FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Tips] Screen Color Calibration for the Galaxy Nexus

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 54

By mumchristmas, Junior Member on 28th February 2012, 05:09 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
After using the Galaxy Nexus for two weeks, I found the screen color of the new amoled+ is much better than the Nexus S, but still inaccuracy. I'm a part-time photographer who keen on the right Gamma, color accuracy and color temperature.

So I just finished some test with such things:
  1. Galaxy Nexus
  2. franco Kernel 18.5 nightly(with the ColorControl from Ezekeel)
  3. Voodoo Screen Test app
  4. x-rite i1 Display 2 color meter
  5. HCFR software

The test result was not so good...
  • Average Gammar value is about 1.9, far from the ISO stand 2.2. So the color is just too bright (I'm not saying screen brightness).
  • The shadow part (0-40% gray level) of 3 color curve were almost out of trim. In another words, incaauracy color balance.
  • As the color unbalance. The color temperature is starting from lower than 5500K to 6500K, which the ISO stand is 6500K at any color level.

I also tested the ColorControl in franco Kernel. After the adjustments, Gammar value is still bad, but I save the (most part of) color balance & color temperature in the end.

The adjustments step by step:
  1. Make sure you have a rom/mod with /init.d autorun function.

Bye, stock rom...:P

2. Make sure you have a kernel with ColorControl function.

Such like Ezekeel, franco...Else? I don't know.

3. Set the screen brightness to 50%.

It's the mesurement "baseline". But why 50%?
    Because, at this point the screen has a brightness about 120 Lux--also a ISO stand. So, it's very close to our desktop LCD.

4. Make a new file as /etc/init.d/900colorcontrol-b50

Which could be done by Root Explorer or adb.

Inside the file, type such line:
    Code:
    echo "-10 0 -10" > /sys/class/misc/colorcontrol/v1_offset

echo "1820000000 1900000000 2000000000" > /sys/class/misc/colorcontrol/multiplier