Help with rooting my Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-19300

Search This thread

VonStarkeGSD

Jul 8, 2011
Manchester
Hi all,

I use to own a htc sensation and now well purchased my new shiny S3. Read a couple of threads and do not want to risk bricking this as it only arrived this morning.

So the spec of my model is the following :

Model : GT19300
Android : 4.1.1
Base:19300xxdlid
kernel 3.0.31
build jroo3c

Just to confirm, some tut's said install kies on pc before rooting and connect the device at least once before running the root, others state please remove all samsung software from the pc. Which is correct ?

I also have seen this message : IMPORTANT: DO NOT USE THIS TOOLKIT TO ROOT OR FLASH CUSTOM RECOVERY ON A SNAPDRAGON MODEL SGS3 AS THE INCLUDED IMAGES WILL NOT WORK ON IT

How can i tell which mine is ?

So would you people recommend the toolkit way or the other way, as i have been looking at the following thread http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1703488

I'm not a complete newb as i had the sensation for 2 years and had that rooted so just some guidance please as this is a new device cheers ;)

anthropolyte

Apr 12, 2010
Bristol, UK
I personally used Chainfire's Odin method, which worked flawlessly. No need for Kies, just download Odin and use the .tar file he provides.

If your model number is GT-i9300, you will have the Exynos version of the phone, so you can ignore the warning about Snapdragon processors; that only applies to the LTE US version.

Read the following thread - it tells you everything you need to know.

http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1695238

liquidribs

Jun 27, 2011
If i so happen to have installed cf-autoroot instead of cf-root.6.4,

is it safe for me to just do the same procedure for cf-root6.4? like overwriting?

VonStarkeGSD

Jul 8, 2011
Manchester
Cf is just straight forward and works, it's easy to do.

Thanks buddy ;) Root access has been granted. Is this triangle away compulsory or can i just leave it?