FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Cordova Security doubt

8 posts
Thanks Meter: 0

By introuble361, Junior Member on 13th August 2018, 11:57 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello Beautiful community of xdadevelopers!

I am just getting started with cordova/phonegap

I was so curious how can I connect to mysql in cordova and display its contents in app. So I came across this website that shows how to achieve the same "https://codesundar.com/phonegap-php-mysql-example/ ". I am basically trying to make android app using my web skills so I came across this ADF 'Cordova'.

I am just in alot of doubts but first one is security. When I write a code in php to connect and fetch data from mysql to display database or use mysql for user login credentials verification and build it into .apk anyone can reverse that and decompile the .apk to fetch the php code and the credentials used to access the database right?

What is the secure way around this?

As I know php is a server side scripting language so .php files are not accessible from browser so that makes it a bit secure but in case of cordova the php files will be compiled in the .apk with cordova build command

Please clear my doubt

17th August 2018, 05:08 PM |#2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by introuble361

I was so curious how can I connect to mysql in cordova and display its contents in app. So I came across this website that shows how to achieve the same "https://codesundar.com/phonegap-php-mysql-example/ ". I am basically trying to make android app using my web skills so I came across this ADF 'Cordova'.

I am just in alot of doubts but first one is security. When I write a code in php to connect and fetch data from mysql to display database or use mysql for user login credentials verification and build it into .apk anyone can reverse that and decompile the .apk to fetch the php code and the credentials used to access the database right?