FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[MOD][AOSP (CM9/CM10.x)][AROMA] Enable On Screen Nav Soft Keys

170 posts
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Post Reply Email Thread
I have developed this Mod to enable "On Screen Nav Soft Keys" for any GS3 (INT, D2ATT, D2TMO, D2VZW and D2SPR),
and it should work on any AOSP based Android 4+ Rom (e.g. CM9/CM10).
NOTE: This Mod is persistent this means it is not necessary install it after every Rom update

To make it Universal there are no changes on the Framework-res.apk which means !NO WE CAN'T CHANGE THE LOOK!


Confirmed to work on:
  • CyanogenMod 9/10
  • Most AOSP based Roms
  • SlimICS
  • Stock ICS (with some glitches) !NO STOCK JELLYBEAN (at the moment)!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Install Instructions:
  1. Boot into recovery
  2. flash with CWM & Choose your Setup:
    • NAV_HomeCamera: enables Navbar, disable Softkkeys and maps Homekey as Camerakey (holding it long opens Camera app / while in Camera App it takes photos)
    • NAV_HomeWake: enables Navbar, disables Softkeys and maps the Homekey to wake the device (nothing else)
    • NAV_StockCamera: enables Navbar, enabled Softkeys, and Home = Camera
    • NAV_Only: enables Navbar and disables Home- and Softkeys
    • NAV_StockKeys: enables Navbar no other changes
    • NAV_Remove: Removes the mod
  3. reboot

Tips and Tricks
CM10 includes Navbar Settings (if Navbar ist enabled) under Settings --> System --> Navbar
  • change button layout
  • add and remove buttons


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following keybindings will be changed:
Code:
key 172	HOME
key 158	BACK
key 139	MENU
In this files:
Code:
/system/usr/keylayout/sec_touchkey.kl
/system/usr/keylayout/gpio-keys.kl
/system/usr/keylayout/sec_keys.kl
/system/usr/keylayout/Generic.kl

Please make a Backup before you try this! And report if working (Please always with Device and ROM)!
Code:
#include <std_disclaimer.h>
/*
 * Your warranty is now void.
 *
 * I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
 * thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please
 * do some research if you have any concerns about features included in this Mod
 * before flashing it! YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
 * you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you. Hard. A lot.
 */
Please don´t forget, when you use this mod that it can (should not but can) change how your system works so before you report rom related bugs in the rom developer thread, you should use the remove package to make sure the issue is not caused by the mod!

Cheers
Steven


Thanks to
@graffixnyc - for the initial idea
@labbe- - for more idea's and the continuous support in the thread
@amarullz - for AROMA installer
The Following 47 Users Say Thank You to NemesisRE For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift NemesisRE Ad-Free
 
 
3rd October 2012, 01:21 PM |#2  
NemesisRE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Donate to Me
More
Info 2 Changelog
CHANGELOG
Quote:

AROMA v14

  • fixed the typo reported by labbe- in post #259
  • added option homepower wished by tdrussell in post #262

AROMA v12
  • removed device checks and specific mountpoints
  • updated aroma binary

AROMA v11
  • fixed even more copy paste errors

AROMA v10
  • fixed copy paste error
  • Should now work with GT-I9305

AROMA v7
  • added StockCamera Option
  • Should now work with Stock JB Roms

AROMA v3
  • now signed Zip

AROMA v2
  • bugfixing

AROMA v1
  • Now AROMA flavored but no changes so Version 2 or 1.7

V2
  • v2: using Git Version Number but no changes to 1.7

V1.7
  • copy/paste error fixed (all mods did the same)

V1.5
  • added ui_print for better error handling
  • better structured code

V1.1
  • Added Mod as addon.d Script (mod will now autoinstall after Rom Update)

The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to NemesisRE For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift NemesisRE Ad-Free
3rd October 2012, 01:48 PM |#3  
NemesisRE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Donate to Me
More
Drive Download
Downloads can be found at:

http://nrecom.net/downloads/viewcategory/11-navbar


BugTracker can be found at:

https://issue.nrecom.net/projects/navbar
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to NemesisRE For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift NemesisRE Ad-Free
3rd October 2012, 07:06 PM |#4  
labbe-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Turku
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
addon.d script works great, awesome!
The Following User Says Thank You to labbe- For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift labbe- Ad-Free
4th October 2012, 05:53 AM |#5  
Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Works on M1 build of CM10. Don't see any options in the settings though.
4th October 2012, 08:42 AM |#6  
otis_bartleh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Martinez, CA
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Flashed with TWRP on a d2vzw with BAKED rom and it didn't work here...
4th October 2012, 06:31 PM |#7  
NemesisRE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexR666

Works on M1 build of CM10. Don't see any options in the settings though.

M1 builds are too old I think, try a nightly.
The Following User Says Thank You to NemesisRE For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift NemesisRE Ad-Free
4th October 2012, 06:36 PM |#8  
NemesisRE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by otis_bartleh

Flashed with TWRP on a d2vzw with BAKED rom and it didn't work here...

Was there an error while flashing or is there just no navbar? Maybe the BAKED rom is without navbar in it´s framework for this ask the rom developer.
The Following User Says Thank You to NemesisRE For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift NemesisRE Ad-Free
4th October 2012, 06:55 PM |#9  
otis_bartleh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Martinez, CA
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NemesisRE

Was there an error while flashing or is there just no navbar? Maybe the BAKED rom is without navbar in it´s framework for this ask the rom developer.

There wasn't an error, just no navbar. I'll check with the ROM dev, thanks!
6th October 2012, 01:34 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
When I go to download, it tells me that the file was not found on home wake only.

Until it gets fixed would anyone mind posting it?
6th October 2012, 01:38 AM |#11  
NemesisRE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 177
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothface

When I go to download, it tells me that the file was not found on home wake only.

Until it gets fixed would anyone mind posting it?

10 minutes and 1.5 should be online
The Following User Says Thank You to NemesisRE For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift NemesisRE Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
mod, navbar

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes