FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROOT] Amazon Fire TV Gen 2 (4k)

313 posts
Thanks Meter: 214
 
Post Reply Email Thread
11th November 2015, 12:10 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks! I've played around with Linux but would definitely classify myself as a beginner. I guess we'll see how user-friendly the instructions are
 
 
11th November 2015, 12:33 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
This is good news, definitely progress, could this be integrated into ADBFire for windows
11th November 2015, 12:50 PM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay794

This is good news, definitely progress, could this be integrated into ADBFire for windows

This would be perfect. Or even adb. I've just never used Linux
11th November 2015, 05:55 PM |#14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroepoch

It has only been tested on a US device and I don't know at this point if non US devices are different, maybe not.

Hi zeroepoch,

I just used your rooting scripts successfully on a non US (in my case German) version of the Fire TV 2!

Greets,
Christian
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to skyball2 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift skyball2 Ad-Free
11th November 2015, 05:57 PM |#15  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 214
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyball2

Hi zeroepoch,

I just used your rooting scripts successfully on a non US (in my case German) version of the Fire TV 2!

Greets,
Christian

Thanks for the feedback. Glad to hear it worked!
12th November 2015, 07:19 AM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Successful root under arch Linux! Thanks for your hard work.
The Following User Says Thank You to binkers For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift binkers Ad-Free
12th November 2015, 01:34 PM |#17  
Savage13's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
By any chance does this root work for the original fire TV ?

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk
12th November 2015, 04:48 PM |#18  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 214
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savage13

By any chance does this root work for the original fire TV ?

No. It's MediaTek specific. It may work on most MediaTek devices though.
12th November 2015, 07:02 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
how can u tell handshake is ok and start patching ?
12th November 2015, 07:21 PM |#20  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 214
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reiteravi

how can u tell handshake is ok and start patching ?

It will print "Handshake Complete". Also the serial device will remain present rather than disappear after a few seconds.
12th November 2015, 07:25 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
i'm waiting more than 10 min for handshake ftv blinks lazy in white from time to time
is the handshake the longer operation or the patching ?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
aftv2, root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes