FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Thread closed.

8,714 posts
Thanks Meter: 20,156
 
By Yank555, Senior Member on 4th August 2012, 09:18 AM
Thread Closed Email Thread
Thread closed.
The Following 76 Users Say Thank You to Yank555 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Yank555 Ad-Free
 
 
4th August 2012, 09:19 AM |#2  
Yank555's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20,156
 
More
Thread closed.
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to Yank555 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Yank555 Ad-Free
4th August 2012, 09:19 AM |#3  
Yank555's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20,156
 
More
Thread closed.
The Following 45 Users Say Thank You to Yank555 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Yank555 Ad-Free
4th August 2012, 09:19 AM |#4  
Yank555's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20,156
 
More
Reserved
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Yank555 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Yank555 Ad-Free
4th August 2012, 09:36 AM |#5  
mattiadj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Francavilla al mare
Thanks Meter: 1,786
 
Donate to Me
More
God job but this can fix the problem of memory leak?

Inviato dal mio GT-I9300 con Tapatalk 2
4th August 2012, 09:45 AM |#6  
Yank555's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20,156
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattiadj

God job but this can fix the problem of memory leak?

Unfortunately not, to fix that you'd need to find the source of the leak and correct it

JP.
The Following User Says Thank You to Yank555 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Yank555 Ad-Free
4th August 2012, 10:07 AM |#7  
mattiadj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Francavilla al mare
Thanks Meter: 1,786
 
Donate to Me
More
So what is the benefits of this fix?
Simply... Why we need this? Sorry but I didn't understand.... My bad mate

Inviato dal mio Transformer TF101 con Tapatalk 2
4th August 2012, 10:19 AM |#8  
Yank555's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20,156
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattiadj

So what is the benefits of this fix?
Simply... Why we need this? Sorry but I didn't understand.... My bad mate

No problem The thing is, we have a certain amount of RAM at our disposal, plus our devices are getting faster and faster, getting more and more cores, but not that much RAM increase.

Let me illustrate my point :

htc HD2 (my frist device to run Android) - 2009

RAM : 448 MB usable
CPU : 1 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon (single core)

SGS3 - 2012

RAM : 778 MB usable
CPU : 1.4 GHz quad-core Cortex-A9

So CPU speed is up by way much more than RAM, and I'm not taking GPU into consideration, plus storage speed increase etc...

Now those devices tend to be used in multitasking, having many apps running at the same time.

What those need is :

- CPU power to run on (we have plenty !)
- RAM to fit in (we have little)

Now even though an APP is running, not every bit of it is really needed, so those parts can be swapped out (put into swap) freeing these memory blocks and making room for more apps to fit in RAM.

So what will this mod do for you : Allow for more multitasking

Keep more apps running in RAM at the same time, making the device snappier when switching from one app to the other.

One app won't run faster !

If now you don't have swap, Android will have to gently ask the least used app to please close (save data, and quit) to free up RAM. Now when you get back to that app, Android will have to reload it, the app will start and reload it's data.

You can see, this will take more time.

Hope this isn't too confusing
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Yank555 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Yank555 Ad-Free
4th August 2012, 10:29 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Livingston
Thanks Meter: 127
 
Donate to Me
More
I have a question before i attempt setting this up.

How do we identify which partition on the card is supposed to be for swap?
I have a 64gb sandisk card and say i make two partitions, one massive one for data and a 2gb one on the end for swap, how do i identify to android that the 2gb one is for swap? Also, what format should the partition be?

Cheers.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
4th August 2012, 10:33 AM |#10  
Yank555's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20,156
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefonthefjords

I have a question before i attempt setting this up.

How do we identify which partition on the card is supposed to be for swap?
I have a 64gb sandisk card and say i make two partitions, one massive one for data and a 2gb one on the end for swap, how do i identify to android that the 2gb one is for swap? Also, what format should the partition be?

Cheers.

The script handles finding the partition

All you need to do is partition your card and be sure the swap partition is :

- a primary partition
- of type "Linux Swap"

JP.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Yank555 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Yank555 Ad-Free
4th August 2012, 10:45 AM |#11  
jnr21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Helsinki
Thanks Meter: 1,017
 
More
I have 1gb micro sd card, so can i use whole card as swap card?
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes