FORUMS

[Guide] Enable camera API 2 (No root)

234 posts
Thanks Meter: 149
 
By [email protected], Senior Member on 31st July 2018, 09:39 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
-----Working------
(Tested by users)

I'm not liable for any damage, dead devices, corrupt sd cards bla bla bla

Steps:

1) setup fastboot and adb drivers on pc
2) power off the phone and enter fastboot mode.
3) fire up fastboot terminal and connect your phone to the pc, enable USB debugging mode from dev. options too.
4) Run the command:

fastboot oem enable_camera_hal3 true

5) reboot
6) check g cam or any camera API testing apps to make sure if it's working.
7) report back here if all is good.

Thanks to @shakalaca
The Following 72 Users Say Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift [email protected] Ad-Free
31st July 2018, 09:40 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 149
 
More
Thanks to all those who tested this. The method works.

I'll make a script to make things much more easier.

If you get error at fastboot window saying device not found or waiting for device. That's a driver issue.
Check some comments down below, a user has mentioned methods to solve it.

OTA will not be effected in any way by this mod.
Warranty should not be void too.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift [email protected] Ad-Free
1st August 2018, 01:39 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Taipei
Thanks Meter: 532
 
Donate to Me
More
Yes, it really works from the report here : https://www.asus.com/zentalk/tw/thread-353753-1-1.html
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to shakalaca For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift shakalaca Ad-Free
1st August 2018, 01:42 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag DKI Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Confirmed.. it works!!! Thanks...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dimedevil For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dimedevil Ad-Free
1st August 2018, 02:37 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does it need root or any other modification to our phone? Or we can just do it to our fully stock unmodified phone?
1st August 2018, 04:39 AM |#7  
Member
Flag Bhopal
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RajnishPS

Does it need root or any other modification to our phone? Or we can just do it to our fully stock unmodified phone?

It doesnt need any root, n it works in locked bootloader.
1st August 2018, 05:50 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Is there a way to enable it without pc as I don't have one now. Living in college hostel without laptop 😞.
1st August 2018, 06:39 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 149
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarvesh2498

Will it affect ota?

It should not.
The Following User Says Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift [email protected] Ad-Free
1st August 2018, 06:40 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 149
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SumitGupta2442

Is there a way to enable it without pc as I don't have one now. Living in college hostel without laptop .

You will need pc for it.
Borrow a friend's lappy.
The Following User Says Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift [email protected] Ad-Free
1st August 2018, 06:42 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag seoni
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
its workong bro.....you saved my money thnk u bro
without root just awesome.....there a huge difference between asus cam and gcam images hugeeee
The Following User Says Thank You to rahulacr For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rahulacr Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes