FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROOT] Remap Bixby Button w/o an app

740 posts
Thanks Meter: 185
 
By redplate, Senior Member on 4th May 2017, 03:31 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey community. I just figured out how to remap the Bixby button. I'm running a pre-rooted custom rom with deactivated Bixby and don't know if this is working with running Bixby. But I think it should so let's get started:



- Make a backup of your files -
Quote:

Keycode for Bixby button is 703

1. Go with any root Explorer (I'm using Solid Explorer) to
/system/usr/keylayout
2. Rename the Generic.kl to Generic.txt
3. Open this file with an text editor
4. Search for 703 to get following entry:
# input_fw Intelligent Key for Dream key 703 WAKE
5. Change it to whatever you want. I simply tried following:
# input_fw Intelligent Key for Dream key 703 VOLUME_DOWN
!! 6. Rename it back to Generic.kl (otherwise you won't be able to press any hardware button after reboot; as me lol)
7. Check permissions
8. Restart your device
It works for me. My Bixby button is regulating the volume down

To 4. The entry could also be like following (after an update for Bixby Vision from 07.05.17):

# input_fw Intelligent Key for Dream key 703 WINK

---------------------

Some possible assignments so far:
Quote:

VOLUME_DOWN - sets volume down
VOLUME_UP - sets volume up
HOME - Homebutton
POWER - Powermenu
MUSIC - starts your favorite music player
CAMERA - starts camera app
APP_SWITCH - Recent apps button
VOICE_ASSIST - Google Assistent

Have fun playing around and please report back if it's working with just a rooted stock Rom and share your assignments with us

---------------------

BTW: Thanks to RuggedHunter for sharing the script geteventsendevent.sh by GermainZ to get the Bixby key code

---------------------
The Following 52 Users Say Thank You to redplate For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift redplate Ad-Free
 
 
4th May 2017, 04:05 AM |#2  
Manson79's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
More
Thanks for this! Awesome! Works to lauch the camera and it's fast, I used CAMERA.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Manson79 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Manson79 Ad-Free
4th May 2017, 08:20 AM |#3  
risoobeon's Avatar
Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Just used this to bring up Google assistant works brilliant thanks. Btw it's VOICE_ASSIST for anyone who needs it.
The Following User Says Thank You to risoobeon For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift risoobeon Ad-Free
4th May 2017, 02:25 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
yeah! working here with menu option!
some posible to remap softkeys?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to biyor For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift biyor Ad-Free
4th May 2017, 02:48 PM |#5  
risoobeon's Avatar
Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
My guess would be yes as these two would be the best to try.
key 580 APP_SWITCH
key 582 VOICE_ASSIST
Change to what ever you want but make a back up of the file first in case of error.
The Following User Says Thank You to risoobeon For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift risoobeon Ad-Free
4th May 2017, 03:23 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
key assignment for SCREEN SHOT PLS

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to hnparsana For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hnparsana Ad-Free
4th May 2017, 04:44 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Doble tap or long press On softkeys should be incredible, i try but cant find how to do

Enviado desde mi SM-G950F mediante Tapatalk
4th May 2017, 06:03 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
It just deleted my generic.kl file Failed to rename and original is gone. Could someone upload theirs? Thanks
4th May 2017, 07:13 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvgirl12345

It just deleted my generic.kl file Failed to rename and original is gone. Could someone upload theirs? Thanks

There you go. Just rename the file. Already mapped to CAMERA.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Generic.txt - [Click for QR Code] (10.3 KB, 1046 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dehnhaide For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dehnhaide Ad-Free
4th May 2017, 08:18 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
My phone won't start anymore. Not sure if this is a coincidence. I get the message: Custom binary blocked by FRP Lock.

Edit: I think I disabled OEM unlock in settings after flashing. That is probably the more likely cause than changing a file...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes