FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Axon 7 root without bootloader unlocked

295 posts
Thanks Meter: 709
 
By tenfar, Retired Recognized Developer on 17th August 2016, 09:56 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
[MOD EDIT:]In the absence of the OP I have been asked to make it very clear that the included TWRP build flashes fine on Chinese and US models but bricks Euro models (The "G" model)


By attempting any of the processes listed this thread you accept full responsibility for your actions. I will not be held responsible if your device stops working, catches on fire, or turns into a hipster and claims to have been modified before it was cool.

Backup all your important data before you do any steps below:

Step 1: Download the zip file and extract to your local disk. a2017 for Chinese model,and a2017u for US model,a2017g for HK & EU model
a2017u :B20_blunlockedhttp://d-h.st/KaaQ
a2017u B20 http://d-h.st/LqR5 (modified from @rczrider‘s backup real stock b20 boot.img)
a2017u B27 http://d-h.st/kRgq
a2017 B06:http://d-h.st/ztXw
a2017 B07:http://d-h.st/VVlf
a2017 B08: http://d-h.st/bT6r
a2017 B09:http://d-h.st/sBjo
a2017 B10:http://d-h.st/cBOE(wifi not working) http://d-h.st/aceq (from official update.zip)
a2017g B02 :removed by mod due to above note
a2017g B03:removed by mod due to above note
TWRP recovery 3.0.2-2 : http://d-h.st/dgWW
latest tools:http://d-h.st/Ienb with dump function

Step 2:Shut down your phone, hold volume down + volume up ,then plug your phone with USB cable. or you can use adb
Code:
adb reboot edl
Step 3:install the Qualcomm's driver .
Download Qualcomm driver to your local disk ,extract and install it
Qualcomm 9008 driver :http://d-h.st/35tx
in the install process choose WWAN ,the first option.
Step 4 : open your PC's device manager and find out the com port number which your phone is .as the Pic shows ,in my case,the port number is 4
Click image for larger version

Name:	device manager.png
Views:	17788
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	3844965
Step 5: right click in Explorer with SHIFT key press, open a Command Window.
in the command window, run the program

Code:
Usage: axon7root.exe -p COM4 -b -r
       Options:
       -p                             Port number eg:COM8 or 8
       -b                             write boot.img only
       -r                             write recovery.img only
       -d                             dump boot.img and recovery.img from phone(not impl yet)
the 4 is my com port number in my system. change it to your's
Click image for larger version

Name:	command.png
Views:	17352
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	3844954
before you do any thing do a dump use my latest program:
Code:
axon7backup.exe -p 4 -d
two backup will read from your phone to local disk.
Click image for larger version

Name:	backup.png
Views:	16444
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	3847083
for flash boot.img to boot partition:
Code:
 axon7root.exe -p 4 -b
for flash recovery.img to recovery partition:
Code:
 axon7root.exe -p 4 -r
for flash both boot.img and recovery.img :
Code:
 axon7root.exe -p 4 -b -r
or just without -b and -r options:
Code:
 axon7root.exe -p 4
after the program exit,
if you have flashed a TWRP recovery.
press volume up+ power to boot into recovery
FORMAT the data partition
if you only flash the boot.img :
boot into stock recovery do a factory reset
when your boot into your system. you will need to install a superuser manager.
you should install https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...uperuser&hl=en
Thank Pierre-Hugues Husson for his superboot for the hint on root this without an unlocked bootloader
by the test .so we can confirm that all model have same hardware.
I don't have a2017u and a2017g ,so i took the boot.img and twrp recovery image form idlekernel.com .thanks the owner.
and since i don't have a2017u adn a2017g ,i didn't test this on these two models use at your own risk.
but i test it on a2017 Chinese version. it works very well.
also i tested that flash the a2017u and a2017g's boot.img and recovery.img to my a2017,both worked.

from @r3xx3r test,we can know that the metod works on a2017u ,
Thanks @Cricius test and report it also work on a2017g.
Thanks @rczrider and @KyJelly69 to share their b20 stock backup. but for b20_boot and b18 we still need those stock files.

Thanks @mmamedov post a detailed step by step at post #157
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=157
Attached Files
File Type: zip axon7root.zip - [Click for QR Code] (863.5 KB, 5194 views)
The Following 67 Users Say Thank You to tenfar For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tenfar Ad-Free
 
 
17th August 2016, 10:29 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Frankfurt
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Any chance for european model A2017G?

Also how does dm-verity gets bypassed?
As far as I know Boot partiton gets verifed at every Boot on all recent Android devices.
17th August 2016, 02:30 PM |#3  
rczrider's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Markarth
Thanks Meter: 453
 
More
If this works on the US model, would it allow for a dump and generation of stock firmware (without bootloader unlock)?
17th August 2016, 03:00 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Looks very promising! I have the chinese model, but im on b07 already...

I could try it once im back from holiday though
17th August 2016, 03:12 PM |#5  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 709
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aPexalpha

Looks very promising! I have the chinese model, but im on b07 already...

I could try it once im back from holiday though



i will update to b07 tomorrow,China time


从我的 iPhone 发送,使用 Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tenfar For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tenfar Ad-Free
17th August 2016, 03:24 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 275
 
More
Anyone get a version for A2017G (EU)? Would be nice to have root on EU models.
@tenfar
There is a EU rom here which maybe you can test a root for?

A2017G B02 Update Released!
http://www.ztedevice.com/support/detail?Id={E68B5101-20E9-4955-A8D6-FFF274776F46}

Mirror download:
http://uploaded.net/file/npj4c0fj
The Following User Says Thank You to rikin93 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rikin93 Ad-Free
17th August 2016, 03:27 PM |#7  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 709
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikin93

Anyone get a version for A2017G (EU)? Would be nice to have root on EU models.



is there a firmware to download?need stock boot.img


从我的 iPhone 发送,使用 Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to tenfar For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tenfar Ad-Free
17th August 2016, 03:28 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 275
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenfar

is there a firmware to download?need stock boot.img


从我的 iPhone 发送,使用 Tapatalk

Literally just editted my post haha
@tenfar
There is a EU rom here which maybe you can test a root for?

A2017G B02 Update Released!
http://www.ztedevice.com/support/detail?Id={E68B5101-20E9-4955-A8D6-FFF274776F46}

Mirror download:
http://uploaded.net/file/npj4c0fj
The Following User Says Thank You to rikin93 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rikin93 Ad-Free
17th August 2016, 03:33 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenfar

is there a firmware to download?need stock boot.img


从我的 iPhone 发送,使用 Tapatalk

Cheers.

Im back home with access to a computer on saturday. Will help out if needed
17th August 2016, 03:37 PM |#10  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 709
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikin93

Literally just editted my post haha
@tenfar
There is a EU rom here which maybe you can test a root for?

A2017G B02 Update Released!
http://www.ztedevice.com/support/detail?Id={E68B5101-20E9-4955-A8D6-FFF274776F46}

Mirror download:
http://uploaded.net/file/npj4c0fj



is the device's hardware same with a2017 ?i dont have the device to test ,so can't help. Needed someone who is brave to test this. And the test is a little complicated,pm me if any one willing to help.i will show you how to test and provide needed tools.
The Following User Says Thank You to tenfar For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tenfar Ad-Free
17th August 2016, 03:39 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 275
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenfar

is the device's hardware same with a2017 ?i dont have the device to test ,so can't help. Needed someone who is brave to test this. And the test is a little complicated,pm me if any one willing to help.i will show you how to test and provide needed tools.

It is more similar to USA build as it has capacitive buttons but software is not similar.

I dont know how brave i am but am willing to help
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes