FORUMS

Enable AWS for i337 newer roms (nj4) 4.4.4

272 posts
Thanks Meter: 111
 
By destructionj, Senior Member on 30th January 2015, 12:33 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I have had a few people asking about enabling AWS on the NJ4 baseband running KitKat 4.4.4. I found that the MF3 modem will no longer work with NJ4 builds. After some trial and error and referencing a few threads and getting some direction by a user Product F(RED) I found a method that works for my s4 I337 on the newer roms.
Try this at your own risk there is always the possibility that something could go wrong.
1) BE ROOTED
2) install a app called terminal emulator onto the phone
3) Dial *#0808# on the keypad
4) select RNDIS + DM + MODEM
5) Install QPST Setup 2.7 build 323 on the computer
6) Find the program RF NV Item Manager that was installed when installing QPST and open it(Located in the QPST install folder)
7) Read the values on the phone under the File option(File-Read from phone)
8) look for line 1877 and change the number that reads 82314112 to now show 115868544
line 1877 should now read 115868544
THEN
9) Select FILE and then WRITE CHANGED NV ITEMS TO PHONE.
WAIT FOR A FEW SECONDS WHEN DONE
10) Use terminal emulator to enter command
su
Then enter command
setprop persist.usb.eng 0
then reboot the phone.
done

Root access is needed to do this method as terminal emulator is used. This is the method i used and it worked. I was pointed to a similar method by Product F(RED) and after some trial and error, I came up with a working method using some logical reasoning after reading the thread at "Unlock all bands of your Qualcomm device." I used a stock rom 1st due to the touchwiz enabled capabilities however I changed roms afterwords. Just make sure the new rom of choice don't upgrade the modem
The following bands report as active when 115868544 is entered into the band preference tool I used.
[Bit_07] GSM DCS 1800 band
[Bit_08] GSM Extended GSM (E-GSM) band
[Bit_09] GSM Primary GSM (P-GSM) band
[Bit_19] GSM 850 band
[Bit_21] GSM PCS 1900 band
[Bit_22] WCDMA Band I - EUROPE JAPAN & CHINA IMT 2100 band
[Bit_23] WCDMA Band II - US PCS 1900 band
[Bit_25] WCDMA Band IV - US 1700 band
[Bit_26] WCDMA Band V - US 850 band

(STOCK)The following bands report as active when 82314112 is entered into the band preference tool I used.
[Bit_07] GSM DCS 1800 band
[Bit_08] GSM Extended GSM (E-GSM) band
[Bit_09] GSM Primary GSM (P-GSM) band
[Bit_19] GSM 850 band
[Bit_21] GSM PCS 1900 band
[Bit_22] WCDMA Band I - EUROPE JAPAN & CHINA IMT 2100 band
[Bit_23] WCDMA Band II - US PCS 1900 band
[Bit_26] WCDMA Band V - US 850 band

Threads referenced and help was acquired on the following threads. Big thanks to everyone involved as well
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2291589
http://forum.xda-developers.com/cros...ating-t2871269
DID NOT TEST BUT LOOKS WORTH TRYING
http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ds-to-t2886059
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to destructionj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift destructionj Ad-Free
30th January 2015, 05:23 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Bookmarked. I have a feeling I may need this in the future. Thanks!
7th April 2015, 11:29 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Running the Insane ROM built off the i919 in Safestrap on my i337. Had AWS enabled before updating to 4.4.4 but now I am trying to enable it again and cant run any USSD codes. Just gives me an unable to process error every time.

Any ideas?? Thanks!!
8th April 2015, 01:36 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Sorry for the double post but I just booted into the stock rom and did the above method and it seems to unlock the AWS band. Only concern is, will it still be unlocked when I switch back to the ROM SLOT 1 Rom I run daily?
8th April 2015, 06:47 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
hello,

i cant located the rf nv manager... either in 323 or 411 ver of qpst....also installed qxdm pro and cant find it either? on nj4 4.4.4 also.

thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by destructionj

I have had a few people asking about enabling AWS on the NJ4 baseband running KitKat 4.4.4. I found that the MF3 modem will no longer work with NJ4 builds. After some trial and error and referencing a few threads and getting some direction by a user Product F(RED) I found a method that works for my s4 I337 on the newer roms.
Try this at your own risk there is always the possibility that something could go wrong.
1) BE ROOTED
2) install a app called terminal emulator onto the phone
3) Dial *#0808# on the keypad
4) select RNDIS + DM + MODEM
5) Install QPST Setup 2.7 build 323 on the computer
6) Find the program RF NV Item Manager that was installed when installing QPST and open it(Located in the QPST install folder)
7) Read the values on the phone under the File option(File-Read from phone)
8) look for line 1877 and change the number that reads 82314112 to now show 115868544
line 1877 should now read 115868544
THEN
9) Select FILE and then WRITE CHANGED NV ITEMS TO PHONE.
WAIT FOR A FEW SECONDS WHEN DONE
10) Use terminal emulator to enter command
su
Then enter command
setprop persist.usb.eng 0
then reboot the phone.
done

Root access is needed to do this method as terminal emulator is used. This is the method i used and it worked. I was pointed to a similar method by Product F(RED) and after some trial and error, I came up with a working method using some logical reasoning after reading the thread at "Unlock all bands of your Qualcomm device." I used a stock rom 1st due to the touchwiz enabled capabilities however I changed roms afterwords. Just make sure the new rom of choice don't upgrade the modem
The following bands report as active when 115868544 is entered into the band preference tool I used.
[Bit_07] GSM DCS 1800 band
[Bit_08] GSM Extended GSM (E-GSM) band
[Bit_09] GSM Primary GSM (P-GSM) band
[Bit_19] GSM 850 band
[Bit_21] GSM PCS 1900 band
[Bit_22] WCDMA Band I - EUROPE JAPAN & CHINA IMT 2100 band
[Bit_23] WCDMA Band II - US PCS 1900 band
[Bit_25] WCDMA Band IV - US 1700 band
[Bit_26] WCDMA Band V - US 850 band

(STOCK)The following bands report as active when 82314112 is entered into the band preference tool I used.
[Bit_07] GSM DCS 1800 band
[Bit_08] GSM Extended GSM (E-GSM) band
[Bit_09] GSM Primary GSM (P-GSM) band
[Bit_19] GSM 850 band
[Bit_21] GSM PCS 1900 band
[Bit_22] WCDMA Band I - EUROPE JAPAN & CHINA IMT 2100 band
[Bit_23] WCDMA Band II - US PCS 1900 band
[Bit_26] WCDMA Band V - US 850 band

Threads referenced and help was acquired on the following threads. Big thanks to everyone involved as well
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2291589
http://forum.xda-developers.com/cros...ating-t2871269

8th April 2015, 11:03 PM |#6  
destructionj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bostonbeemah

Sorry for the double post but I just booted into the stock rom and did the above method and it seems to unlock the AWS band. Only concern is, will it still be unlocked when I switch back to the ROM SLOT 1 Rom I run daily?

I only use a single slot but i used a safestrap compatible t-mobile stock rom first to due the edits. Then I loaded the insane kitkat rom by the sickness over the existing rom. The insane rom dont overwrite the modem files so everything was fine.
9th April 2015, 05:13 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
ok so i got into the rf nv manager.... what is at the end of the command that you type for the terminal emulator? zero or letter o?

thanks!
9th April 2015, 03:29 PM |#8  
destructionj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
the number 0
The Following User Says Thank You to destructionj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift destructionj Ad-Free
11th April 2015, 09:57 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by destructionj

I have had a few people asking about enabling AWS on the NJ4 baseband running KitKat 4.4.4. I found that the MF3 modem will no longer work with NJ4 builds. After some trial and error and referencing a few threads and getting some direction by a user Product F(RED) I found a method that works for my s4 I337 on the newer roms.
Try this at your own risk there is always the possibility that something could go wrong.
1) BE ROOTED
2) install a app called terminal emulator onto the phone
3) Dial *#0808# on the keypad
4) select RNDIS + DM + MODEM
5) Install QPST Setup 2.7 build 323 on the computer
6) Find the program RF NV Item Manager that was installed when installing QPST and open it(Located in the QPST install folder)
7) Read the values on the phone under the File option(File-Read from phone)
8) look for line 1877 and change the number that reads 82314112 to now show 115868544
line 1877 should now read 115868544
THEN
9) Select FILE and then WRITE CHANGED NV ITEMS TO PHONE.
WAIT FOR A FEW SECONDS WHEN DONE
10) Use terminal emulator to enter command
su
Then enter command
setprop persist.usb.eng 0
then reboot the phone.
done

Root access is needed to do this method as terminal emulator is used. This is the method i used and it worked. I was pointed to a similar method by Product F(RED) and after some trial and error, I came up with a working method using some logical reasoning after reading the thread at "Unlock all bands of your Qualcomm device." I used a stock rom 1st due to the touchwiz enabled capabilities however I changed roms afterwords. Just make sure the new rom of choice don't upgrade the modem
The following bands report as active when 115868544 is entered into the band preference tool I used.
[Bit_07] GSM DCS 1800 band
[Bit_08] GSM Extended GSM (E-GSM) band
[Bit_09] GSM Primary GSM (P-GSM) band
[Bit_19] GSM 850 band
[Bit_21] GSM PCS 1900 band
[Bit_22] WCDMA Band I - EUROPE JAPAN & CHINA IMT 2100 band
[Bit_23] WCDMA Band II - US PCS 1900 band
[Bit_25] WCDMA Band IV - US 1700 band
[Bit_26] WCDMA Band V - US 850 band

(STOCK)The following bands report as active when 82314112 is entered into the band preference tool I used.
[Bit_07] GSM DCS 1800 band
[Bit_08] GSM Extended GSM (E-GSM) band
[Bit_09] GSM Primary GSM (P-GSM) band
[Bit_19] GSM 850 band
[Bit_21] GSM PCS 1900 band
[Bit_22] WCDMA Band I - EUROPE JAPAN & CHINA IMT 2100 band
[Bit_23] WCDMA Band II - US PCS 1900 band
[Bit_26] WCDMA Band V - US 850 band

Threads referenced and help was acquired on the following threads. Big thanks to everyone involved as well
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2291589
http://forum.xda-developers.com/cros...ating-t2871269

unfortunately this does not work for me.. not sure why. I have WCDMA Preferred enabled.. but the Wind Network doesn't register. I am on a rooted NJ4 Baseband and modem. is there anything else i could look into? its funny my phone worked for months.. then all of a sudden it stopped picking up the Wind Network. hence me trying all of this.. I also updated the ROM to NJ4 just to try this out.
14th April 2015, 12:35 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Question, did you keep the NJ4 Modem or did you stick to the MF3 modem but just performed the above steps?
14th April 2015, 06:29 PM |#11  
destructionj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by df186

Question, did you keep the NJ4 Modem or did you stick to the MF3 modem but just performed the above steps?

The MF3 modem wouldn't work with 4.4.4 and this is the reason i had to use the NJ4 modem. I wanted to run the 4.4.4 rom. Im on T-mobile and did this just to unlock aws for the full spectrum of the tmobile band.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes