[Q] - Error mounting SDcard in CWM [SOLVED]

350 posts
Thanks Meter: 33

By spectre85, Senior Member on 31st January 2012, 07:36 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello I'm new to the nexus line and recently upgraded form a SGS. my phone is Rooted, unlocked boot loader and running the most recent version of CWM 5.5.0.4. I'm running the GSM version of the Nexus.

My question is how do I flash the my first rom? When I boot into recovery and click install zip from SDcard i get "E: Can't mount /sdcard/" I am also unable to mound the data partition within. windows drivers are installed for both fastboot and adb so I can flash that way, i'm just wondering what the exact steps are and if that error mounting data is normal.

I also downloaded the most recent franco.Kernel as I want to run that, I know how to flash that with fastboot but wasnt' sure if that is how you would flash a rom with the nexus, on the SGS i used to use odin.

Thanks and sorry for the noobness.
31st January 2012, 07:43 PM |#2  
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 257

More
How did you "unlock fastboot" and "root" and "install CWM"? Did you use one of the "Tool Kits"?

Do you have ROM Manager installed on your device?
31st January 2012, 08:01 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Regina

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yiannisthegreek

How did you "unlock fastboot" and "root" and "install CWM"? Did you use one of the "Tool Kits"?

Do you have ROM Manager installed on your device?

Sorry, Yes I have ROM Manager installed and its' paid for.

I unlocked my boot loader using fastboot oem unlock, I rooted by using an app because I couldn't mount the data partition in recovery so had to use some app some guy made that downloaded the su.zip from clockwork and flashed on it's own.

I installed CWM using fastboot.

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img