FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

FireTV 2 Recovery Installer [v3]

1,592 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
By rbox, Recognized Developer on 6th February 2016, 10:11 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
This only works if you are on a software version BEFORE 5.2.1.0!


This will allow you to install recovery easily whether you are rooted or not. The downloads will be numbered starting at v1, and at the bottom of the post it will explain what is contained within each version.

You must extract the installer zip and a recovery zip to the same directory.

Versions for Linux, OSX, and Windows are included. I have not tested the OSX version. Running it won't cause any damage, so don't be afraid to try it. Please let me know if it works.

After extracting the zips, run the .bat file for Windows or the .sh script for Linux and OSX. Make sure the USB cable is connected and if using Windows your drivers are set up. Then power cycle the firetv and the script should start. It should take about 5 minutes to run.

You must copy the ramdisk-recovery.cpio.lzma to USB storage or an sdcard. This must be plugged in when you boot after running the script. The one catch is you need to have a USB keyboard plugged in to select Recovery from bootmenu. So either use an sdcard, a usb hub, or unplug the USB storage once the splash screen shows up and plug in a keyboard.

The first thing you should do after booting in to recovery is to install a prerooted rom. This will fully install recovery so you won't need the ramdisk on external storage anymore.

Source Code
You can find the source code here:
https://github.com/androidrbox/mediatek-preloader-tools

NOTE
This method is only for people on 100% stock rom or people who have rooted with the previous method. Once you install recovery with firetv2_recovery zip file or install a prerooted rom, this method will not work.

Thanks to everyone who has donated to me and those that helped to get me my FireTV 2. Thanks to @zeroepoch, without his work, this wouldn't be possible.

Changelog and Downloads:
  • February 9, 2016 - v3 (md5sum: d9432930b8a6d50b6b09c31ef698b209)
    • Fixed the windows bat file
    • Everything else same as last
  • February 8, 2016 - v2 (md5sum: 05ddfdf84d4298eb2935acc02c94b70c)
    • This adds error checking to the .sh and .bat file to make sure all the files exist before attempting to start. (Thanks to @ImCoKeMaN for the idea)
    • This comes with the same version of mediatek_inject.
  • February 6, 2016 - v1 (md5sum: b55c61075607fe5d716355dbd8b03a2c)
    • This comes with mediatek_inject version fa8d8f.
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to rbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
6th February 2016, 10:23 PM |#2  
AFTVnews.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 330
 
Donate to Me
More
Awesome work!

For those who need a step-by-step guide with screenshots:
[GUIDE] How to Root a Fire TV 2 by installing rbox's Pre-Rooted Image


[VIDEO GUIDE]
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to AFTVnews.com For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AFTVnews.com Ad-Free
7th February 2016, 03:21 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
md5 = b55c61075607fe5d716355dbd8b03a2c ?
7th February 2016, 03:24 AM |#4  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axecaster

md5 = b55c61075607fe5d716355dbd8b03a2c ?

I'm just trying to make sure people are paying attention, haha. Not really. I corrected it.
The Following User Says Thank You to rbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2016, 05:12 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Trying this using Ubuntu Virtual Machine on Windows 10 laptop
I get this error:

anthony@ubuntu:~$ '/home/anthony/firetv2recoveryv1/install_firetv2_recovery.sh' Waiting for preloader...
Found port = /dev/ttyACM0
Handshake complete!
Injecting 2ndinit...
/home/anthony/firetv2recoveryv1/install_firetv2_recovery.sh: line 10: ./mediatek_inject.linux: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error
Injecting 2ndinitstub...
/home/anthony/firetv2recoveryv1/install_firetv2_recovery.sh: line 13: ./mediatek_inject.linux: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error

Any ideas?
7th February 2016, 05:14 AM |#6  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazdaman.

Trying this using Ubuntu Virtual Machine on Windows 10 laptop
I get this error:

anthony@ubuntu:~$ '/home/anthony/firetv2recoveryv1/install_firetv2_recovery.sh' Waiting for preloader...
Found port = /dev/ttyACM0
Handshake complete!
Injecting 2ndinit...
/home/anthony/firetv2recoveryv1/install_firetv2_recovery.sh: line 10: ./mediatek_inject.linux: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error
Injecting 2ndinitstub...
/home/anthony/firetv2recoveryv1/install_firetv2_recovery.sh: line 13: ./mediatek_inject.linux: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error

Any ideas?

You're using a 32bit ubuntu I assume? How easy would it be to switch to a 64bit version?
7th February 2016, 05:25 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox

You're using a 32bit ubuntu I assume? How easy would it be to switch to a 64bit version?

Yep, Ubuntu 15.10 (32-bit)
It was the image prepared by someone on this forum, so others may run in to the same problem.

Not sure how hard it is to prepare a 64-bit Ubuntu VM.
7th February 2016, 05:29 AM |#8  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazdaman.

Yep, Ubuntu 15.10 (32-bit)
It was the image prepared by someone on this forum, so others may run in to the same problem.

Not sure how hard it is to prepare a 64-bit Ubuntu VM.

Why not just use the native windows version?
7th February 2016, 06:08 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox

Why not just use the native windows version?

When it's waiting on pre loader, the Fire TV just reboots and doesn't catch the pre loader.
Maybe a driver issue. which I don't know how to resolve
7th February 2016, 06:09 AM |#10  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazdaman.

When it's waiting on pre loader, the Fire TV just reboots and doesn't catch the pre loader.
Maybe a driver issue. which I don't know how to resolve

@AFTVnews.com has an excellent guide: http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-root-...zon-fire-tv-2/
The Following User Says Thank You to rbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2016, 06:38 AM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox

@AFTVnews.com has an excellent guide: http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-root-...zon-fire-tv-2/

Thanks.
Got it working on windows now
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes