FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q&A] [ROOT] Root Samsung Galaxy S4 with Motochopper

n/a posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By QA Bot, Guest on 13th October 2014, 06:12 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Q&A for [ROOT] Root Samsung Galaxy S4 with Motochopper

Some developers prefer that questions remain separate from their main development thread to help keep things organized. Placing your question within this thread will increase its chances of being answered by a member of the community or by the developer. Thanks for understanding and for helping to keep XDA neat and tidy! :smile:
 
 
13th October 2014, 06:12 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Talking Samsung KIES
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase

I've never seen Kies used to restore a soft bricked phone unless it was from a failed flash in kies

I, as well as my neighbor have actually used Kies multiple times to bring back the stock ROM on our Samsung S2, S3, and i would assume the S4 as well.. All we did was procure the stock ROM and then use Kies to install it. That being said, as far as i know, you MUST link that particular phone to Kies, BEFORE you actually go through with the Root process. If you do not, there will be NO WAY for Kies to pick up your phone ie: model etc and thus most likely will not allow you to use it in Stock Recovery!!! Youve been warned lol ☺

Also, many, and i do mean many peeps have asked whether or not this method of root (motochopper) will work with android 4.4.2, yet no one has gotten a response...At least not in the 2yrs and 9 pages back that i checked... Could you PLEASE inform us, and maybe shoot me an email as to whether or not it will work...Until then, i am slightly worried it will not and wanted clarification!! Thank you so much!
13th October 2014, 07:06 PM |#3  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,044
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bOrNnBrEdNeUg

I, as well as my neighbor have actually used Kies multiple times to bring back the stock ROM on our Samsung S2, S3, and i would assume the S4 as well.. All we did was procure the stock ROM and then use Kies to install it. That being said, as far as i know, you MUST link that particular phone to Kies, BEFORE you actually go through with the Root process. If you do not, there will be NO WAY for Kies to pick up your phone ie: model etc and thus most likely will not allow you to use it in Stock Recovery!!! Youve been warned lol ☺

Also, many, and i do mean many peeps have asked whether or not this method of root (motochopper) will work with android 4.4.2, yet no one has gotten a response...At least not in the 2yrs and 9 pages back that i checked... Could you PLEASE inform us, and maybe shoot me an email as to whether or not it will work...Until then, i am slightly worried it will not and wanted clarification!! Thank you so much!

This root method will not work on 4.4.2. Use towelroot on the nc1 firmware.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
17th October 2014, 07:05 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Rooting Android using Motochopper on MAC?
I am carefully following all instructions along the way, until I download Motochopper.
It is a windows file, and I can't open it (.exe) on my MacBook Pro. Is there any intention to produce this program for us Applers?
I apologize for bad form, posting in the wrong place, etc. This is my first attempt at communicating in this venue.

---------- Post added at 01:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:48 PM ----------

Just read further down:

"This root method will not work on 4.4.2. "

So sorry for wasting your time! Thanks anyway.

---------- Post added at 02:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:55 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

This root method will not work on 4.4.2. Use towelroot on the nc1 firmware.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

As you might guess, I have Samsung Galaxy S4 with 4.4.2. I tried to download Motochopper onto my MacBook Pro only to discover that the zip file carried a windows program! (Is that true of all zip files? I have been switched to Mac for so long, I can't remember.)

I came here to get help, or maybe find Motochopper that was designed for Mac use. Then I saw your comment above. Two questions:

1. What does this mean? "Use towelroot on the nc1 firmware" Please illuminate and elucidate and HELP!

2. Can this be done via Mac??

Thank you for your kindness, from someone whose technology vastly outruns her ability to rein it in.
17th October 2014, 07:42 PM |#5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,044
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seiftaylor

I am carefully following all instructions along the way, until I download Motochopper.
It is a windows file, and I can't open it (.exe) on my MacBook Pro. Is there any intention to produce this program for us Applers?
I apologize for bad form, posting in the wrong place, etc. This is my first attempt at communicating in this venue.

---------- Post added at 01:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:48 PM ----------

Just read further down:

"This root method will not work on 4.4.2. "

So sorry for wasting your time! Thanks anyway.

---------- Post added at 02:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:55 PM ----------



As you might guess, I have Samsung Galaxy S4 with 4.4.2. I tried to download Motochopper onto my MacBook Pro only to discover that the zip file carried a windows program! (Is that true of all zip files? I have been switched to Mac for so long, I can't remember.)

I came here to get help, or maybe find Motochopper that was designed for Mac use. Then I saw your comment above. Two questions:

1. What does this mean? "Use towelroot on the nc1 firmware" Please illuminate and elucidate and HELP!

2. Can this be done via Mac??

Thank you for your kindness, from someone whose technology vastly outruns her ability to rein it in.

Just run this from your phone https://towelroot.com/
17th October 2014, 07:54 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Smile Thank you!
Thank you so much! I will try it.
23rd October 2014, 01:34 AM |#7  
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hey can't get this to work
I installed the latest version and re-installed

I have the T-moblie 4.4.4 version also my pc and my OS is Windows 8.1 64 bit
29th October 2014, 12:23 AM |#8  
Roblewis17's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta Ga
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaket1000

I installed the latest version and re-installed

I have the T-moblie 4.4.4 version also my pc and my OS is Windows 8.1 64 bit

How is that 4.4.4? I'm still on 4.4.2 Att Version
6th November 2014, 10:53 AM |#9  
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
SGH-T999L
SO I MESSED UP SOMEWHERRE AND NOW ALL THE PHONE WILL DO IS VIBRATE ON A BLANK SCREEN.. help911
6th November 2014, 08:44 PM |#10  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,044
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by STUCKLIKECHUCK

SO I MESSED UP SOMEWHERRE AND NOW ALL THE PHONE WILL DO IS VIBRATE ON A BLANK SCREEN.. help911

What did you do to it? Will Odin recognize your device? It sounds like you've hard bricked it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
11th December 2014, 01:01 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Mottochopper
Mottochopper successful root....now this noob is stuck in downloading mode with a green android and the words " do not turn off target!!"
What should i do?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
auto-qa

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes