S8+ UK EE Firmware (EVR) over BTU - i did it and it works

Search This thread

Gubro

Aug 16, 2008
London
Hello,
I am new to the Samsung world.
I bought an S8+ DS with SIN CSC.
Since I am on EE, I thought I flash the EVR fw on it to get VoLTE and WiFi calling.
I have Odin 3.2.17 and G955FXXU1AQH3 on my computer.
Do I have to re/partition? Which CSC do I flash? The CSC or the homeCSC?
I understand this will not trigger knox, so the Samsung Pay should remain active.
Thanks

---------- Post added at 04:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:16 PM ----------

Update: thanks, all sorted.

Incarniac

Aug 16, 2008
London
Anyone got any ideas why a Amazon.IT bought phone flashed with EE H3 UK firmware (AP, BL, CP and CSC) wouldn't allow WiFi calling or VoIP? I can select WiFi calling in the dialler but it doesn't work!
As far as I know there is no such thing as an "EE H3 UK" firmware -- H3 is Three UK and EE is, well, EE UK and each have their own firmware. To get working Wi-Fi Calling and VoLTE you'll need the correct firmware (though primarily only the CSC) so if you're with EE you'll need the EVR CSC and for Three you'll need the H3G CSC. You should be able to flash the HOME_CSC file for this to retain user data and settings, although this may not work if you're not already on the correct firmware/CSC (it may require a full wipe & re-setup from factory defaults).

---------- Post added at 00:39 ---------- Previous post was at 00:33 ----------

Getting an issue with it failing putting on the newest firmware with older CSC. G955FXXU1AQI7

Annoying, I hope that it either gets fixed with the XEU firmware or we will need another method to do this.

Failure is something to do with an ASKS token.

Been too busy in the past few months then on holiday for a few weeks, so haven't tried this for a while.