FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE][MOD][TREBLE]Camera2 API Enabler

1,227 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,569
 
By Sudeep Duhoon, Recognized Contributor on 8th May 2018, 05:58 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Flashing this enable Camera2 API for GSI/Treble based roms. Remains even after clean flashing another GSI

Things needed:
Unlocked Max Pro with custom recovery flashed

Instructions:
1. Download Cam2API.zip and copy/move to external sd/otg drive
2. Reboot phone to recovery and install as normal zip
3. Test results using this app
4. Google camera mod should work now
Attached Files
File Type: zip Cam2API.zip - [Click for QR Code] (145.3 KB, 60078 views)
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Sudeep Duhoon For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Sudeep Duhoon Ad-Free
 
 
8th May 2018, 06:27 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 382
 
More
Hi,

As from my check in 247 version ROM, the build.prop already has the line persist.camera.hal3.enabled=0.
If you have rooted, you only need to change the 0 to 1 >> persist.camera.hal3.enabled=1

Or if you don't want to modify the build.prop, you can just create the value at the /data partition using terminal emulator (with root access), this leaves the /system intact.
Code:
su
setprop persist.camera.HAL3.enabled 1
The downside is everytime you factory reset, you have to set the value again.
9th May 2018, 08:28 AM |#3  
Sudeep Duhoon's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 2,569
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmanto

Hi,

As from my check in 247 version ROM, the build.prop already has the line persist.camera.hal3.enabled=0.
If you have rooted, you only need to change the 0 to 1 >> persist.camera.hal3.enabled=1

Or if you don't want to modify the build.prop, you can just create the value at the /data partition using terminal emulator (with root access), this leaves the /system intact.

Code:
su
setprop persist.camera.HAL3.enabled 1
The downside is everytime you factory reset, you have to set the value again.

t1 zip changes that 0 to 1, no new entry is added
t2 zip adds a new line to enable the same
9th May 2018, 09:53 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Post some pictures taken with Google camera and also do a comparison between stock camera images and gcam images.
9th May 2018, 06:53 PM |#5  
Sudeep Duhoon's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 2,569
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SumitGupta2442

Post some pictures taken with Google camera and also do a comparison between stock camera images and gcam images.

No
The Following User Says Thank You to Sudeep Duhoon For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Sudeep Duhoon Ad-Free
11th May 2018, 10:16 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 285
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SumitGupta2442

Post some pictures taken with Google camera and also do a comparison between stock camera images and gcam images.

OP doesn't have the device. We need to try and share feedback. Else wait for someone to share.

Appreciate efforts from OP.
12th May 2018, 05:55 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
Someone check what is supported camera 2 level
Via camera2 probe app
14th May 2018, 08:39 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Any improvement in picture quality when captured in gCam?
15th May 2018, 04:03 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudeep Duhoon

Flashing this should enable Camera2 API.

Things needed:
Unlocked Max Pro with custom recovery flashed

Instructions:
1. Download Camera2 API_t1.zip and copy/move to external sd/otg drive
2. Reboot phone to recovery and install as normal zip
3. Test results using this app
4. If fails, flash Camera2 API_t2.zip same way.
5. Google camera mod should work now

Someone please test and report

Please Send Me A Google Camera With HDR Support For Zenfone Max Pro
15th May 2018, 06:00 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunav4748

Please Send Me A Google Camera With HDR Support For Zenfone Max Pro

I tried both api doesn't work
16th May 2018, 07:24 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag mumbai
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
is there any way to enable it on a locked bootloader and without root?
The Following User Says Thank You to austinpinto For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift austinpinto Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
camera2 api, enable, google camera, max pro

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes