FORUMS

ZTE Axon 7 VoLTE lives on Treble. Updated V2!

579 posts
Thanks Meter: 271
 
By kountry83, Senior Member on 1st June 2019, 07:02 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
VoLTE Mod for Axon 7 Treble!

Hey ZTE Axon 7 Treble group,

Ok I've been working on this VoLTE for a while now on spare time. I've had multiple devs from other forums test it out on phones for their GSI. They confirmed it's working. I've also had multiple testers from the Axon 7 Trebleshoot group test it and confirm it's working. I know for sure it works on T-Mobile/T-Mobile based carriers but don't know for other carriers. Here is the modified package.
Enjoy!

Requirements
1. Phh-based GSI
2. TWRP Treble
3. System/Vendor with Decryption level support
4. Compatible carrier that supports VoLTE
5. No complaining about the process to install because trust me it was alot more work for me to modify the apks internally and put together.

Installation
1. Extract VoPackage zip.
2. Install ims.apk in the package.
3. Reboot, let it fully boot and see if you have VoLTE, if not go to next step.
4. Reboot to TWRP.
5. Mount /system and /vendor.
6. Flash VoMod zip.
7. Reboot and check your ims registration by dialing *#*#4636#*#* and going to the 3 dots in the top right corner to check IMS Service Status. It should say registered.

Update V2
Do the same installation of Version 1.
Added Ims Settings to /system/app for improved stability.
Support
@phhusson for his great work in treble development.
@raystef66 for file structure implementation.
Special thanks to also the Axon7 (s)GSI Trebleshoot Testers!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Axon7GSI_VoPackage.zip - [Click for QR Code] (6.13 MB, 328 views)
File Type: zip A7GSI_VoModPackageV2.zip - [Click for QR Code] (6.17 MB, 452 views)
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to kountry83 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kountry83 Ad-Free
1st June 2019, 07:04 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Baytown
Thanks Meter: 271
 
Donate to Me
More
Reserved
1st June 2019, 07:07 PM |#3  
raystef66's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag
Thanks Meter: 4,555
 
Donate to Me
More
@kountry83
Really appreciate all the time you put into this
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to raystef66 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st June 2019, 07:10 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Baytown
Thanks Meter: 271
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raystef66

Really appreciate all the time you put into this

Thanks for all your support along the way! Appreciate it bud.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kountry83 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kountry83 Ad-Free
1st June 2019, 08:40 PM |#5  
squicky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 201
 
More
AFAIK in Poland, if GSM provider (in my case Orange PL) doesn't enable VoLTE for a specific model of the phone this functionality doesn't work (I still get unregistered in IMS). So for me, it doesn't work, but still thx for the effort.

I've changed the automatic (PRL) setting in IMS, because I got no mobile data, to LTE only and I got VoLTE icon and in IMS it says 'registered" so maybe it really works. THX again.
3rd June 2019, 06:09 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Anyone tried this on los 15.1 unofficial?
4th June 2019, 07:55 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Savona
Thanks Meter: 89
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _phk_

Anyone tried this on los 15.1 unofficial?

Nope, phone process goes in crash.

But it works well in Bliss ROM pie.

Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app
The Following User Says Thank You to foggydew88 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift foggydew88 Ad-Free
5th June 2019, 08:41 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Ill be testing this on verizon. Currently on RR6 with VOLTE working great but RR6 has not had an update in over a year so I'm jumping to pie GSI in hopes I can get VOLTE working.. Ill post back about my results.. THANKS
6th June 2019, 12:56 AM |#9  
ibphantom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Niles
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
After every reboot I get asked to set up my SIM card. Is there a fix for that?
6th June 2019, 10:20 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
I wanted to report back on the SUCCESS with this patch on GSI OMNI Rom. It works with VERIZON MVNO. I was able to turn on VOLTE inside the phone information testing screen and be connected to LTE towers for voice and then make an HD voice call with no issues. So yes VOLTE has truely returned for PIE GSI.
9th June 2019, 08:58 PM |#11  
ibphantom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Niles
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Working using Liquid Remix, Verizon.
I have to disable and re-enable roaming and data every so often.
Preferred Network Type should be on LTE/CDMA not Global in both Phone Info(*#*#4636#*#*) and under Mobile Network -> Network Type
All the patches stick, it's the phone radio option that doesn't stick on some reboots.
There are other radio types that show registered, but don't allow for sending MMS.
Thanks @kountry83 HD voice sounds so great.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes