FORUMS

Looking to use a VPN on a Firestick running KODI.

861 posts
Thanks Meter: 77

By sandman512, Senior Member on 27th December 2015, 01:17 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
OK, I am new to VPNS, so please bare with me. I have an Amazon Firestick with KODI installed on it. Ideally, I would like to have a VPN on this device and all my other devices for that matter. What would be the best way to go about this? Thanks!
27th December 2015, 08:55 PM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 6

More
Quick question...Are wanting to use VPN for Privacy purposes or to unblock Geo restriction?
27th December 2015, 10:10 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member

More
Sorry, should of been more specific. Privacy issues.
28th December 2015, 01:08 AM |#4  
Thanks Meter: 46

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandman512

Sorry, should of been more specific. Privacy issues.

I'd set the client up on my router then, i'm not sure there is any "baked in" vpn client in the fire tv(stick) devices
28th December 2015, 01:13 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member

More
Froggy,
Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. Being new to this, can you point me in the right direction? I am currently using an Airport Extreme Router. Thanks!
28th December 2015, 05:01 AM |#6  
Thanks Meter: 1

More
OpenVPN App
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandman512

Froggy,
Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. Being new to this, can you point me in the right direction? I am currently using an Airport Extreme Router. Thanks!

The openvpn app works fine on a my Fire-TV Gen 2 which I rooted yesterday. It shouldn't be a problem on a fire stick. The airport router lacks the ability to use openvpn.

That seems to be the quickest to to accomplish your goal & you could use vpn anywhere like when traveling in a hotel or whatever.
The Following User Says Thank You to C-Rooted For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift C-Rooted Ad-Free
28th December 2015, 05:36 AM |#7  
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 316

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by C-Rooted