FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

FireTV 2 (sloane) Prerooted Stock Images [5.2.6.0_r1]

1,609 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,098
 
By rbox, Recognized Developer on 6th February 2016, 10:10 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
15th February 2016, 06:07 PM |#101  
deanr1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
If you "need" to wipe the box to a fresh state from recovery, make sure you do not reboot until you install the rom/recovery zip or your be left with a bricked device with no system loaded on to it. Also check you have blocked updates once wiping via recovery or amazon settings format because they will be reset back to the basic original settings again or it may update to an unrootable state in the future?

As rbox said version r4 is the latest with all the fixes for me version r1 or r2 with 3.0.3 recovery installed (cant remember which im on?) works great for me so at the moment I have no need to update yet. Do some reading & see which one you want to install? Think r3 or r4 can't access recovery unless you do it via a adb command? On my version you can just select it using a keyboard & swiping right.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to deanr1977 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deanr1977 Ad-Free
 
 
15th February 2016, 06:41 PM |#102  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi Dean, so what you are saying is I can do factory reset from recovery then before rebooting I will need to install the prerooted rom then reboot?
I have 5.0.5 v1 on mine at the minute and I can access recovery fine. Also I'm sure rbox said that the newer preroot rom has updates disabled already.

Thank you for all the help and sorry for too many questions as i don't want to brick my box.
15th February 2016, 06:59 PM |#103  
deanr1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sajhid

Hi Dean, so what you are saying is I can do factory reset from recovery then before rebooting I will need to install the prerooted rom then reboot?
I have 5.0.5 v1 on mine at the minute and I can access recovery fine. Also I'm sure rbox said that the newer preroot rom has updates disabled already.

Thank you for all the help and sorry for too many questions as i don't want to brick my box.

Yes mate that's right, it is not recommended to reboot without installing a rom first because no system would be present anymore! You have the steps right & don't forget to make sure that updates are reblocked via adb once again If you do decide to system format. Think I'm on the same firmware as you too & its working great.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to deanr1977 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deanr1977 Ad-Free
15th February 2016, 11:17 PM |#104  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 206
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanr1977

Yes mate that's right, it is not recommended to reboot without installing a rom first because no system would be present anymore! You have the steps right & don't forget to make sure that updates are reblocked via adb once again If you do decide to system format. Think I'm on the same firmware as you too & its working great.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

I'm really curious why someone would ever format the system partition. I'm not sure what that accomplishes other than being really dangerous for no good reason. It gets overridden each time a prerooted is installed? Maybe I'm missing something?
15th February 2016, 11:59 PM |#105  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroepoch

I'm really curious why someone would ever format the system partition. I'm not sure what that accomplishes other than being really dangerous for no good reason. It gets overridden each time a prerooted is installed? Maybe I'm missing something?

I did that by mistake on my Fire TV 1 and totally bricked it. Too bad there isn't an Unbrick Image for Fire TV 1, like there is for the Fire TV 2. I just stay away from anything that might format system...lol
16th February 2016, 12:02 AM |#106  
deanr1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroepoch

I'm really curious why someone would ever format the system partition. I'm not sure what that accomplishes other than being really dangerous for no good reason. It gets overridden each time a prerooted is installed? Maybe I'm missing something?

I don't know @zeroepoch? It maybe because on some custom roms on mobile (cell) phones sometimes the devs say that do a wipe or full wipe before flashing a new rom (with new firmware) , I have heard of this before but maybe they didn't have a script in there rom or installer to do this before flashing? Who knows? I know with the AFTV2 this is not the case after reading in these forums but as you can see some users are still doing or asking about doing this process.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
16th February 2016, 01:26 AM |#107  
elliwigy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 6,684
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanr1977

I don't know @zeroepoch? It maybe because on some custom roms on mobile (cell) phones sometimes the devs say that do a wipe or full wipe before flashing a new rom (with new firmware) , I have heard of this before but maybe they didn't have a script in there rom or installer to do this before flashing? Who knows? I know with the AFTV2 this is not the case after reading in these forums but as you can see some users are still doing or asking about doing this process.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

because on phones typically when you "wipe" its similar to a factory data reset so youre essentially installing on a clean system vs. over top a modified system which can cause issues..

the same thing will happen with a phone (brick) if you wipe system without installing one after in recovery.. however, if you still have recovery and a rom on storage you can reflash rom and all is good.

Now if you were to have a locked BL and use FF like me, youd need to odin a full stock tar (Sammy devices) to get it to boot which is essentially similar to the unbrick image here..

fact is, when doing wipes always be sure you know what your wiping before doing so to avoid the trouble.
16th February 2016, 02:28 AM |#108  
deanr1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliwigy

because on phones typically when you "wipe" its similar to a factory data reset so youre essentially installing on a clean system vs. over top a modified system which can cause issues..

the same thing will happen with a phone (brick) if you wipe system without installing one after in recovery.. however, if you still have recovery and a rom on storage you can reflash rom and all is good.

Now if you were to have a locked BL and use FF like me, youd need to odin a full stock tar (Sammy devices) to get it to boot which is essentially similar to the unbrick image here..

fact is, when doing wipes always be sure you know what your wiping before doing so to avoid the trouble.

Well said mate, like I always say before flashing anything on any device.... Read read & read some more before diving in feet first!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to deanr1977 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deanr1977 Ad-Free
16th February 2016, 07:38 AM |#109  
deanr1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Hi @rbox errm when you said "stock recovery will be disabled to prevent stock updates from being flashed" does that mean the stock recovery is disabled & not twrp recovery? in other word if amazon did get an update through (even though my updates have been blocked) they couldnt install them because there recovery wont work on our aftv2's after installing the latest recovery? Thanks & i just rooted my friends unit today without any hitchs & was done super quick too
16th February 2016, 12:23 PM |#110  
elliwigy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 6,684
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanr1977

Hi @rbox errm when you said "stock recovery will be disabled to prevent stock updates from being flashed" does that mean the stock recovery is disabled & not twrp recovery? in other word if amazon did get an update through (even though my updates have been blocked) they couldnt install them because there recovery wont work on our aftv2's after installing the latest recovery? Thanks & i just rooted my friends unit today without any hitchs & was done super quick too

correct.. it will not go into stock recovery at all..

not sure if this was before or after but i booted into recovery when i did adb command but it looked like it wasnt there and asked me to reboot.. i def didnt have normal recovery options
The Following User Says Thank You to elliwigy For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift elliwigy Ad-Free
16th February 2016, 12:37 PM |#111  
deanr1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliwigy

correct.. it will not go into stock recovery at all..

not sure if this was before or after but i booted into recovery when i did adb command but it looked like it wasnt there and asked me to reboot.. i def didnt have normal recovery options

Thanks elliwigy

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes