FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

FireTV 1 (bueller) Prerooted Stock Images [5.2.4.1_r1]

1,592 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
By rbox, Recognized Developer on 20th September 2014, 06:14 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Here are prerooted stock images for use with my recovery. Note that these contain addon.d support, so any 3rd party things you install to /system need an addon.d script to be retained between flashes.

If you are currently on FireOS3 and CWM you MUST install TWRP recovery from the link above before using these.

Can't cd to /sdcard after using su? Install this TWRP flashable zip to fix it.

Changelog and Downloads:
  • May 1, 2017 - 5.2.4.1_r1 (md5sum: 64451a8f88cb5a3fff53f14c80ba2267)
  • January 31, 2017 - 5.2.1.2_r1 (md5sum: 4a01e9a4e6bdcb98da97d2438bf5066d)
  • September 3, 2016 - 5.2.1.1_r1 (md5sum: 4c4cc2b9dc01cf8397905712b8c91ae3)
  • July 4, 2016
  • May 20, 2016 - 5.0.5.1_r1 (md5sum: 5398851cb37ecd6c5df80abe1cc85447)
    • This includes 2ndinit version a7a48c and TWRP version 3.0.0-6.
  • May 20, 2016 - 5.0.5_r1 (md5sum: 924dadb59d73083704844bb27f189449)
    • This includes 2ndinit version a7a48c and TWRP version 3.0.0-6.
  • Everything below here is FireOS3.
  • September 7, 2015 - Added 51.1.6.3_516012020 (md5sum: fcf1a8ddf2f3bc93280af03dcf408ac8)
    • This update requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • If you don't already have 51.1.4.0 or newer, you must flash 51.1.4.0 first.
  • August 20, 2015 - Added 51.1.6.2_516011120 (md5sum: 3fd1cc67fdd3351b470d09cff586fbf8)
    • This update requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • If you don't already have 51.1.4.0 or newer, you must flash 51.1.4.0 first.
  • July 21, 2015 - Added 51.1.6.1_516010220 (md5sum: 61ae1e646c970faf137e9a31d64a1316)
    • This update requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • If you don't already have 51.1.4.0 or newer, you must flash 51.1.4.0 first.
  • July 9, 2015 - Added 51.1.6.0_516009820 (md5sum: a1b550d1a7b21a348ca6bd0d7127427c)
    • This update requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • If you don't already have 51.1.4.0 or newer, you must flash 51.1.4.0 first.
  • May 24, 2015 - Added 51.1.5.3_515040320 (md5sum: a12852edbe6dc24146533f43e0ae4a05)
    • This update requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • If you don't already have 51.1.4.0 or newer, you must flash 51.1.4.0 first.
  • Apr 15, 2015 - Added 51.1.5.0_515030720 (md5sum: de2ab7f2d3072e10d3e592b73ca52750)
    • This update requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • If you don't already have 51.1.4.0 or newer, you must flash 51.1.4.0 first.
  • Mar 26, 2015 - Added 51.1.5.0_515020820 (md5sum: b7005dd3cc0b6a15dae21b0170aeae85)
    • This update requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • If you don't already have 51.1.4.0 or newer, you must flash 51.1.4.0 first.
  • Nov 21, 2014 - Added 51.1.4.1_514013920+fixed (md5sum: 4429327daeed0df852731d81fa9b1f54)
    • Starting with this update, this requires FireTV Boot Menu.
    • You also must ensure you have already flashed 51.1.4.0.
  • Nov 19, 2014 - Added 51.1.4.1_514013920 (md5sum: 348c8b23d785177f7dfd45cc2ef19626)
  • Oct 30, 2014 - Added 51.1.4.0_514006420+updated (md5sum: b1b48348cb56c0b83a3affc9fd06e07e)
    • This fixes the Netflix problem from the original 51.1.4.0. After flashing and rebooting, you might get a hung black screen. If that is the case, just pull the power and plug it back in. Also, Netflix might be broken for International people using DNS unblocking. Please let me know if it works/doesn't work for you when using DNS unblocking.
  • Oct 29, 2014 - Added 51.1.4.0_514006420[/URL] (md5sum: 98074ae3dead5c12ce77d735c2126b80)
  • Oct 02, 2014 - Added 51.1.3.0_513011820 (md5sum: 8a7b02691760abf11db4c1c583c20d8f)
  • Sep 20, 2014 - Added 51.1.3.0_513011520 (md5sum: 2dbd022eacbad0b001753d7519f0ad1b)
  • Sep 19, 2014 - Added 51.1.1.0_511070220 (md5sum: f98fe5b7de4acb5d2dfa4d8586179b98)
The Following 84 Users Say Thank You to rbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
20th September 2014, 02:21 PM |#2  
AFTVnews.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 330
 
Donate to Me
More
Here are some guides with step by step instructions:

How to install ClockworkMod Custom Recovery on the Amazon Fire TV
http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-insta...mazon-fire-tv/

How to update ClockworkMod Custom Recovery on the Amazon Fire TV
http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-updat...mazon-fire-tv/

How to remotely control ClockworkMod on the Amazon Fire TV using ADB
http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-remot...-tv-using-adb/

How to install a Custom ROM Image on the Amazon Fire TV
http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-insta...mazon-fire-tv/

How to update a Rooted Amazon Fire TV to the Latest Version Without Losing Root
http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-updat...t-losing-root/

How to Revert back to Stock Recovery and Stock Software
http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-rever...tock-software/
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to AFTVnews.com For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AFTVnews.com Ad-Free
20th September 2014, 02:30 PM |#3  
JJ-KwiK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
AWESOME!
20th September 2014, 03:40 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 433
 
More
@rbox when flashing the pre-rooted image, does it also rebuild/replace the recovery?

I'm just curious how these work, and if CWR would then need to be 'dd' again. I did a quick compare between the pre-rooted image and the stock, and the only differences I see are su binary, superuser.apk, and the removal of every file from the root of the zip but:

boot.img
NON-HLOS.bin
prod_cert_swap.sed
sed
20th September 2014, 04:24 PM |#5  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxferro

@rbox when flashing the pre-rooted image, does it also rebuild/replace the recovery?

I'm just curious how these work, and if CWR would then need to be 'dd' again. I did a quick compare between the pre-rooted image and the stock, and the only differences I see are su binary, superuser.apk, and the removal of every file from the root of the zip but:

boot.img
NON-HLOS.bin
prod_cert_swap.sed
sed

No. It doesn't touch the recovery. These images are basically just the regular image with the bootloader and nonessential images pulled out. And as you can see, it comes with su.
20th September 2014, 05:36 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 433
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox

No. It doesn't touch the recovery. These images are basically just the regular image with the bootloader and nonessential images pulled out. And as you can see, it comes with su.

Doesn't android typically rebuild & flash the recovery partition from boot.img and /system/etc/recovery-resource.dat when it detects it's been changed? I was just curious when that normally would occur on a stock FireTV, and what prevents this from happening on your pre-rooted images. I haven't used any prerooted images. Already had root and just dd'd your cwr_recovery.img. CWR asks you if you want to disable the stock recovery process. As a test I picked no, and CWR didn't get replaced. So should I assume that Amazon doesn't run any scripts at boot that check the recovery and rebuild/flash it?

To make a long story short. I was just curious if your pre-rooted images disabled the recovery replacement, since I still saw the recovery-resource.dat used to build them in the zip. But I guess FireOS doesn't do that at boot

edit: I guess that may have been disabled by towelroot, since the install-recovery.sh is being used to start the /system/xbin/daemonsu --auto-daemon &
20th September 2014, 05:54 PM |#7  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxferro

Doesn't android typically rebuild & flash the recovery partition from boot.img and /system/etc/recovery-resource.dat when it detects it's been changed? I was just curious when that normally would occur on a stock FireTV, and what prevents this from happening on your pre-rooted images. I haven't used any prerooted images. Already had root and just dd'd your cwr_recovery.img. CWR asks you if you want to disable the stock recovery process. As a test I picked no, and CWR didn't get replaced. So should I assume that Amazon doesn't run any scripts at boot that check the recovery and rebuild/flash it?

To make a long story short. I was just curious if your pre-rooted images disabled the recovery replacement, since I still saw the recovery-resource.dat used to build them in the zip. But I guess FireOS doesn't do that at boot

51.1.3.0 was actually the first version to include an updated recovery. If you look in the stock 51.1.3.0 image, you'll see a recovery directory with recovery-from-boot.p and install-recovery.sh. I removed that from my image. The install-recovery.sh is the one that updates the recovery.

I'm not quire sure why it asked you about disabling stock. I'm guessing you booted into it, did nothing, and then rebooted. The only thing I can guess is whatever you had installed already had a /system/etc/install-recovery.sh script there. That doesn't seem to be included in the stock update images. Maybe the stock recovery writes it if it doesn't exist... Either way, I think people have said the install-recovery.sh script that came with stock didn't do anything. And then when you install one of my updates, it definitely doesn't come with it.
The Following User Says Thank You to rbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2014, 05:54 PM |#8  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Also, I just uploaded 51.1.3.0.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2014, 06:02 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 433
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox

51.1.3.0 was actually the first version to include an updated recovery. If you look in the stock 51.1.3.0 image, you'll see a recovery directory with recovery-from-boot.p and install-recovery.sh. I removed that from my image. The install-recovery.sh is the one that updates the recovery.

I'm not quire sure why it asked you about disabling stock. I'm guessing you booted into it, did nothing, and then rebooted. The only thing I can guess is whatever you had installed already had a /system/etc/install-recovery.sh script there. That doesn't seem to be included in the stock update images. Maybe the stock recovery writes it if it doesn't exist... Either way, I think people have said the install-recovery.sh script that came with stock didn't do anything. And then when you install one of my updates, it definitely doesn't come with it.


The contents of my install-recovery.sh had to do with the su daemon. So i assume it was from towelroot. edit: actually probably one of the variations of superuser?

Basically I was curious what changes you were making so the stock recovery wasn't being flashed back, just in case I wanted to mess around with later revisions that aren't rootable and might flash the stock recovery back and leave me w/ an unrootable system. Like 51.1.3.0. But I see that you just created a pre-rooted 51.1.3.0 Anyway, it was more of a curiosity than me wanting to have the latest version.
20th September 2014, 11:53 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 302
 
Donate to Me
More
Upgrading to Pre-Rooted 51.1.3.0_513011520
Hi rbox,

Great work... Just a quick question to clear up any confusion.

I currently have 51.1.1.0_user_511070220 install and rooted with towelroot.

If I want to update to Pre-Rooted 51.1.3.0_513011520 do I still need to downgrade to the Official Stock Software Package version 51.1.0.2_user_510058520.
Install ClockworkMod Custom Recovery .
Then upgrade via Custom Recovery to Pre-Rooted 51.1.3.0_513011520?

Or

Can I just upgrade to Pre-Rooted 51.1.3.0_513011520 via the firmware upgrade script http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?t=2796067?
20th September 2014, 11:56 PM |#11  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imtiajmeah

Hi rbox,

Great work... Just a quick question to clear up any confusion.

I currently have 51.1.1.0_user_511070220 install and rooted with towelroot.

If I want to update to Pre-Rooted 51.1.3.0_513011520 do I still need to downgrade to the Official Stock Software Package version 51.1.0.2_user_510058520.
Install ClockworkMod Custom Recovery .
Then upgrade via Custom Recovery to Pre-Rooted 51.1.3.0_513011520?

Or

Can I just upgrade to Pre-Rooted 51.1.3.0_513011520 via the firmware upgrade script http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?t=2796067?

As the post says... the prerooted images are only for use with my recovery. So yes, you have to downgrade and install it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes