FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Anyone with different LCD density and Market issue, look here

812 posts
Thanks Meter: 141
 
By blackspp, Senior Member on 21st August 2011, 12:34 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I've been in touch with Google the past few weeks cause I hardly get any updates through the market since about three months.

Google noticed that everybody or at least most users with a non-standard screen density have this issue. Many apps give a 'your device is not compatible with this application' error when browsing the internet/desktop market version (not the phone market app).

And than in the market you won't see your apps under 'My Apps'
When you switch back to 'default density (240) the problem is gone.


Google is investigating the issue but does not know yet if they will support non-standard densities.


If this is a double post, sorry for that.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to blackspp For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift blackspp Ad-Free
 
 
21st August 2011, 01:00 PM |#2  
mdalacu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 198
 
Donate to Me
More
They dont't need to support non standard dpi but they should let applications to show up in Market. This is the reason I downgraded the Market version on my phone, but this is not a solution. I hope Google will let the users decide what dpi is best for them.
21st August 2011, 10:14 PM |#3  
blackspp's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Yep but as long as they fear claims and complaints nothing may happen...
At the same time the 2 persons I've been dealing with have been very cooperative and asked me lots of questions. Gave them app details, logs and after a few weeks they came back with this conclusion.

Which sort of makes respect them, after all, I'm only one of nearly 200 million Android users!
22nd August 2011, 09:16 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Daytona Beach
Thanks Meter: 180
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspp

I've been in touch with Google the past few weeks cause I hardly get any updates through the market since about three months.

Google noticed that everybody or at least most users with a non-standard screen density have this issue. Many apps give a 'your device is not compatible with this application' error when browsing the internet/desktop market version (not the phone market app).

And than in the market you won't see your apps under 'My Apps'
When you switch back to 'default density (240) the problem is gone.


Google is investigating the issue but does not know yet if they will support non-standard densities.


If this is a double post, sorry for that.

Seen a couple of these pop up so far. The problem has been affecting me for a while now, but I just figured out what caused it last week. Lots of people (myself included) seem to have thought nobody else had this problem.

Post: Changing DPI and new market makes apps incompatibility
Post: [Q] Cannot update multiple installed apps, is it the new market?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspp

Yep but as long as they fear claims and complaints nothing may happen...
At the same time the 2 persons I've been dealing with have been very cooperative and asked me lots of questions. Gave them app details, logs and after a few weeks they came back with this conclusion.

Which sort of makes respect them, after all, I'm only one of nearly 200 million Android users!

I'm almost surprised it took so long for them to notice that trend, considering they surely have facilities to notice trends in their databases. Score one for XDA! (Very cool of Google to provide such tailored support, though!)
23rd August 2011, 03:23 AM |#5  
schizo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
So, no "permanent" dpi change solution for now?

I kinda missed my streak because of this high DPI on the SGS2. Everything getting so big, i losed some of my productivity...
23rd August 2011, 04:46 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Daytona Beach
Thanks Meter: 180
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schizo

So, no "permanent" dpi change solution for now?

I kinda missed my streak because of this high DPI on the SGS2. Everything getting so big, i losed some of my productivity...

To "permanently" change your DPI to "XYZ", add these lines to /data/local.prop:
Code:
ro.sf.lcd_density=XYZ
qemu.sf.lcd_density=XYZ
(Note: If /data/local.prop does not exist, you may create it yourself.)

- OR -

If you would prefer that the change not persist when flashing a new ROM, you could edit /system/build.prop, which should already contain the "ro.sf.lcd_density" property unless you're on a 160dpi device. /system/build.prop will be overwritten any time you flash a new ROM, even if you do not wipe first.

Both of these methods will require a reboot for changes to take effect.

---

Alternately, if you would like to avoid editing system files by hand, there is an app called Blade Buddy which allows you to modify various properties in /data/local.prop, including LCD density.

To save your changes from Blade Buddy, tap Menu -> Save. If you choose not to reboot, you can then tap Menu -> Apply to apply the changes in RAM and restart the UI to see them in action. (Applying density without rebooting seems to be hit-or-miss.)

---

Regardless of how you set your LCD density, the Market will exhibit the incompatibility bug.

As a workaround, I have set my density "permanently" with Blade Buddy and use LCDDensity for Root to revert to default once and a while, so I can launch the Market and get all my updates. LCDDensity for Root is designed specifically to change density temporarily, on-the-fly, and on as many devices as possible.
The Following User Says Thank You to bezeek For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bezeek Ad-Free
24th August 2011, 11:15 AM |#7  
schizo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Thanks, Mr. Bezeek. Actually what I'm looking is the permanent solution of not having to temporarily switch back and forth. As for editing .props I already have experience before with my Streak. Hehehehe

But still, thanks anyway and hope you not offended. I like it the way you help others in precise and detailed manner. Keep it up, bro *thumbs_up*
24th August 2011, 05:11 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Daytona Beach
Thanks Meter: 180
 
Donate to Me
More
Not a problem, just doing my bit to make sure the information is out there.

As far as avoiding the temporary switching goes, I'll be on vacation for the next week, but I intend to try a little hacking when I get back, to see if I can find a way to spoof the dpi. That is, if Google doesn't throw us a bone in the meantime.

Users have reported that older versions of the Market still work. The one shipped with the latest OTA for my Evo worked for me, and I suspect that any version released before they changed the Market UI will. YMMV.
26th August 2011, 03:43 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Just thought I'd toss this out there... I have a Droid X. When running MIUI 1.8.19 on it, I don't have this problem. I can set my density to 200 and the newest market (3.1.3) still works as expected. Seems as though with all the other ROMs I've tried (both blur and 2nd init), I couldn't access a lot of stuff unless I set density back to 240. I can't remember for sure, but I might have been able to set stock .602 (rooted) to 200 with no problems as well - but I'm a little iffy on that. So it would seem that MIUI has done something (perhaps not intentionally) to work around the problem. I just wish I had the smarts to figure out what that might be.

Edit: I realize that this is not a Droid X forum, but I was thinking this info might help somehow. Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to tslovejoy1969 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tslovejoy1969 Ad-Free
28th August 2011, 04:07 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Daytona Beach
Thanks Meter: 180
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tslovejoy1969

Just thought I'd toss this out there... I have a Droid X. When running MIUI 1.8.19 on it, I don't have this problem. I can set my density to 200 and the newest market (3.1.3) still works as expected. Seems as though with all the other ROMs I've tried (both blur and 2nd init), I couldn't access a lot of stuff unless I set density back to 240. I can't remember for sure, but I might have been able to set stock .602 (rooted) to 200 with no problems as well - but I'm a little iffy on that. So it would seem that MIUI has done something (perhaps not intentionally) to work around the problem. I just wish I had the smarts to figure out what that might be.

Edit: I realize that this is not a Droid X forum, but I was thinking this info might help somehow. Thanks.

Good to know! Being able to compare a "working" ROM to mine will surely make it easier to identify a workaround.
30th August 2011, 03:30 AM |#11  
bala_gamer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Madurai-Chennai
Thanks Meter: 7,060
 
Donate to Me
More
Nice info never noted this before!! yeah i dint get any updates over a last few weeks. Im at 200 dpi.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes