FORUMS

[Q] Blocking mode not working with whatsapp?

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 0

By Aleph72, Junior Member on 30th November 2012, 06:39 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello.
I'm using a German version of the Galaxy S3 with stock 4.1.1 ROM.
I own it since few days, coming from iPhones and I'm still learning how to use it.

One very useful thing I've found is the blocking mode. I use it at night to stop notifications sound and to permit only my family calls to go through.
Whatsapp notifications, though, are still coming through and I'm forced to manually reduce the notifications volume to zero.
Is it a bug or am I missing something?
I've tried setting the blocking mode with both time range and "always", but no differences at all.

Thanks.
30th November 2012, 04:47 PM |#2  

More
I was woken up this morning by whatsapp messages, so if anyone has an answer it'd be appreciated.
3rd December 2012, 03:28 AM |#3  

More
I am having the same problem.. i think the problem is with whatsapp itself it must be a bug as when u go to notification settings the "ringer" whats comes up as default tone not the notification tone.

hope this get resolved quick! i have emailed whatsapp but got standard email template... delete app ... reboot re install ..etc
23rd December 2012, 12:06 AM |#4  

More
No one has a solution?
I have the same problem but a month or two before it did worked. I guess that maybe an update of whatsapp has disabled this. It very annoying waking up because of that horrible whatsapp noise.
23rd December 2012, 07:56 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member

More
Update
Just installed JB 4.1.2 and the problem is still there.
So it seems to be a Whatsapp problem, and it's a very stupid management of the notifications.
The notifications should be managed by the system and if the system says "shut up" ALL notifications should comply.

For me this is a point in favor of iOS.

P.S.: not a fan boy of course. I own both devices and it's normal I compare them.
23rd December 2012, 08:40 AM |#6