FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Access to bottom three buttons via bluetooth keyboard or mouse

13 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By stui73, Junior Member on 16th July 2012, 07:25 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,
I have the cheapest bluetooth mouse and keyboard going, so I'm not sure whats available in the high end. However I have notice that when navigating the SGS3 with a mouse I can not access any of the bottom buttons (menu, home, back). With the keyboard it is a bit easier since I can use the Esc key to control the back button. I'm not to worried about getting the home button, but I think it would be good to have access the menu button (bottom left). Sometimes I use a credit card stand and I'm a bit worried about knocking it over when I press the menu button.

Anyone know how to create a software version of the menu button? Or even better, does anyone know a keyboard or mouse trick to toggle it?

Cheers,
Stui
The Following User Says Thank You to stui73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift stui73 Ad-Free
 
 
16th July 2012, 11:04 PM |#2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I found an App that will solve the problem
Quote:
Originally Posted by stui73

Hi,
I have the cheapest bluetooth mouse and keyboard going, so I'm not sure whats available in the high end. However I have notice that when navigating the SGS3 with a mouse I can not access any of the bottom buttons (menu, home, back). With the keyboard it is a bit easier since I can use the Esc key to control the back button. I'm not to worried about getting the home button, but I think it would be good to have access the menu button (bottom left). Sometimes I use a credit card stand and I'm a bit worried about knocking it over when I press the menu button.

Anyone know how to create a software version of the menu button? Or even better, does anyone know a keyboard or mouse trick to toggle it?

Cheers,
Stui

Ok, I went hunting around the Play Store and found 'External Keyboard Helper Pro' which enables the user to map whatever keyboard value to whatever Android function they want (and more). I was able to map the Home and Menu buttons to unused keys on the Bluetooth keyboard. I also discovered that Alt Tab switches tasks (but you have to touch or click the screen to stay on the task switch screen).

hope this helps anyone who is at this stage of PCing up their SGS3.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stui73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift stui73 Ad-Free
26th July 2012, 04:43 PM |#3  
sonhy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Sure helps. thanks mate.
I wish the same mapping can be done for the mouse, as most of the time i would use the mouse to navigate back and forth into and out of menus, currently i cant find a mouse that has a menu button and a home button.

If you click and hold you get the menu for an item, but not the main app menu.
16th August 2013, 03:50 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Hi, by self-trying I've also discovered the following keys that work without any external software:

CTRL+ESC = Menu key
ALT+ESC = Home key
ALT+TAB = Task manager (briefly hit the two keys, then use arrows to select the app)

So, although after a year, you get your answer!
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to virtualdj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift virtualdj Ad-Free
10th October 2015, 06:26 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonhy

Sure helps. thanks mate.
I wish the same mapping can be done for the mouse, as most of the time i would use the mouse to navigate back and forth into and out of menus, currently i cant find a mouse that has a menu button and a home button.

If you click and hold you get the menu for an item, but not the main app menu.

Scroll wheel click is the Home button and right click is the back button. I can't find a way to do the Recents button, though.
19th October 2015, 05:46 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonGateley

Scroll wheel click is the Home button and right click is the back button. I can't find a way to do the Recents button, though.

Awesome. I had been searching for this for quite some time.
30th January 2017, 08:40 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Is there a way to make the right click act as a long click instead? I have having to long click when you have a button performing functions that could be done in an easier fashion. Meanwhile, a true right click feature would be amazing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes