FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[X Force] How to Manually Flash Official Firmware

1,052 posts
Thanks Meter: 823
 
By Jaocagomez, Senior Member on 30th December 2015, 09:00 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
THIS IS NOT FOR DROID TURBO 2 I REPEAT DONT DO THIS FOR DROID TURBO 2


How to Manually Official Firmware on any Motorola Device

Requisites:
  • Unlocked Bootloader if you want to flash firmware from another country or locked bootloader to flash the official firmware from the country/carrier of your device
  • Android Studio or Minimal ADB and Fasboot (i personally recommend Minimal Adb and Fastboot because thats all we gonna need and its lighter than Android Studio 2 Mb vs 800Mb)
  • Official Firmware you want to flash
  • mFastboot (motorola Fastboot) i uploaded it for you: https://mega.nz/#!pI9iVZwS!CZTh_-wCl...Z4zElk6eArXrXk

RSD LITE is the fastest way if you want to install the official firmware of your phone, download latest RSD lite, download the firmware of your phone carrier/country, open rsd select the .zip and start flash, your phone will reboot when done, thats all, RSD lite doesnt work if you want to flash firmware from another country, just your phone default carrier/country firmware

Installation:
1.- Install MAaF
Install Minimal ADB and Fastboot

2.- Install mFastboot
Copy the contents of mfastboot.zip and put them on Minimal ADB and Fastboot Folder (C:\Program Files (x86)\Minimal ADB and Fastboot)
Now you have working Fastboot AND mFastboot

3.- Copy Firmware
Copy the contents of your desired firmware to Minimal ADB and Fastboot Folder like this:


Now you are ready to flash!

First turn off your device and Put it on fastboot mode (Power and volume down for 2 seconds with your phone off)

4.- Get Detected
type
Code:
fastboot devices
on minimal adb to see if your pc detects your phone on fastboot mode
if you get some numbers and letters like the picture you are ready to go.

if not, you are missing drivers, looks for Motorola Device Manager

5.- Install
Copy and Paste these commands on Minimal ADB and Fastboot:
If you are upgrading to Marshmallow use this:
Code:
mfastboot flash bootloader bootloader.img
mfastboot flash boot boot.img
mfastboot flash recovery recovery.img
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.0
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.1
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.2
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.3
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.4
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.5
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.6
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.7
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.8
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.9
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.10
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.11
mfastboot flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
mfastboot erase modemst1
mfastboot erase modemst2
mfastboot flash bluetooth BTFM.bin
mfastboot flash fsg fsg.mbn
mfastboot erase cache
mfastboot erase userdata
mfastboot erase customize
mfastboot oem fb_mode_clear
mfastboot reboot
If you are installing a different firmware use this:
Quote:

mfastboot flash bootloader bootloader.img
mfastboot flash boot boot.img
mfastboot flash recovery recovery.img
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.0
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.1
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.2
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.3
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.4
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.5
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.6
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.7
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.8
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.9
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.10
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.11
mfastboot erase cache
mfastboot erase userdata
mfastboot oem fb_mode_clear
mfastboot reboot

check the amount of system.img_sparsechunk. your firmware has, if it has 10,12 or 15 add the extra lines required.

And thats all, as easy as copy from here and paste on cmd.
when your phone finishes flashing just press enter to execute mfastboot reboot and you will boot the new firmware.

Tip:
you can remove/skip the line
Code:
mfastboot flash recovery recovery.img
if you want to keep your custom recovery like TWRP

remember:
Flashing another firmware will erase all your information
i know that you can flash without erasing anything but that causes many many errors and inestability i've seen it a lot of times so i encourage to erase everything every time you flash a different firmware, better start fresh.

FAQ

i have a X Force and i want to flash Verizon (or another Firmware) will it work???
Flashing different Kinzie phones firmware will work and boot, however getting signal its another history, all x force are unlocked and there is no problem with them but if you flash droid turbo 2 firmware on moto x force you likely wont get any signal and have wifi issues.

Why i can't just flash it using RSD LITE?
Because somehow it detects the firmware you are on, so you can only flash your original firmware

Why did you not include gpt.bin in the flashing???
Because if you were on marshmallow, installed brasil or another firmware back to lollipop your gpt.bin version will be greater than the one you'll try to flash and it will FAIL TO FLASH, dont worry just skip that line.

Why If i flashed UK/Mexico/Brasil Firmware it says the name of my original Firmware???? did it failed??
Motorola Somehow stores in a separate partition your original firmware name, even if you flash another from another country it will say the name of the original firmware you had, dont worry it doesnt affect anything.

Can i go back to lollipop if i flashed the Mexico or Brasil stock marshmallow???
Yes you can flash back to lollipop without risk of brick if you flashed the mexican or LAT firmware using the method of this thread.

Where i can get my official firmware???
you can get it in another thread i have: [All Kinzie][Official] Stock Firmware Moto X Force / Droid Turbo 2

Im in mexico or brasil Lollipop or marshmallow how can i get root?
Just boot or flash TWRP and flash Super SU for android 5.1 or 6.0.1 by chainfire.

Protip: (my view on flashing soak test on locked devices)
DONT YOU EVER EVER EVER FLASH A SOAK TEST IF YOU HAVE LOCKED BOOTLOADER OR DONT WANT TO UNLOCK, GPT.BIN AND SOME OTHER BOOTLOADER FILES WILL BE UPDATED AND WILL FAIL IF YOU TRY TO FLASH BACK TO OLDER VERSIONS YOU'LL HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE FIRMWARE TO GET OFFICIALLY RELEASED AS A FULL (NOT OTA) AND EVEN THAT ITS NOT A GUARANTEE THAT YOU'LL HAVE YOUR PHONE BACK WORKING, BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU DO TO YOUR PHONE, UNLOCKED BOOTLOADER ITS BEST TO TRY FIRMWARE.

this is a Q&A thread, so if you have any questions just post them here!

i took my time to upload and write this guide for you, so...
If this was useful Press Thanks and if you have $1.00 spare on paypal, i can always take it
Click Donate to me below my name
The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to Jaocagomez For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jaocagomez Ad-Free
 
 
30th December 2015, 10:27 AM |#2  
I see few mistakes in flash commands:
mfastboot flash motoboot bootloader.img - are you sure - motoboot?
mfastboot flash radio radio.img - stock soft don't have radio.img

These brainless peoples will do copy/paste, and write questions "hey i do step by step and don't work" etc.
30th December 2015, 10:47 AM |#3  
maroof.saeed's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damkol

I see few mistakes in flash commands:
mfastboot flash motoboot bootloader.img - are you sure - motoboot?
mfastboot flash radio radio.img - stock soft don't have radio.img

These brainless peoples will do copy/paste, and write questions "hey i do step by step and don't work" etc.

Agreed......Change radio.img to NON-HLOS.bin and change motoboot to bootloader
30th December 2015, 11:03 AM |#4  
Zeljko1234's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose
Thanks Meter: 2,773
 
Donate to Me
More
mFastboot link is dead.
30th December 2015, 05:25 PM |#5  
Jaocagomez's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mexico Culiacan
Thanks Meter: 823
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damkol

I see few mistakes in flash commands:
mfastboot flash motoboot bootloader.img - are you sure - motoboot?
mfastboot flash radio radio.img - stock soft don't have radio.img

These brainless peoples will do copy/paste, and write questions "hey i do step by step and don't work" etc.

it was motoboot because im actually mfastboot not regular fastboot but i'll change it anyway, should be the same.
if there's no radio and you put the command it just continues, theres no danger on keeping it there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroof.saeed

Agreed......Change radio.img to NON-HLOS.bin and change motoboot to bootloader

im avoiding flashing NON-HLOS.bin because it bricks your device if you reflash a older version and has compatibility issues with some firmware, it doesnt affect anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeljko1234

mFastboot link is dead.

fixed.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jaocagomez For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jaocagomez Ad-Free
31st December 2015, 02:59 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaocagomez

it was motoboot because im actually mfastboot not regular fastboot but i'll change it anyway, should be the same.
if there's no radio and you put the command it just continues, theres no danger on keeping it there.


im avoiding flashing NON-HLOS.bin because it bricks your device if you reflash a older version and has compatibility issues with some firmware, it doesnt affect anything.


fixed.

Wifi is not working after flashing any idea?

---------- Post added at 10:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:44 PM ----------

Flashed UK Moto X Force XT1580 Android 6.0, Wifi not working, now roll back to 5.1.1, all working
31st December 2015, 03:39 PM |#7  
maroof.saeed's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfw950116

Wifi is not working after flashing any idea?

---------- Post added at 10:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:44 PM ----------

Flashed UK Moto X Force XT1580 Android 6.0, Wifi not working, now roll back to 5.1.1, all working

I am sharing a post with all you guyz by uploading a nandroid backup....this will definately solve your issues of not working wifi and so on......
The Following User Says Thank You to maroof.saeed For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift maroof.saeed Ad-Free
31st December 2015, 04:49 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maroof.saeed

I am sharing a post with all you guyz by uploading a nandroid backup....this will definately solve your issues of not working wifi and so on......

I am just following the guide, unlock oem -> mfastboot -> reboot -> wifi issue (in marshmallow)
31st December 2015, 06:12 PM |#9  
evgeny71's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
With all my respect to OP, but considering people having issues with WiFi after manual flash, it makes me think, that the key for successful upgrade is in the list of commands. When I did it on my device ,I flashed every single command from flashfile.xml , starting from line
Quote:

<step var="max-sparse-size" operation="getvar"/>

and all the way down to
Quote:

<step var="fb_mode_clear" operation="oem"/>.

After this flashing I have zero issues with my phone whatsoever.
I have European version from England.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to evgeny71 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift evgeny71 Ad-Free
31st December 2015, 06:57 PM |#10  
Jaocagomez's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mexico Culiacan
Thanks Meter: 823
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evgeny71

With all my respect to OP, but considering people having issues with WiFi after manual flash, it makes me think, that the key for successful upgrade is in the list of commands. When I did it on my device ,I flashed every single command from flashfile.xml , starting from line

and all the way down to

After this flashing I have zero issues with my phone whatsoever.
I have European version from England.

i think you're right, marshsmallow should have newer modems and im not including modems, thats why wifi its failing.

everyone having wifi issues flash this way:
Code:
mfastboot flash bootloader bootloader.img
mfastboot flash radio radio.img
mfastboot flash boot boot.img
mfastboot flash recovery recovery.img
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.0
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.1
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.2
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.3
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.4
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.5
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.6
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.7
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.8
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.9
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.10
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.11
mfastboot flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
mfastboot erase modemst1
mfastboot erase modemst1
mfastboot flash bluetooth BTFM.bin
mfastboot flash fsg fsg.mbn
mfastboot erase cache
mfastboot erase userdata
mfastboot erase customize
mfastboot oem fb_mode_clear
mfastboot reboot
and you will be good to go, this is only for upgrading to marshmallow

edit: added it to main thread.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Jaocagomez For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jaocagomez Ad-Free
31st December 2015, 07:51 PM |#11  
evgeny71's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaocagomez

i think you're right, marshsmallow should have newer modems and im not including modems, thats why wifi its failing.

everyone having wifi issues flash this way:

Code:
mfastboot flash bootloader bootloader.img
mfastboot flash radio radio.img
mfastboot flash boot boot.img
mfastboot flash recovery recovery.img
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.0
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.1
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.2
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.3
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.4
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.5
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.6
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.7
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.8
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.9
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.10
mfastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.11
mfastboot flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
mfastboot erase modemst1
mfastboot erase modemst1
mfastboot flash bluetooth BTFM.bin
mfastboot flash fsg fsg.mbn
mfastboot erase cache
mfastboot erase userdata
mfastboot erase customize
mfastboot oem fb_mode_clear
mfastboot reboot
and you will be good to go, this is only for upgrading to marshmallow

edit: added it to main thread.

Correction: there is no radio.img in the list of flashable files. For newbies sake, please remove it from your guide.

Sent from my XT1580 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes