FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Guide][JB][SammyRom]Enable On Screen Navigation bar - Soft buttons

1,158 posts
Thanks Meter: 190
 
By jastonas, Senior Member on 9th November 2012, 01:46 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I know there are many posts about this but it took me a while to understand how it works and there is no single thread which has the information gathered in the first post, so I decided to make this. Sorry if it uneeded.

Anyone who want's to use on screen NavBar buttons, he's lucky! (at least compared to ICS).


Now, by adding in
Quote:

/system/build.prop

the line
Quote:

qemu.hw.mainkeys=0

you get the navigation bar (after reboot) and at the same time Android system recognizes this and adds the three dot menu icon whenever needed*!

If you want to disable the hardware keys, edit the file
Quote:

/system/usr/layout/Generic.kl

These are the three hardware buttons
Quote:

key 172HOME
key 158BACK
key 139MENU

Add a # before any you don't wan't to use any more. I did for 158 and 139 and left my Home button working.

There is a mod** (flash it in recovery) which makes the bar almost half the size. It's better looking and less space is wasted but it does get some time to get used to it and you might need a couple of tries sometimes when trying to hit those buttons.

*This wasn't the case for ICS.

**mod by houssam10001
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to jastonas For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jastonas Ad-Free
 
 
9th November 2012, 02:06 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Why would somebody use this on the s3? You got buttons under your screen already

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
9th November 2012, 02:22 PM |#4  
jastonas's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Patra
Thanks Meter: 190
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kahraman11

Why would somebody use this on the s3? You got buttons under your screen already

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

For people to want it, there must be a reason.

I've got 2!

a) I accidentally press the back button when watching videos and is ANNOYING!

b) I am a "fast" user and multitask a lot. Replacing the Menu button with Recents button makes my life easier and faster. And less annoying again, because pressing and holding the crappy home button is not so convenient.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to jastonas For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jastonas Ad-Free
9th November 2012, 03:29 PM |#5  
delsus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 885
 
More
Adding the line to build.prop hasn't added the navbar after a reboot for me, does it need to go in a specific place, or does something else need changing as well?
9th November 2012, 03:40 PM |#6  
jastonas's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Patra
Thanks Meter: 190
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by delsus

Adding the line to build.prop hasn't added the navbar after a reboot for me, does it need to go in a specific place, or does something else need changing as well?

Yesss! I'm really sorry, I messed up. I fixed OP with correct line to add.

qemu.hw.mainkeys=0

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jastonas For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jastonas Ad-Free
9th November 2012, 03:58 PM |#7  
delsus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 885
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jastonas

Yesss! I'm really sorry, I messed up. I fixed OP with correct line to add.

qemu.hw.mainkeys=0

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

It's working now, just one problem the home screen indicator is now behind the bottom shortcuts, is there any way to remove them or move them?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to delsus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift delsus Ad-Free
9th November 2012, 04:30 PM |#8  
jastonas's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Patra
Thanks Meter: 190
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by delsus

It's working now, just one problem the home screen indicator is now behind the bottom shortcuts, is there any way to remove them or move them?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

Unfortunately no. I use Nova launcher. Any other will do. Almost all Samsung touchwiz apps have a problem with this mood but I can live with that.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
9th November 2012, 04:42 PM |#9  
delsus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 885
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jastonas

Unfortunately no. I use Nova launcher. Any other will do. Almost all Samsung touchwiz apps have a problem with this mood but I can live with that.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Aww thanks again though

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
12th November 2012, 09:34 PM |#10  
ryan1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
Awesome, these look great on beans jb build 2. Useing nova launcher they fit on screen well. My back button hard key is shot so this makes life a lot easier!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
2nd January 2013, 01:26 AM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jastonas

[COLOR="SlateGray"]

you get the navigation bar (after reboot) and at the same time Android system recognizes this and adds the three dot menu icon whenever needed*!

If you want to disable the hardware keys, edit the file

These are the three hardware buttons

Add a # before any you don't wan't to use any more. I did for 158 and 139 and left my Home button working.

There is a mod** (flash it in recovery) which makes the bar almost half the size. It's better looking and less space is wasted but it does get some time to get used to it and you might need a couple of tries sometimes when trying to hit those buttons.

*This wasn't the case for ICS.

**mod by houssam10001


Great post.

I tried switching the Menu and the back button but it did not change the layout. I want to have the same layout as the Nexus devices with the back button first, home, menu(task). Is generic.kl is the right area to make the change? Thanks in advance.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
jellybean, navbar, soft, tw5

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes