FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] CM9 i9300 advice

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 6

By danfedida, Junior Member on 21st September 2012, 01:20 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello helpful people. I'd like to start by saying I've been rooting and playing with roms for a few years now (all HTCs) and although I've never posted a question before, all your generosity toward other folks with problems has always saved my bacon also. So thanks. However my girlfriend switched from HTC to a GS3 i9300 and have had... challenges... getting CM9 or CM10 nightlies to work 100%. All have been sorted now bar just one niggling problem. The Wifi.

When trying to connect to wifi it will see all APs, let you type in the password but will not finish connecting. The status says Saved but will not actually connect. Using stock or ARHD this is not a problem. Now my research got me to a stage where I can manually initialise the wifi by typing the following in to the terminal (or through adb):

echo murata > /data/.cid.info
chown system /data/.cid.info
chgrp wifi /data/.cid.info
chmod 0660 /data/.cid.info

Restarting the wifi afterwards fixes the problem until the phone is rebooted. I don't really understand what this means or what it does and the fellow who posted this fix simply put that, with no explanation or followup.

Now I know everyone's feelings on doing the research before asking the collective and I feel I've now reached a dead end in my search. So all I'm asking is if someone can at least point me in the right direction of what to look into? Why this could be happening and where to go from here. Of course if someone does know about a permanent fix I'd be grateful to hear it!

Thanks in advance. Thanks for reading.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to danfedida For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift danfedida Ad-Free

5th October 2012, 08:57 AM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 0

More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by danfedida

GREAT FIX!