FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

FireTV 2 (sloane) Prerooted Stock Images [5.2.7.2_r1]

1,759 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,534
 
By rbox, Recognized Developer on 6th February 2016, 11:10 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
27th December 2019, 08:06 PM |#791  
roligov's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
@m1steron I had this same issue. It looks like some APK's were not updated when they firmware was updated. First time I've tried to stream the football on my rooted firetv 2. I've just managed to resolve this on my end.

Solution to error code 8056:
- Update rooted AFTV2 to sloane-5.2.7.2-rooted_r1.zip
- SSH or adb shell into device and run:
"pm enable com.amazon.device.software.ota"
"pm unhide com.amazon.device.software.ota"

Then on firetv 2 go search for update...it will say it's updating system components. This won't update your firmware since you already on the latest as of posting this. It will download a bunch of APK's and install them, here is an ls -alh of my /cache dir on the firetv...Look at the dates of those files, all new:



It's working for me now, going to watch Man City vs Wolves game.

When you done remember to block updates again:
- SSH or adb shell into device and run:
"pm disable com.amazon.device.software.ota"
"pm hide com.amazon.device.software.ota"

@rbox Can anything be done to include updates to system components in future updates?
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to roligov For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift roligov Ad-Free
27th December 2019, 08:12 PM |#792  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
adb Shell?
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb connect 10.0.1.19
already connected to 10.0.1.19:5555
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb shell
error: device offline




I was able to load the rooted firmware from the same add telling me its offline. Wondering how to get into the shell to verify SU? the amazon fire tv 2 does get me a notification that SU needs to be updated.


MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb kill-server
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb start-server
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb connect 10.0.1.19
connected to 10.0.1.19:5555
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb shell
error: device offline
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb devices
List of devices attached
10.0.1.19:5555 offline
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ /Users/braves95/Downloads/Android-4/ADB-Install-Mac.sh
This will install ADB and Fastboot on your computer.
Root Permissions required. Please type your password.
Password:
Changed directory to /Users/braves95/Downloads/Android-4
Moving ADB
mv: Mac/adb_Mac: No such file or directory
ADB Moved to /usr/bin/adb
moving Fastboot
mv: Mac/fastboot_Mac: No such file or directory
Fastboot moved to /usr/bin/fastboot
You may now run Android Debug Bridge and Fastboot commands
Have a nice day.
MacBook-Pro:~ braves95$ adb shell
error: device offline
27th December 2019, 08:23 PM |#793  
roligov's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
@95braves Just go to manage apps and look for the "Super SU" app. If it's there then you rooted.

You can also install "Terminal Emulator" (https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...al.androidterm) on the fire tv and run "su". You should get a root warning on FireTV Screen, just accept.

Lastly you can install "SSH Droid" (https://apkpure.com/sshdroid/berserk....apps.sshdroid) on your FireTV, ssh into your firetv and run "su". You should get a root warning on FireTV Screen, just accept.
The Following User Says Thank You to roligov For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift roligov Ad-Free
27th December 2019, 08:40 PM |#794  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
SU
It does show up in the APPS section. The apps you want me to download is that on the AFTV2 or on my phone and then side load them to the AFTV2?
27th December 2019, 08:48 PM |#795  
roligov's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
If the Super SU app is there then you are rooted. Yes you can either download them directly to the FireTV with "Downloader" (https://troypoint.com/install-downlo...ndroid-tv-box/) or install on phone and send to firetv with something like AGK Fire (https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...oader&hl=en_GB) or Apps2Fire (https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...iretv&hl=en_GB).
28th December 2019, 12:05 AM |#796  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
SU
Ok got kodi installed using the side loader. What I wanted to do was verify it wont install updates unless I install the firmware myself.
6th January 2020, 12:33 AM |#797  
m1steron's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by roligov

@m1steron I had this same issue. It looks like some APK's were not updated when they firmware was updated. First time I've tried to stream the football on my rooted firetv 2. I've just managed to resolve this on my end.

Solution to error code 8056:
- Update rooted AFTV2 to sloane-5.2.7.2-rooted_r1.zip
- SSH or adb shell into device and run:
"pm enable com.amazon.device.software.ota"
"pm unhide com.amazon.device.software.ota"

Then on firetv 2 go search for update...it will say it's updating system components. This won't update your firmware since you already on the latest as of posting this. It will download a bunch of APK's and install them, here is an ls -alh of my /cache dir on the firetv...Look at the dates of those files, all new:



It's working for me now, going to watch Man City vs Wolves game.

When you done remember to block updates again:
- SSH or adb shell into device and run:
"pm disable com.amazon.device.software.ota"
"pm hide com.amazon.device.software.ota"

@rbox Can anything be done to include updates to system components in future updates?

Thanks for this but in the end I took a more drastic option and factory reset the device. Seems to have worked.
19th January 2020, 02:32 AM |#798  
Senior Member
Flag Hampshire, England
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Trying to return a box to stock & manage_recovery doesn't seem to be working - anyone else have this issue? (on prerooted 5.2.7.1_r1)

Code:
[email protected]:/ # manage_recovery

Checking current stock recovery status... NOT STOCK
Checking for reason... DISABLED
Stock recovery is currently disabled,
Would you like to enable it?
Type 'yes' to enable it, anything else to quit.
yes
[email protected]:/ # manage_recovery

Checking current stock recovery status... NOT STOCK
Checking for reason... DISABLED
Stock recovery is currently disabled,
Would you like to enable it?
Type 'yes' to enable it, anything else to quit.
Edit:

Welp, never mind. Turns out returning to stock is as easy as downloading the latest image from Amazon (in this thread), changing the file extension to ".zip", loading twrp, wiping data, flashing it through twrp & rebooting
The Following User Says Thank You to DanielF50 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DanielF50 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes