian
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
hi Kostyan_nsk and z!log80 !
I have recently flashed oeminfo.img without isssues (thanks again Kostyan_nsk)
I wanted to give it a try and ask please Kostyan_nsk or z!log80 for a brief explanation about how oem_logo.exe performs the bitmap replacement. Is it possible to mount oeminfo.img browse its file system and replace a particular file, or is it by searching bitmap signature, …?
Thanks Ziolek67 for starting this thread
13th December 2014, 12:46 PM |#6  
Z!L0G80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CPU
Thanks Meter: 41
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Printusrzero

hi Kostyan_nsk and z!log80 !
I have recently flashed oeminfo.img without isssues (thanks again Kostyan_nsk)
I wanted to give it a try and ask please Kostyan_nsk or z!log80 for a brief explanation about how oem_logo.exe performs the bitmap replacement. Is it possible to mount oeminfo.img browse its file system and replace a particular file, or is it by searching bitmap signature, …?
Thanks Ziolek67 for starting this thread

do you have same imei as before ? oeminfo doesnt contain filesystem - no mount
The Following User Says Thank You to Z!L0G80 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Z!L0G80 Ad-Free
13th December 2014, 01:10 PM |#7  
Member
San Sebastian
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
yes, same as before
if no file system or mount then I guest search for a pattern or dedicated tool to package... I have been trying to find further more precise information about oeminfo.img but had not found much so far. I would appreciate if you can contribute to make this a bit clearer for me
thanks
[Edited]
After a bit of research I have found other mods for factory device location, etc. writing to particular offsets, tools to modify, backup and restore oeminfo.img. It is a data store. No embedded code. Thnx!
13th December 2014, 09:49 PM |#8  
Ziolek67's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Moon
Thanks Meter: 164
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z!L0G80

imei is crypted by aes key, oeminfo probably contain some other phone related information I DONT RECOMENDED TO FLASH THIS < YOU CAN PROBABLY BRICK YOUR PHONE

Eazy. I tried it many times... It works perfectly. I never publish potentially dangerous untested features.
21st December 2014, 03:33 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Ulan-Ude
Thanks Meter: 326
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z!L0G80

imei is crypted by aes key, oeminfo probably contain some other phone related information I DONT RECOMENDED TO FLASH THIS < YOU CAN PROBABLY BRICK YOUR PHONE

I flashed whole oeminfo partition from other device and my IMEI stayed the same. As I supposed, it's somewhere else, but not in oeminfo partition. You are wrong.
21st December 2014, 06:24 PM |#10  
Falcon1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
You must NOT be alarm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostyan_nsk

I flashed whole oeminfo partition from other device and my IMEI stayed the same. As I supposed, it's somewhere else, but not in oeminfo partition. You are wrong.

Do not worry, I also used HW-OEM_LOGO.ZIP to change the booting logo for the original one, and my IMEI is the same as I bought it in the store, so do not be alarmed !!!!
16th April 2016, 09:17 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Also worked on P8 B321, IMEI stayed the same.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes