FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Brought LTE functionality to vanilla LOS 14.1 on jfltespr / SPH-L720 - Questions!

38 posts
Thanks Meter: 13

By Nscreated, Member on 17th March 2018, 07:32 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
So I'm not really a developer, just a dilettante playing with Github and Repo. My goal was a stable Android Nougat on SPH-L720 with the latest ASB updates.

The Optimized LineageOS 14.1 by @side was great for a while but I wanted the benefit of bleeding edge LOS development. I compiled LOS using
Code:
breakfast jfltespr
but LTE didn't work. At first I thought this was because of APN problems, hence this stupid post. Please disregard that (although maybe re-enabling the APN menu would be a cool mod).

In fact it had nothing to do with APNs at all. So I focused instead on figuring out what was the secret sauce that JDCTeam put into their unified build that made LTE work so beautifully. So after searching their GitHub, I came across several mentions of Sprint in a file called init/init_jflte.cpp in their andoid_devices_samsung_jf-common respository. The official LOS repo of the same name doesn't have this directory at all.

So I made my own GitHub, forked official LOS andoid_devices_samsung_jf-common respository, and then downloaded-uploaded JDCTeam's jf-common respository into a new branch and did a comparison, which you can see here: https://github.com/nscreated/android...jdcteam-cm14.1

CTRL+F "Sprint" and there was that pesky init/init_jflte.cpp again. OK, so maybe I can try merging this with my forked LOS? That can't work--that would be too easy. Well, I was right--there was also a bit of code to add to my BoardConfigCommon.mk.

So I made this branch, which is official LOS jf-common plus JDCTeam's init/ directory and the snippet added to BoardConfigCommon.mk.

I edited my roomservice.xml to replace the repo for jf-common with my customized one, and then did a
Code:
repo sync --force-sync android/device/samsung/jf-common/