FORUMS

No 5G option EE UK

65 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By Ronny220, Member on 27th March 2020, 01:09 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey everyone,

So I've got myself the S20 plus G9860 which I believe is the Hong Kong variant, 5G dual SIM etc.

I've noticed I don't have the option for 5G under connection settings.
I'm using EE and have a 5G plan in the UK
EE have dismissed me by saying it's the phone and it being a international model.

Any ideas?
I also don't have the option for e-sim which again is very weird!

Please help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200326-181543_Call settings.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	107.1 KB
ID:	4979669  
27th March 2020, 04:15 AM |#2  
vash_h's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Petaling Jaya
Thanks Meter: 238
 
More
Did you try to factory reset with the ee simcard in the phone? It will setup the phone on uk csc.

I'm not sure if 5g functionality is csc restricted or not.. But if it is this will do the trick.

Sent from my SM-G985F using Tapatalk
27th March 2020, 12:00 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
you need to be very careful - 5G spectrum is different for each variant based on the market is released - so phones that might have 5G in USA or ASIA will not work in 5G in Europe and viceversa as each country uses different spectrums, unlike 4g - and the phones only support the ones in the markets they are released!
27th March 2020, 02:27 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
I have SM-G986B/DS mine is dual sim both normal sims and laso has 5g on both sim slots
27th March 2020, 06:13 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim2london

you need to be very careful - 5G spectrum is different for each variant based on the market is released - so phones that might have 5G in USA or ASIA will not work in 5G in Europe and viceversa as each country uses different spectrums, unlike 4g - and the phones only support the ones in the markets they are released!

Tried a factory reset and still nothing, same options appear.

I checked the supported bands prior to buying this phone and it supports N78 for EE in the UK.

Is there a secret menu or something I can confirm it actually has 5G and its just disabled?
27th March 2020, 06:35 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
then maybe get in touch with EE maybe you need a new sim or your plan doesnt have 5g enabled on it
27th March 2020, 08:27 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim2london

then maybe get in touch with EE maybe you need a new sim or your plan doesnt have 5g enabled on it

As mentioned in my original post, I have a 5G plan and EE have dismissed me as soon as they heard it's a non UK model, stating it's the phone and not them!

Silly question but would I need to be in a 5G area for this option to show? Or is the 5G option always there regardless
28th March 2020, 12:20 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
5g is always an option I'm on 02 with a 5g sim however where I live isn't 5g but in connection settings it still shows 5g
28th March 2020, 02:14 AM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by da1e8

5g is always an option I'm on 02 with a 5g sim however where I live isn't 5g but in connection settings it still shows 5g

Are you using the exynos variant or Snapdragon?
28th March 2020, 05:09 AM |#10  
vash_h's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Petaling Jaya
Thanks Meter: 238
 
More
Try going to phone dialer app, enter the code *#2263# and tell us what is the options..
From here try selecting the one with 5G for the appropriate sim slot and see if it works..
Try to choose 5G with 4G since 5G coverage is not that good.

Mine is exynos s20+ 4G model so mine doesn't have 5G available. Yours may be different.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200328-120824_Service%20mode%20RIL.jpg
Views:	272
Size:	19.4 KB
ID:	4980399Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200328-120819_Service%20mode%20RIL.jpg
Views:	272
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	4980401Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200328-120803_Service%20mode%20RIL.jpg
Views:	276
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	4980403

Sent from my SM-G985F using Tapatalk
28th March 2020, 10:24 AM |#11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vash_h

Try going to phone dialer app, enter the code *#2263# and tell us what is the options..
From here try selecting the one with 5G for the appropriate sim slot and see if it works..
Try to choose 5G with 4G since 5G coverage is not that good.

Mine is exynos s20+ 4G model so mine doesn't have 5G available. Yours may be different.

Attachment 4980399Attachment 4980401Attachment 4980403

Sent from my SM-G985F using Tapatalk

I might be doing something wrong but that code *#2263# does nothing in the dialler for me, no service menu popup or anything
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes